2-1A Goblins? Gross! - How did you do?


Pathfinder Adventure Card Society


We won this one by the skin of our teeth. I knew it would be more challenging when I did some solo test runs, but the combination of having a Shadow that we kept not having magic weapons for and having 2-3 Henchmen/Villains near the bottom of the deck meant that it was not great.

Luckily, we drew the Holy Candle and got 6 turns out of it, and still required us to use all of them. Also as luckily, Gogmurt blew up without a fight.

Grand Lodge Venture-Lieutenant, Pennsylvania—Lancaster aka Theryon Stormrune

The Goblin encounter table makes things interesting. (And so does a Shadow!)

Dark Archive 5/5

My table of five played this scenario thrice, and everyone died on the first two tries because of the 1d4 acid to everyone. Then again, the party was set up in two groups of two, with a solo elsewhere. This setup rolled multiple consecutive "5s" on the goblin chart in each attempt. So many explosions! We did beat it on the third try. Everyone had fun, but that chart really threw some people.

Sovereign Court 5/5 Venture-Lieutenant, Missouri—Cape Girardeau

My table of Vika, Flenta, and Gronk had to play thru it twice.

we did pretty well but had trouble with the henchmen being on the bottom of decks.

Pathfinder ACG Developer

The goblin chart definitely encourages you to spread out some.

Silver Crusade 3/5 Venture-Lieutenant, Missouri—Springfield aka Heathwool

Solo played it 2 times, with the results being losing to time, and the second one of my characters dying to a 2 roll against Gorgmurt for a 20 and 22 checks to defeat... That was brutal. When I gm'd for Society Play, one character encountered I believe 5 or 6 different goblins, but died to really bad dice rolls. It also didn't help to roll 6s a lot. Besides that, it came to the wire and we barely won, with the Holy Candle giving us 3 more turns.

Silver Crusade

Table of 4 and we beat it on the very last blessing. Very fun.

Sovereign Court RPG Superstar 2011 Top 32

Started my solo Enora run. She's probably the healingest arcane caster currently available, especially with her Occularium Vestments.

This scenario wasn't too bad, as I didn't get any of the truly nasty goblin effects. Humorously, Gogmurt exploded into a d4 acid damage when I encountered him for the win.


ryric wrote:
Humorously, Gogmurt exploded into a d4 acid damage when I encountered him for the win.

The same thing happened on my solo run. Very anticlimactic.

Scarab Sages Venture-Agent, Finland—Oulu aka Shinae

What a scenario. We played with 5 players. We managed to close 2 locations and henchmen was bottom in both cases. We were running out of time exploring other locations. We knew Gogmurt was in Goblin Fortress. We were at second last blessing from blessings deck and we had 4 players ready to temporary close 4 location and our barbarian went to goblin fortress with only 1 card remaining in his deck.

Gogmurt was shuffled so he was second last card in goblin fortress, barbarian had to use all his blessing and allies to find him. We used nearly all our resources to temporary close remaining 4 locations and Barbarian without any weapons left, only 1 card in his hand and 1 in his deck, encountered Gogmurt and Gogmurt exploded. We won.

- If Gogmurt would've been last card in the location, we would have failed. Since barbarian was out of allies and blessings.
- 1 fail to temporary close any of the 4 remaining location would have failed the scenario and barbarian most likely would have died.
- Bad roll on d6 to encounter Gogmurt would've been defeat or potentially fatal for our barbarian.

I love when things like this happens!


Pathfinder Adventure Path Subscriber
elcoderdude wrote:
ryric wrote:
Humorously, Gogmurt exploded into a d4 acid damage when I encountered him for the win.
The same thing happened on my solo run. Very anticlimactic.

Yeah, well… I'll take that anytime against encountering Gogmurt at the Goblin Fortress, and rolling a 2 on the goblin chart, making the checks to defeat 22 and 24. We lost.

Adventure Card Game Designer

1 person marked this as a favorite.

Think about how bad the goblins have it; they keep exploding at the strangest moments.

Grand Lodge

2 people marked this as a favorite.
Pathfinder Card Game Subscriber

"I tried to walk a mile in Gogmurt's shoes, but I exploded after 30'..."


Pathfinder Adventure Path Subscriber
During this Scenario wrote:

When you encounter a bane that has the Goblin trait, roll 1d6:

5. The bane is defeated; each character at your location is dealt 1d4 Acid damage.

Do "Before you act…" and "After you act…" effects apply, or do we skip all the way to "Resolve the Encounter"?

