urban skalds and armour casting


Rules Questions


Urban skalds lose medium armour. Do they also lose the ability to cast in medium armour? What of they take the feat to wear it?

Relevant text..

Spoiler:
 skald is proficient with all simple and martial weapons, light and medium armor, and shields (except tower shields). A skald can cast skald spells while wearing light or medium armor and even using a shield without incurring the normal arcane spell failure chance. This does not affect the arcane spell failure chance for arcane spells received from other classes. Like other arcane spellcasters, a skald wearing heavy armor incurs a chance of arcane spell failure if the spell in question has somatic components.

An urban skald is not proficient with medium armor. This ability modifies the skald’s weapon and armor proficiencies.


No clue guys? I had hoped for at least some thoughts. It's not for PFS but I like to keep things fairly close to the rules.


Doesn't seem like it. So you're good to cast in the medium armor.


Pathfinder Starfinder Maps, Starfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber

As best I can determine, it is not clearly spelled out.

The text about avoiding Arcane Spell Failure is in the Weapon and Armor Proficiency class feature. That class feature is specifically modified by the archetype.

The text modifying that section does not say anything about casting in armor, it just removes Medium Armor proficiency.

I would allow an Urban Skald proficient in Medium Armor to cast in it without Arcane Spell Failure because there is nothing that takes that away. On the other hand, I would not consider it unreasonable for a GM to rule the other way.


Yes. That's my only issue. I think what I'll do is allow him to take the feat to wear it and he's good to go.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / urban skalds and armour casting All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.