Oversized weapons.


Pathfinder Society

51 to 100 of 154 << first < prev | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | next > last >>
Sczarni 5/5

1 person marked this as a favorite.

Going back to the torch idea. Could my card casting magus buy a large harrowing deck? The idea would be to cast enlarge person and throw poster sized fortunes at her enemies.

Scarab Sages

Another one to add to the stack of size releated weapon questions:

Is the Mancatcher's ability to capture creatures based on the size of the Mancatcher, or the size the mancatcher is designed to catch?

I'd always assumed that the references to damage by size was related to the size of creature it was designed to capture. In re-reading, doesn't really seem they are related. Damage is by size of the weapon, but the description seems to indicated that the creature it was designed to capture could be any size.

Though I am curious how enlarge or reduce person would affect a held mancatcher...

Sczarni 5/5 5/55/5

Ragoz wrote:
Michael Eshleman wrote:
Ragoz wrote:
Joe Ducey wrote:
Not quite. Small, Medium and Large-sized weapons are always available for purchase. If they found a huge weapon on a chronicle sheet then yes.
While these items are always available I think you are a little confused on what it means. He can purchase a Huge Falcata according to the guide. If someone could only purchase the always available items or chronicle sheet items there would be significantly less magic weapons around with more than +1 bonuses.
The problem is that there is no cost formula for huge weapons in the CRB (though there is one for armor).
A larger version is always twice as much as the last step.

That's one guess.

The Developers admit that pricing oversized/undersized weapons never made it into the Core Rulebook.

Since there is no listed price, in any book, they are not allowed for purchase.

Though at least one Chronicle does have a Huge-sized weapon listed as loot.

The Exchange

Nefreet wrote:
Ragoz wrote:
Michael Eshleman wrote:
Ragoz wrote:
Joe Ducey wrote:
Not quite. Small, Medium and Large-sized weapons are always available for purchase. If they found a huge weapon on a chronicle sheet then yes.
While these items are always available I think you are a little confused on what it means. He can purchase a Huge Falcata according to the guide. If someone could only purchase the always available items or chronicle sheet items there would be significantly less magic weapons around with more than +1 bonuses.
The problem is that there is no cost formula for huge weapons in the CRB (though there is one for armor).
A larger version is always twice as much as the last step.

That's one guess.

The Developers admit that pricing oversized/undersized weapons never made it into the Core Rulebook.

Since there is no listed price, in any book, they are not allowed for purchase.

Though at least one Chronicle does have a Huge-sized weapon listed as loot.

It says a large version of a weapon is double. That is a listed price.

Grand Lodge 4/5

Ragoz wrote:

It says a large version of a weapon is double. That is a listed price.

A Large version of a weapon is double, not a larger version. We have a price for Small, Medium, and Large weapons. There is no listed price or guideline for pricing larger than Large or smaller than Small.

The Exchange

Jeff Merola wrote:
Ragoz wrote:

It says a large version of a weapon is double. That is a listed price.

A Large version of a weapon is double, not a larger version. We have a price for Small, Medium, and Large weapons. There is no listed price or guideline for pricing larger than Large or smaller than Small.

Get a large version of a large weapon. The fact that this price guildeline perfectly mirrors the armor pricing isn't very surprising.

Grand Lodge 4/5

There is no such thing as a "large version of a large weapon." There are Large weapons and there are Huge weapons. Huge weapons are larger, but they are not "large versions of large weapons".

Sczarni 5/5 5/55/5

Now, if Campaign Leadership wants to create their own ruling and add it to the Campaign Clarifications document, that would solve the problem.

Until then, no Huge-sized weapons.

The Exchange

I don't agree. The Guild Guide already accounts for weapons of prices of other sizes.

Sczarni 5/5 5/55/5

Oh?

Silver Crusade 5/5

Ragoz wrote:
I don't agree. The Guild Guide already accounts for weapons of prices of other sizes.

