Using Jirelle with the Rogue class deck and her Promo card


Pathfinder Adventure Card Society

Venture-Agent, Texas—Houston North aka Blascowisz

I was wondering if I use Jirelle and the Rogue class deck, can i still use Jirelle's Bloodcrow Rapier from the iconic heroes set? The rules seem a little unclear

Sovereign Court

Pathfinder Card Game Subscriber
Quote:
You may add one of each of your class’s Owner-associated promo cards from the Iconic Heroes miniatures line

Your class is Swashbuckler. You can use the Swashbuckler (Jirelle's) promo card.

What I'd say is questionable is whether you could use Merisiel's. I would say no because even though you use the Rogue deck, Rogue is not your class. However, I wouldn't be adverse to saying you could.

For the Rapier though, I'd say without a doubt that you can.


I agree with Andrew here. From the Guide to OP, p.7:

"All the cards must come from your Class Deck, but there are two exceptions: You may add one of each of your class’s Owner-associated promo cards from the Iconic Heroes miniatures line (see Promo Cards below)"

Also, in the next page:

"For example, if you complete the Season of the Shackles and gain the adventure path reward, you can play Enora from Wrath of the Righteous as if she were in the Wizard Class Deck for any Adventure Card Guild scenario or season. This also means you can use any Owner: Enora promo cards in that deck (see “Promo Cards” below.)"

Then, the next page:

"Each Adventure Card Guild character’s Class Deck may contain exactly one copy (sic) of each of its class’s Owner-associated promo card from the Iconic Heroes product line, indicated with a “Iconic Heroes” banner in the top left and a set indicator of P in the top right."

The issue comes from what your "class" is. Jirelle is still a Swashbuckler, despite the fact she uses the Rogue class deck, because that's a special exception granted by the scenario. Iconic Heroes promo cards are associated with an Owner, not a class.

The only way you can argue that you can put a Rogue Iconic Heroes item is if you took a Rogue in the first place, and a Class Deck that you picked Olenjack in is different from a Class Deck you picked Jirelle in (at least gathering from the discussions I had at PaizoCon last year)


Pathfinder Card Game Subscriber

Hmm. I think you hit it with the statement, "Each Adventure Card Guild character’s Class Deck may contain exactly one copy of each of its class’s Owner-associated promo card from the Iconic Heroes product line..."
To me, that means that if you're playing with a rogue deck/box, you can use any iconic rogue's owner-associated promos.
And with Jirelle, you Are playing with the rogue deck, even if she herself is not a rogue.

Plus, it's not like the Footpad's Boots are game-breaking or anything. In our campaigns, they don't stand up long-term the way Arcane Robes or Paladin's Helm do.


Pathfinder Card Game, Maps, Starfinder Adventure Path, Starfinder Maps, Starfinder Roleplaying Game, Starfinder Society Subscriber; Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber
Iceman wrote:

Hmm. I think you hit it with the statement, "Each Adventure Card Guild character’s Class Deck may contain exactly one copy of each of its class’s Owner-associated promo card from the Iconic Heroes product line..."

To me, that means that if you're playing with a rogue deck/box, you can use any iconic rogue's owner-associated promos.
And with Jirelle, you Are playing with the rogue deck, even if she herself is not a rogue.

Plus, it's not like the Footpad's Boots are game-breaking or anything. In our campaigns, they don't stand up long-term the way Arcane Robes or Paladin's Helm do.

That disagrees with the Enora example in the guide though. It says if you use Enora with the Wizard deck (which you can as the reward for completing Season of the Shackles), you get to use the Owner: Enora card. Enora, however, is not a wizard, but rather an arcanist.

We can apply the same thing to Jirelle and the rogue deck. You get to use and Owner: Jirelle card, and "class" is referring to the class of your character and not the class of the class deck. The grammar implies this as well: the subject of the sentence is "Adventure Card Guild character", so "its class's" refers to the classes of the character. If you play Jirelle with the Rogue deck, you get to put in the Swashbuckler promos but you cannot put in the Rogue promos.

Paizo Employee Chief Technical Officer

We'll adjust the next version of the guide to be more clear—we care about the character's class, not the deck's class. So Jirelle can use Jirelle's Iconic Heroes card, but not Merisiel's.


Pathfinder Card Game Subscriber

Thanks, Vic.
I was kinda thinking she'd get the cards both ways (to make up for some swashbuckling stuff she loses out on, like the bandana and certain allies), but can understand how it's limited by character class, not deck class.

Grand Lodge Venture-Lieutenant, Pennsylvania—Lancaster aka Theryon Stormrune

Actually I didn't realize the class stays the same as the character's and not the deck used. My "confusion" came from the character registration that (previously) puts Jirelle under the Rogues, Enora under Wizards, and Arueshalae under Rogues.

The current version says "Unlocked Rogue" and "Unlocked Wizard". Arueshalae is now Unlocked Succubus.

[NOTE: Alain is missing from the screen. I'll put up a post elsewhere for that.]

Community / Forums / Organized Play / Pathfinder Adventure Card Society / Using Jirelle with the Rogue class deck and her Promo card All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Pathfinder Adventure Card Society