Sabotage


Rules Questions and Gameplay Discussion


If I fail a roll on this barrier, and there are no other cards in the location deck, may I explore again hoping to clear the barrier so as to attempt to close the location ?


Pathfinder Card Game Subscriber

You can not. You must ignore it for the purposes of additional explorations.

S&S Rulebook p11 via this FAQ wrote:
If such a card tells you that you must encounter it on your first exploration on a turn, then you must encounter it the first time you explore that turn. After that exploration, ignore it for the purpose of additional explorations that turn; however, it still counts as the top card of the deck for any other purpose.

Therefore, you are only able to encounter it the first time you explore on your turn.


Thanks Hawk


Pathfinder Card Game Subscriber

You are welcome. I'll add that I couldn't help but have the Beastie Boys song running in my head the moment I saw the thread.


Had a question that fits in with the previous one-- if an effect allows you to move after you've explored (e.g. Potion of Flying in S&S) and you move to a location with a barrier, then do you encounter it with your next exploration there?

...I assume, "Of course! And then only the first one there." is the answer, but we should leave no nit unpicked. :)

Sovereign Court

Pathfinder Card Game Subscriber

No. It's not your first exploration at that location, it's the first exploration of your turn. You've already explored before moving, so it doesn't need to be encountered.


Pathfinder Battles Case Subscriber; Pathfinder Card Game Subscriber
Andrew L Klein wrote:
No. It's not your first exploration at that location, it's the first exploration of your turn. You've already explored before moving, so it doesn't need to be encountered.

Agree. We had a long discussion once in France wondering why most of the barriers and some items like lances refer to the first exploration of the turn rather than the first exploration of the turn at that location. That would have made more sense IMHO. Maybe they just didn't think of it during tests.


Pathfinder Card Game Subscriber

Or maybe they thought that it would nearly always be the same, so why make the card text longer. Dunno.


Yeah thank you Hawkmoon. Now that you noticed it I will have that song stuck for the rest of the day.

I think the mechanic works pretty fine. I remember one S&S game where Damiel had to use a Potion of flying several times to circumvent a very nasty Barrier.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder Adventure Card Game / Rules Questions and Gameplay Discussion / Sabotage All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.