Citation needed.

The Exchange

UndeadMitch wrote:
Ragoz wrote:
I don't agree. The Guild Guide already accounts for weapons of prices of other sizes.
Citation needed.

I did in this thread.

Grand Lodge

Ragoz wrote:
UndeadMitch wrote:
Ragoz wrote:
I don't agree. The Guild Guide already accounts for weapons of prices of other sizes.
Citation needed.
I did in this thread.

If you're referring to this

Ragoz wrote:

Am I the only one who is genuinely confused how people think you can't get larger weapons than large from this? Always available only covers weapons and items which are available to characters regardless of their fame scores. The section even specifically says purchasing additional items "by capitalizing on your fame score".

The guide also says on Page 22:

Quote:
PCs purchasing equipment other than Small and Medium must adjust the price per the existing weapon size rules.

I don't think it's what Mitch is looking for. He means there are no pricing guidelines for Huge weapons. (or Tiny for that matter) In 3.x there were added rules for other sizes in Arms and Equipment (IIRC) but to my knowledge there are no such rules in Pathfinder at this time.


Kyshkumen wrote:
Going back to the torch idea. Could my card casting magus buy a large harrowing deck? The idea would be to cast enlarge person and throw poster sized fortunes at her enemies.

Any thrown item would revert to it's original size.

Sczarni 5/5 5/55/5

Ragoz wrote:
UndeadMitch wrote:
Ragoz wrote:
I don't agree. The Guild Guide already accounts for weapons of prices of other sizes.
Citation needed.
I did in this thread.

The item must exist in order for you to be able to purchase it.

This isn't a new discussion. Even the Developers have commented in the past that such items aren't available.

GMs in homegames can obviously craft whatever rules they wish, but the only people capable of that here would be Campaign Leadership.

5/5

Drahliana Moonrunner wrote:
Kyshkumen wrote:
Going back to the torch idea. Could my card casting magus buy a large harrowing deck? The idea would be to cast enlarge person and throw poster sized fortunes at her enemies.
Any thrown item would revert to it's original size.

Thus the need to buy a "Large" Harrow Deck (I think - maybe he was going for stacking the size up).

Scarab Sages

Kyshkumen wrote:
Going back to the torch idea. Could my card casting magus buy a large harrowing deck? The idea would be to cast enlarge person and throw poster sized fortunes at her enemies.

Should be able to. I mean, I can't imagine that the halflings and humans use the same size harrow cards.

And more so, as a human with bad eyesight, getting a larger versions of harrow decks seems very reasonable. Really, any books or reading material should be available in larger sizes...

Though all that said, are you sure the magnus would benefit from a larger deck? If going with the size penalties, that's at least -2 to attack, which hurts more on classes without BAB increasing every level. Isn't hitting them more important than doing very minor increases in normal damage output?

Sczarni 5/5

It's really just for the silliness of the idea not really for any mechanical advantage. Let me explain it again since some people are getting confused. My magus would have a regular sized deck (basically medium sized darts 1d4) and a large sized deck (large sized darts 1d6) She would be throwing the regular cards most of the time at no penalty, but would have an enlarge person spell ready and would have the large sized deck, because as someone pointed out ammunition changes back to normal size when thrown/fired, to throw the large cards at no penalty when enlarged.

Shadow Lodge 4/5

It's a cool idea if you can stomach both penalties(size minus to attack and dex penalty).

Card Caster is great no matter what you do.

Sczarni 5/5 5/55/5

2 people marked this as a favorite.
Murdock Mudeater wrote:
I can't imagine that the halflings and humans use the same size harrow cards.

They do, just like Halfling and Human Wizards use the same size spellbooks.

I am not aware of any Large-sized Harrow Decks, so they would be as unavailable as Large-sized torches.

Silver Crusade 5/5

1 person marked this as a favorite.
Ragoz wrote:
UndeadMitch wrote:
Ragoz wrote:
I don't agree. The Guild Guide already accounts for weapons of prices of other sizes.
Citation needed.
I did in this thread.

