How many Claws / Claw evolutions can my Eidolon have?


Rules Questions


For the sake of this post lets assume the summoner/Eidolon has an infinite amount of Evolution points.
My Summoner player is level 4, and currently has a Q-pad Eidolon with 1 Bite attack (Default with Quad)and 2 Claw attacks.

First question:
In order to obtain Claw attacks, according to PCGen, even though the Eidolon starts with "Limbs (feet) X 2" we CAN'T add the "Clawed feet" evolution to one of these sets, we must first buy a third set (2 Evo points), before we took the "Clawed feet" evolution (1 Evo point),
*is this correct? or should he be able to immidietly take "Clawed feet without getting an additional set?

2nd question:
in an attempt to have 4 Claw attacks (The maximum attack # @ lvl 4)We added ANOTHER (4th) set of "Limbs (feet)" evolution to the Eidolon - and were going to purchase "Clawed feet" again, but the software didn't allow us to. It seems like the (Quadruped) Eidolon can only have 1 set of Feet with claws on them, which is contradicted by Claw evolution description:
"This evolution can only be applied to the limbs (legs) evolution once This evolution can be selected more than once, but the eidolon must possess an equal number of the limbs evolution."
So, should we be able to keep adding claws (at the cost of 3 points per set of feet + Claws) to the Eidolon without a limit? (We understand they won't be able to use all of them because of the attack limit"

Thank you!


you can only have claws on your feet if you have more than 2 feet and only one set of clawed feat. And as the evolution said "This evolution can only be applied to the limbs (legs) evolution once" So if I understand correctly you have a quadruped with claws already meaning you already have claws on your feet, and that is using the only feet claws you have. So if you want more claws you need to add arms.


You understand correctly, and i missed "This evolution can only be applied to the limbs (legs) evolution once"

But, going with this i instead added a set of "Limbs (Arms)" and attempted to get the "Clawed Hands", i couldn't do this after adding "Limbs (Legs)" + "Clawed Feet" (or the other way around)

I then thought to myself "Maybe, i can't get over 4 POSSIBLE attacks at level 4 (instead of having a possible 5, including the head and use only the claws) - so i raised the Eidolon to levle 9, where he should be able to get 5 attacks (2 legs, 2 arms, 1 head) - PCGen allowed it then.

so the only issue is the MAX AVAILABLE attacks? (can't find the line that claims this in the rule books) would you as a DM allow the player to "bypass" this, forgo the head and take additional claws/hands instead?


Quote:


This indicates the maximum number of natural attacks that the eidolon is allowed to possess at the given level. If the eidolon is at its maximum, it cannot take evolutions that grant additional natural attacks. This does not include attacks made with weapons.

In the definitions for the chart. I wouldn't allow bypassing it myself.

Lantern Lodge

Qayinisorouse wrote:

You understand correctly, and i missed "This evolution can only be applied to the limbs (legs) evolution once"

But, going with this i instead added a set of "Limbs (Arms)" and attempted to get the "Clawed Hands", i couldn't do this after adding "Limbs (Legs)" + "Clawed Feet" (or the other way around)

I then thought to myself "Maybe, i can't get over 4 POSSIBLE attacks at level 4 (instead of having a possible 5, including the head and use only the claws) - so i raised the Eidolon to levle 9, where he should be able to get 5 attacks (2 legs, 2 arms, 1 head) - PCGen allowed it then.

so the only issue is the MAX AVAILABLE attacks? (can't find the line that claims this in the rule books) would you as a DM allow the player to "bypass" this, forgo the head and take additional claws/hands instead?

To my understanding, yes. The maximum number of attacks is the main reason not to pile on many pairs of limbs. This is in Table: Eidolon Base Statistics

Quote:
Max. Attacks: This indicates the maximum number of natural attacks that the eidolon is allowed to possess at the given level. If the eidolon is at its maximum, it cannot take evolutions that grant additional natural attacks. This does not include attacks made with weapons.


Even though i love the person playing the Summoner, i think ill hold up to the rules on this one.
i advised him to get an additional head+bite untill he reaches level 9, then he can get limbs+claws and enjoy the bonuses from the feat/evo that makes those atttacks stronger.

Lantern Lodge

Qayinisorouse wrote:

Even though i love the person playing the Summoner, i think ill hold up to the rules on this one.

i advised him to get an additional head+bite untill he reaches level 9, then he can get limbs+claws and enjoy the bonuses from the feat/evo that makes those atttacks stronger.

Eidolons are amazingly powerful even when following the rules. The opportunity to rebuild every level is terrific on its own.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / How many Claws / Claw evolutions can my Eidolon have? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.