I'm tempted to say before/after you act effects apply, but then I'd say you also have to attempt the check (and possibly take damage), even if the bane is automatically defeated when you get to the "Resolve the Encounter" step.

How do you play it?


This is a "When you encounter" effect. I play it that it completely replaces the encounter. Similar to evasion, really.

Since you are not acting, I would think you don't have BYA and AYA steps.

I see what you are saying, though. I don't think that's the intention, but I could be wrong.

Silver Crusade 3/5 Venture-Lieutenant, Missouri—Springfield aka Heathwool

From what I understood, it seemed like when a Goblin card is encountered, before you do anything, do this. Reading the rules, I think it would actually go before the steps listed in encountering a card (In order: Evade, BYA, Attempt Check, Attempt Next Check if needed, AYA, Resolve). The paragraphs leading up to it ask you to flip face-up and read the card, and look for immunities etc.


Played this one last night and have a couple of question.

Q1: How to you treat the barrier Goblin Raid? It has the goblin type.
I drew 2 of them during play, I played it by rolling the D6.
the first one blew up and I took the D4 damage, but didn't summon any goblins.

The second one I rolled where I had to move after I acted. So each character got a goblin. Yeah!! Hadn't closed any locations yet. I didn't win this round.
Q2: Is after I acted considered after discarding the goblin raid or before and once I move I then get to summon another goblin at my new location?

Q3: Did I play this right for this barrier (which is a bane)?

I really don't like this card for this scenario! :-)


RAW you roll the die for Goblin Raid and the Goblin Raider. Same thing for Monster in the Closet.

Unfortunately, there's no provision for what happens when you defeat a bane at the beginning of an encounter; since the die roll table does not say "the encounter is over", RAW you have to do the rest of the encounter (Goblin Pyro deals 1 Fire damage, etc). But this seems like a punishment (and not what was intended)

Grand Lodge

1 person marked this as a favorite.
Pathfinder Card Game Subscriber

Mother Myrtle and Darago managed to survive this one. We needed to catch up to the Tuesday evening crowd (See 2-1B [etc] How did you do?) Gogmurt helpfully blew up for us, so we didn't have to deal with actually fighting him.

Sovereign Court 5/5 ⦵⦵⦵ Venture-Agent, Missouri—St. Louis aka bluesman95

this was my first time playing it was fun. i got him to blow up.

Grand Lodge

Pathfinder Card Game Subscriber

After playing Pathfinder Adventures, I have learned a new level of hatred for Gogmurt.


I only really had one question about the Goblin table. If I am the only one at a location and roll a 4 "A random character at your location encounters the bane instead. That character does not roll on this table."

We played it as, "Well, there's no one else here so here I go!" and "Yay! A 4!".

Is this correct? (I hope it is, we won based on rolling a bunch of 4's on the scenario that we actually completed)

Adventure Card Game Designer

Codcake wrote:

I only really had one question about the Goblin table. If I am the only one at a location and roll a 4 "A random character at your location encounters the bane instead. That character does not roll on this table."

We played it as, "Well, there's no one else here so here I go!" and "Yay! A 4!".

Is this correct? (I hope it is, we won based on rolling a bunch of 4's on the scenario that we actually completed)

Yup.

Silver Crusade 5/5

If you roll a 4 and are the only character at your location, you have to fight it. You are a character at your location.

Edit: Ninja'd by Tanis. Tonight is my night for getting ninja'd.

Liberty's Edge Venture-Agent, Philippines—Makati City aka yamasaki

I keep failing at this scenario! Anyway, I do have some questions on the table for this and other scenarios in this adventure:

1. If you encounter the Goblin Raider henchman and rolled '3' on the table (AYA, move to a random other location), do you still get to attempt to close the location?

2. Valendron the Sorc has a Mirror Image in his hand, encounters a bane with Goblin trait (say a Goblin Warrior), rolls '5' on the table (bane defeated, each character is dealt 1d4 acid damage); can he use Mirror Image to reduce the damage to 0?


Answer to 1: definitely No. See FAQ

Answer 2: Nice try. But no. Mirror Image prevents damage a monster deals to you. In this case, even if thematically the monster exploded, in game terms it is the scenario power that is dealing you damage, not a monster.

Community / Forums / Organized Play / Pathfinder Adventure Card Society / 2-1A Goblins? Gross! - How did you do? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Pathfinder Adventure Card Society