It's as Joe, Jeff, and Nefreet have said. There is no pricing for items larger than Large, or smaller than Small, so they are not available to purchase. That sentence you posted says to adjust prices per existing price guidlines, since there are no guidlines for Huge or larger weapons, they are not available for purchase.

Scarab Sages

Nefreet wrote:
I am not aware of any Large-sized Harrow Decks, so they would be as unavailable as Large-sized torches.

Technically, there aren't any rules for any-size torches. The torch entry lacks a size.

Torches are just torches. As an improvised weapon, they do damage as a gauntlet + 1 point of fire damage. They don't do damage a "Medium" gauntlet, just as a gauntlet.

Here, the PRD description:

Quote:
A torch burns for 1 hour, shedding normal light in a 20-foot radius and increasing the light level by one step for an additional 20 feet beyond that area (darkness becomes dim light and dim light becomes normal light). A torch does not increase the light level in normal light or bright light. If a torch is used in combat, treat it as a one-handed improvised weapon that deals bludgeoning damage equal to that of a gauntlet of its size, plus 1 point of fire damage

And from Archives of Nethys, the Torch Bearer feat:

Quote:

Benefit: You treat a torch as a light weapon that deals bludgeoning damage equal to that of a light mace of its size plus 1 point of fire damage, and you do not incur penalties as you would for using it as an improvised weapon.

Normal: A torch used in combat is treated as a one-handed improvised weapon that deals bludgeoning damage equal to that of a gauntlet of its size plus 1 point of fire damage.

So, my question, how do you have these pegged as medium weapons? Not in either description. If a Large size creature has a torch that is a one-handed weapon. If my medium PC tries to wield it as a weapon, does it really shrink into a one-handed torch?

I'm not suggesting it would do additional fire damage, as I think that is pretty clearly fixed at 1 point of damage.

5/5

2 people marked this as a favorite.

Torches automatically resize to the wielder. Damn Druids.

Grand Lodge

Torches don't have a size period. Thus they can't be resized same for Harrow Cards, or alchemist fire, or any other non-weapon that does damage. That said, your torch damage should scale (IMO) with the size of the person with the torch. A small creature uses a small torch thus a small gauntlet. Medium to medium, large to large, etc. Though YMMV, there is nothing saying one way or the other.

Silver Crusade 3/5

I don't really think it's erratum-worthy, but that text would probably be clearer if it read ". . . of its wielder's size".

Liberty's Edge 5/5 5/5 Venture-Lieutenant, Indiana—Martinsville aka thaX

Your missing a point there. " ... treat it as a one-handed improvised weapon that deals bludgeoning damage equal to that of a gauntlet of its size,... ""...equal to that of a light mace of its size ..."

So of course a medium creature would be carrying a Torch that is used as a meduim light mace (or a Medium sized gauntlet, improvised, for those without that feat), though getting something sized for larger creatures just isn't available, though I am sure that other creatures do use torches, if they don't have darkvision...

Scarab Sages

Joe Ducey wrote:
Torches don't have a size period. Thus they can't be resized same for Harrow Cards, or alchemist fire, or any other non-weapon that does damage. That said, your torch damage should scale (IMO) with the size of the person with the torch. A small creature uses a small torch thus a small gauntlet. Medium to medium, large to large, etc. Though YMMV, there is nothing saying one way or the other.

The description for torches does indicate they have a size.

Though with your interpretation, the torch would shrink to fit the bearer, and that new size would be the torch's size for the purposes of it's improvised damage.

It's not an unreasonable interpretation, but it certainly isn't RAW. For it to be RAW, the torch would require a line about how torches shrink or enlarge to fit the bearer.

Though, really, if a character attempts to wield a two-handed torch, you'd just call it a burning log...It's not really a torch at that point. Still an improvised weapon, just not a torch. I don't think torch bearer would apply, but catch off guard should still function. For cost, you'd probably look up firewood and lamp oil, then add them together...

As for alchemist's fire, isn't that a splash weapon? Are splash weapons not considered weapons....? I hate how they sometimes refer to non-weapons as weapons.

Honestly, I'm really not a fan of these weapon sizing rules. Seems like they generate rules complications more than they help things. And they really don't make much sense.

Example.

Large dagger is a two handed weapon for a small character. I'm at -4 to hit, but it's still a dagger for rules that relate to daggers...In real life, a dagger that large in proportion to the user wouldn't be called a dagger, it would be called a two-handed sword. Weapon finesse doesn't work for a two-handed dagger, but that seems pretty reasonable given how large it is.

And yet, a two handed sword reduced to a light weapon still can't use weapon finesse....

Scarab Sages

Okay, so pretty sure this already been answered, but I have to double check because my common sense is screaming at me:

If I re-size a weapon, it still retains all of the classifications of the original weapon, with size only affecting the hands required and the damage dice?

So, if I take a Dagger and make it two handed (Large Dagger for a halfling), it would still qualify as a dagger, part of the light blade weapon group, a throwing weapon, and for class archetypes that specify daggers as long as they don't also specify them being light weapons, right?

So, in further example with the dagger, a Knife Master Halfling Rogue, could take a Large Dagger and qualify for the 1d8 sneak attack damage and the other class abilities, because it is still a "light blade" despite no longer being a light weapon. This right?

The Knife Master isn't a class I intend to play, this is an example because it very well illustrates the common sense issues I'm having with the sizing rules....

5/5 5/55/55/5

Murdock Mudeater wrote:

Okay, so pretty sure this already been answered, but I have to double check because my common sense is screaming at me:

If I re-size a weapon, it still retains all of the classifications of the original weapon, with size only affecting the hands required and the damage dice?

Probably varies widely depending on the ability.

Quote:
So, if I take a Dagger and make it two handed (Large Dagger for a halfling), it would still qualify as a dagger, part of the light blade weapon group, a throwing weapon, and for class archetypes that specify daggers as long as they don't also specify them being light weapons, right?

Dagger definitely. Light blade... I think so, but i'd expect variation based on the name. Throwing weapon: yes but remember handed weapons have different rules for throwing than normal.

So, in further example with the dagger, a Knife Master Halfling Rogue, could take a Large Dagger and qualify for the 1d8 sneak attack damage and the other class abilities, because it is still a "light blade" despite no longer being a light weapon. This right?

Knife master seems to specify dagger and its still a dagger.

I will say though, that a penalty to hit is not going to be made up for by a tiny amount of extra damage to the sneak attack dice: Unless you have a really funky build powerful sneak actually decreases your damage done, and thats turning a boatload of D6s into d 8s, not just 1d4 into 1d8.

T

Sczarni 5/5 5/55/5

A dagger sized for a Large creature is still a light weapon, but not in the hands of a Halfling.

If you're not considering building characters this way, then I fail to see why you keep bringing it back up.

Is there a character concept you're actually considering that you have any PFS-specific questions about?

Scarab Sages

BigNorseWolf wrote:
Quote:
So, if I take a Dagger and make it two handed (Large Dagger for a halfling), it would still qualify as a dagger, part of the light blade weapon group, a throwing weapon, and for class archetypes that specify daggers as long as they don't also specify them being light weapons, right?

Dagger definitely. Light blade... I think so, but i'd expect variation based on the name. Throwing weapon: yes but remember handed weapons have different rules for throwing than normal.

...

Knife master seems to specify dagger and its still a dagger.

I will say though, that a penalty to hit is not going to be made up for by a tiny amount of extra damage to the sneak attack dice: Unless you have a really funky build powerful sneak actually decreases your damage done, and thats turning a boatload of D6s into d 8s, not just 1d4 into 1d8.

Well, as a now two handed weapon for a small creature, the dagger is also gaining 1.5 times strength. So the Large Dagger is a 1d6 + 1.5xstr weapon. Adding then some d8s for sneak attack, and that's pretty substancial, especially given that the target will lack dex to AC against sneak attacks (because it only functions against them when the lack dex to AC).

And yeah, -4 attack roll due to two sizes above the character, but that's really not that high. Plus the weapon only weighs 2 lbs.

Nefreet wrote:

A dagger sized for a Large creature is still a light weapon, but not in the hands of a Halfling.

If you're not considering building characters this way, then I fail to see why you keep bringing it back up.

Is there a character concept you're actually considering that you have any PFS-specific questions about?

I'm asking because the concept is hard to wrap my head around. It defies common sense.

As for the PFS tie in, that's mostly been addressed. I had thought that oversized weapons weren't allowed in PFS, but I guess they are. I hadn't bother to learn the oversized weapon rules before, but I'm re-looking at them. Mostly a rules thread for most of the last two pages.

PS: To re-address that Large Lance bit. There's a Fighter archetype that can use oversized two handed weapons (Titan fighter), so you could still go that route. Not really sure how the one-handed bit while mounted plays in with such a fighter.

Scarab Sages

As for character concepts, I like to know what the options are before I make a character. So while the Knife Master doesn't appeal to me, that archetype is a very solid example for the issues with common sense I'm facing when I hear that size doesn't affect much on the weapon.

My main take away is that I can undersize two-handed weapons to wield them in one hand, which is hugely appealing for any deity themed character whose deity's sacred weapon is two handed and the PC wants to sport a shield or second weapon or just have a free hand for spell casting. Likewise, and I can oversize light/one-handed weapons to make them eligible for the 1.5x strength to damage.

Always one of the more annoying barriers to some of the deities is how their choice weapon makes character creation rather restrictive in terms of free hands. Understanding these sizing rules, despite lacking common sense, is certainly opening some doors for character concepts I had previously disregarded.

Grand Lodge 4/5 Venture-Captain, California—Sacramento aka FLite

Drahliana Moonrunner wrote:
Nefreet wrote:
Summon Nature's Ally, summon a Cyclops, hand it a Huge-sized Bastard Sword and an Ioun Stone for proficiency.
That's at least two rounds of preparing before you or the cyclops can engage in combat. That's not counting the round spent summoning.

That's what tattoo attunement is for

5/5 5/55/55/5

murdock wrote:
Well, as a now two handed weapon for a small creature, the dagger is also gaining 1.5 times strength. So the Large Dagger is a 1d6 + 1.5xstr weapon. Adding then some d8s for sneak attack, and that's pretty substancial, especially given that the target will lack dex to AC against sneak attacks (because it only functions against them when the lack dex to AC).

Adding d8s for sneak attack means that a to hit penalty hurts you even more. The more damage you do the more a hit penalty hurts.

I don't see anything in the knife master that limits the sneak attack to denied dex. The vast majority of sneak attacks I see in PFS are from flanking.

Because 1) the party is usually moving towards an objective rather than holding still 2) The stealth rules very rarely let a humanoid stealth 3) DMs all have different ideas of how the stealth rules work and not doing stealth exactly as the dm thinks it does can often get you auto spotted You really, really shouldn't rely on sneaking up on anything in PFS.

Quote:
And yeah, -4 attack roll due to two sizes above the character, but that's really not that high. Plus the weapon only weighs 2 lbs.

-4 is huge. Thats a fifth of the dice rolls, or at least once per combat.

Scarab Sages

Jared Thaler wrote:
Drahliana Moonrunner wrote:
Nefreet wrote:
Summon Nature's Ally, summon a Cyclops, hand it a Huge-sized Bastard Sword and an Ioun Stone for proficiency.
That's at least two rounds of preparing before you or the cyclops can engage in combat. That's not counting the round spent summoning.

That's what tattoo attunement is for

Looked it up. Not sure how that would work with the summoned cyclops. It's a standard action to "change forms" and at least a move action to hand the weapons/ioun. Meanwhile this provokes (though unclear if both the caster and summoned creature provoke, or just one) and isn't casting a spell, so things that normally prevent provoking while summoning don't apply.

Or is the idea that the summoned creature is given the weapons, then changed into a tattoo, the called into the game? As GM, I'd have to call foul on that one, as I don't think the tattoo is intended to be able to be used as a bag of holding in addition to holding summoned monsters.

Still, really glad you mentioned that feat. Very handy.

5/5 5/55/55/5

Murdock Mudeater wrote:

As for character concepts, I like to know what the options are before I make a character. So while the Knife Master doesn't appeal to me, that archetype is a very solid example for the issues with common sense I'm facing when I hear that size doesn't affect much on the weapon.

I'm not saying you're doing this, but many times someone will try to justify a... questionable rules argument by saying that if you say A works like B then X must work like Y (with wildly varying degrees of validity). So when we see someone asking about A when they're really asking about Y people that have been on the forums a while start to look for the ball under the cup.

Just ask about X.

Scarab Sages

BigNorseWolf wrote:

Adding d8s for sneak attack means that a to hit penalty hurts you even more. The more damage you do the more a hit penalty hurts.

I don't see anything in the knife master that limits the sneak attack to denied dex. The vast majority of sneak attacks I see in PFS are from flanking.

Because 1) the party is usually moving towards an objective rather than holding still 2) The stealth rules very rarely let a humanoid stealth 3) DMs all have different ideas of how the stealth rules work and not doing stealth exactly as the dm thinks it does can often get you auto spotted You really, really shouldn't rely on sneaking up on anything in PFS.

-4 is huge. Thats a fifth of the dice rolls, or at least once per combat.

I always forget the flanking does sneak attack too. Yeah, it would apply there too. +2 on those attack rolls. So, either when they don't have dex to AC or when you have bonuses from flank, you'd get those extra d8s to attack.

Anyway, the only way this one would have merit is if the PC had a very high strength mod. At 18 strength (not a halfling at level 1, but a Wayang could), you'd be negating your strength mod to attack in exchange for +2 points of damage and a larger die by two steps.

Liberty's Edge 5/5 5/5 Venture-Lieutenant, Indiana—Martinsville aka thaX

BigNorseWolf wrote:
murdock wrote:
Well, as a now two handed weapon for a small creature, the dagger is also gaining 1.5 times strength. So the Large Dagger is a 1d6 + 1.5xstr weapon. Adding then some d8s for sneak attack, and that's pretty substancial, especially given that the target will lack dex to AC against sneak attacks (because it only functions against them when the lack dex to AC).

Adding d8s for sneak attack means that a to hit penalty hurts you even more. The more damage you do the more a hit penalty hurts.

I don't see anything in the knife master that limits the sneak attack to denied dex. The vast majority of sneak attacks I see in PFS are from flanking.

Because 1) the party is usually moving towards an objective rather than holding still 2) The stealth rules very rarely let a humanoid stealth 3) DMs all have different ideas of how the stealth rules work and not doing stealth exactly as the dm thinks it does can often get you auto spotted You really, really shouldn't rely on sneaking up on anything in PFS.

Quote:
And yeah, -4 attack roll due to two sizes above the character, but that's really not that high. Plus the weapon only weighs 2 lbs.
-4 is huge. Thats a fifth of the dice rolls, or at least once per combat.

About Stealth Rules....

When you start in cover, you can stealth at the beginning of the turn, and then be in stealth (vs. Perception of target) until you either end your turn out of cover, or you attack.

A lot better than how it was before the 6th printing.

Grand Lodge 4/5 Venture-Captain, California—Sacramento aka FLite

Murdock Mudeater wrote:
Jared Thaler wrote:
Drahliana Moonrunner wrote:
Nefreet wrote:
Summon Nature's Ally, summon a Cyclops, hand it a Huge-sized Bastard Sword and an Ioun Stone for proficiency.
That's at least two rounds of preparing before you or the cyclops can engage in combat. That's not counting the round spent summoning.

That's what tattoo attunement is for

Looked it up. Not sure how that would work with the summoned cyclops. It's a standard action to "change forms" and at least a move action to hand the weapons/ioun. Meanwhile this provokes (though unclear if both the caster and summoned creature provoke, or just one) and isn't casting a spell, so things that normally prevent provoking while summoning don't apply.

Or is the idea that the summoned creature is given the weapons, then changed into a tattoo, the called into the game? As GM, I'd have to call foul on that one, as I don't think the tattoo is intended to be able to be used as a bag of holding in addition to holding summoned monsters.

Still, really glad you mentioned that feat. Very handy.

I'm not sure. Other things that store creatures seem to store their gear as well (carry companion for example). But it would lead to the odd question of what happens if the duration expires while it is in the tattoo.

Scarab Sages

Jared Thaler wrote:


I'm not sure. Other things that store creatures seem to store their gear as well (carry companion for example). But it would lead to the odd question of what happens if the duration expires while it is in the tattoo.

Carry Companion specifies that it functions that way. Tattoo atonement does not. I would imagine it transfers whatever the summoned creature is normally summoned with, and nothing more.

Summoning a cyclops, handing them all the heavy treasure, then transferring them into a weightless tattoo seems beyond the intended function of the feat.

I am also unclear how this would interact other abilities which would normally detect/trigger on the cyclops' gear while he's in tattoo form. For example, having the cyclops hold your Evil Artifact while you go through a town known for it's paladin population.

As I read it, the intended function of the feat is merely to allow a standard action to summon a creature in combat. You could also use it carry a summon creature from one combat to another, should your spell duration be longer than the initial combat.

5/5 5/55/55/5

Hillis Mallory III wrote:


About Stealth Rules....

When you start in cover, you can stealth at the beginning of the turn, and then be in stealth (vs. Perception of target) until you either end your turn out of cover, or you attack.

A lot better than how it was before the 6th printing.

Its not quite as straightforward as that.

Breaking Stealth: When you start your turn using Stealth, you can leave cover or concealment and remain unobserved as long as you succeed at a Stealth check and end your turn in cover or concealment. Your Stealth immediately ends after you make and attack roll, whether or not the attack is successful (except when sniping as noted below).

You have to end your turn in cover or concealment for that to work. Most monsters don't spend a lot of time standing in lighting conditions where they can't see. Walking from the dug out onto the pitchers mound of Wrigley field

You start your turn in cover
You make a stealth check
Do not end your turn in cover= no sneak attack for you.

5/5 5/55/55/5

2 people marked this as a favorite.

Does he detect as evil?

Yes.. but only his left shoulder

I SMITE HIS LEFT SHOULDER!

Scarab Sages

BigNorseWolf wrote:

Does he detect as evil?

Yes.. but only his left shoulder

I SMITE HIS LEFT SHOULDER!

Funny :)

But then you get into these stupid debates regarding morality, as the summoner may not actually be evil, and the summoner isn't actually carrying the evil artifact, but carrying someone that is carrying the evil artifact...

Liberty's Edge 5/5 5/5 Venture-Lieutenant, Indiana—Martinsville aka thaX

BigNorseWolf wrote:
Hillis Mallory III wrote:


About Stealth Rules....

When you start in cover, you can stealth at the beginning of the turn, and then be in stealth (vs. Perception of target) until you either end your turn out of cover, or you attack.

A lot better than how it was before the 6th printing.

Its not quite as straightforward as that.

Breaking Stealth: When you start your turn using Stealth, you can leave cover or concealment and remain unobserved as long as you succeed at a Stealth check and end your turn in cover or concealment. Your Stealth immediately ends after you make and attack roll, whether or not the attack is successful (except when sniping as noted below).

You have to end your turn in cover or concealment for that to work. Most monsters don't spend a lot of time standing in lighting conditions where they can't see. Walking from the dug out onto the pitchers mound of Wrigley field

You start your turn in cover
You make a stealth check
Do not end your turn in cover= no sneak attack for you.

The point is, you can go out of cover after making the stealth check, go right up to the enemy and attack, getting your sneak attack at that time.

This was nigh impossible before.

Scarab Sages

Wow, tangent.

Okay, somewhat related. If I've got an oversized weapon that doesn't really fit into an area (ceiling is to low, for example), what are the PFS legal options for transporting oversized weapons? In particular, for low level encounters.

Can I get a collapsible version somewhere? I don't mind if the "upgrade" prevents me from using the weapon in an area, provided I can still carry it on my person (like a spear that unscrews into two pieces for storage).

Sczarni 5/5 5/55/5

You can only purchase things in print. If "collapsible" is defined somewhere, and it's legal, then you can purchase it.

But, generally, it's of no concern. A medium-sized Barbarian carrying around a longspear, a glaive, an earthbreaker, a greatsword, a dwarf, a heavy crossbow, a ten-foot ladder, and a kitchen sink can still use Escape Artist to squeeze through a tiny-sized hole.


Murdock Mudeater wrote:

Wow, tangent.

Okay, somewhat related. If I've got an oversized weapon that doesn't really fit into an area (ceiling is to low, for example), what are the PFS legal options for transporting oversized weapons? In particular, for low level encounters.

Can I get a collapsible version somewhere? I don't mind if the "upgrade" prevents me from using the weapon in an area, provided I can still carry it on my person (like a spear that unscrews into two pieces for storage).

The Shrinking special ability might meet your needs.

Scarab Sages

Gisher wrote:
Murdock Mudeater wrote:

Wow, tangent.

Okay, somewhat related. If I've got an oversized weapon that doesn't really fit into an area (ceiling is to low, for example), what are the PFS legal options for transporting oversized weapons? In particular, for low level encounters.

Can I get a collapsible version somewhere? I don't mind if the "upgrade" prevents me from using the weapon in an area, provided I can still carry it on my person (like a spear that unscrews into two pieces for storage).

The Shrinking special ability might meet your needs.

A bit spendy, but that is exactly what I'm thinking about.

In particular, I'm thinking about designing a Sarissa wielder. The Sarissa is a 15ft polearm from the Giant Hunter's Handbook, so it's length would actually present a pretty major problem in some dungeons.

Still, being able to match (or exceed) reach with large creatures could be pretty awesome in some encounters, not to mention it is functionally an extra 5ft of charge range.

Dark Archive

1 person marked this as a favorite.
Nefreet wrote:

You can only purchase things in print. If "collapsible" is defined somewhere, and it's legal, then you can purchase it.

But, generally, it's of no concern. A medium-sized Barbarian carrying around a longspear, a glaive, an earthbreaker, a greatsword, a dwarf, a heavy crossbow, a ten-foot ladder, and a kitchen sink can still use Escape Artist to squeeze through a tiny-sized hole.

I had to reread this. Then ended up spewing water onto my computer screen. Thanks a lot.

Note the sarcasm in the above statement. It's right at the end :)

Liberty's Edge 5/5 5/5 Venture-Lieutenant, Indiana—Martinsville aka thaX

Sorry about the Tangent, but I was impressed with the change to Stealth in the CRB sixth printing. Used it soon after much to the surprise of my GM.

I wouldn't carry a Dwarf, they bite.

51 to 100 of 154 << first < prev | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | next > last >>
Community / Forums / Organized Play / Pathfinder Society / Oversized weapons. All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.