Compilation of Campaign Clarification requests


Pathfinder Society

101 to 150 of 516 << first < prev | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | next > last >>
Sovereign Court 4/5 5/5 ** Venture-Lieutenant, Netherlands—Leiden

I vaguely remember there being a design principle that any <= tiny critter should get weapon finesse by default; quite a few but not all tiny animals get it as a bonus feat. So I guess the ones that paid for it got screwed over.

And then they also get it by virtue of being a familiar...

4/5

the unclear part is about how to get the extra item slot and what and if feats can be traded or retrained. The process just needs some clarification (rather than messageboard posts).

Grand Lodge 3/5

I'd actually like to see the whole familiar item usage section reviewed, there's too much of it still lingering in threads or just flat out unclear.

Specifically, does the "can't activate magic items" clause isn't very clear on "Use Activated" items.

Can a familiar drink a potion or apply an oil? (I see this a lot.)
Can a familiar use Poisoner's Gloves? (I've seen this a few times.)
Can a familiar use a Merciful/Flaming Amulet of Mighty Fists?
Can a familiar use a Spell Storing weapon?
Can a familiar/AC use a Fortuitous weapon?
Can a familiar cast a spell from a Cracked Purple Prism Ioun stone? (The FAQ says they can activate Ioun Stones.)

Do any of these answers change if the familiar has hands? Is on the "can use wands" list?

3/5 5/5

Markov Spiked Chain wrote:

I'd actually like to see the whole familiar item usage section reviewed, there's too much of it still lingering in threads or just flat out unclear.

Specifically, does the "can't activate magic items" clause isn't very clear on "Use Activated" items.

Can a familiar drink a potion or apply an oil? (I see this a lot.)
Can a familiar use Poisoner's Gloves? (I've seen this a few times.)
Can a familiar use a Merciful/Flaming Amulet of Mighty Fists?
Can a familiar use a Spell Storing weapon?
Can a familiar/AC use a Fortuitous weapon?
Can a familiar cast a spell from a Cracked Purple Prism Ioun stone? (The FAQ says they can activate Ioun Stones.)

Do any of these answers change if the familiar has hands? Is on the "can use wands" list?

If we're going the whole hog...

If I'm wearing a headband of charisma and a belt of fortitude, and I cast Familiar melding :
1. Does the CHA bonus from the headband transfer with my consciousness? If not, do I get it if my familiar puts on that headband?
2. Is my familiar's HP (this being the familiar whose body I am in) based on my hp with the belt's bonus or without? (Assume I've worn the belt for over 24 hours.)
3. If I cast shield other on the familiar before casting familiar melding, would half the damage I take whilst in my familiar's body still transfer to my real body?
4. Whilst I am melded with the familiar, does it get all available item slots or is it still limited by the neck+barding rule for familiars?

Some of those questions are also about how possession-effects work.

Paizo Employee 3/5 * Organized Play Coordinator

9 people marked this as a favorite.

Stickied the post. We are hoping to get a batch of Additional Resources/Campaign Clarifications out this month. But as you know, the familiar section is huge and needs some overhaul. Probably more than we have time for with the time left in 2016. So while it isn't slated for the next update, it is on our radar!

We appreciate you linking threads and posting questions, as it gives us a basis on where to start. Please keep it up!

Dark Archive 4/5 *

Pathfinder Rulebook Subscriber

Tonya, can we get some PFS clarification on alternate Dhampir bloodlines? There was a developer post http://paizo.com/threads/rzs2qfqj?Can-Something-Be-Done-About-Variant-Dhamp ir#34 but a PFS confirmation on this would be helpful, especially with Dhampir being this quarter's GM boon.

Silver Crusade

1 person marked this as a favorite.

Those were updated in Inner Sea Races.

Pathfinder Campaign Setting: Inner Sea Races wrote:

To create an aasimar, android, catfolk, changeling, dhampir, fetchling, goblin, grippli, ifrit, oread, ratfolk, samsaran, skinwalker, suli, sylph, tiefling, undine, vanara, or vishkanya character, you must have a Chronicle sheet that opens the race as a legal option at character creation. Aasimars and tieflings that were created and had at least one XP applied before August 14, 2014, remain legal for play.

Note: Alternate racial traits, racial feats, and racial spells are only available for characters of the associated race or human ethnicity. Racial magic items can be purchased and used by any race.

All alternate racial traits, racial feats, racial spells, and race traits are legal for play with the following exceptions and clarifications.

Feats: The Death Roll, Eclipse Strike, and Kinslayer are not legal for play; the True Breed feat can only be taken at 1st level. Traits: Disciplined Body, Ratfolk Avenger, Weapon Training, and Weathered Patience are not legal for play; Obsessed with Success does not function for Day Job checks. Racial Traits: Elven Arrogance, Human Shadow, Innovative, Isolated, Lost Promise, Tribalistic, and Wright are not legal for play. Spells: Damnation of Memory and Probe History are not legal for play. Magic Items: The anvil of the skyseeker, armor of grisly triumph, Belkzen battle standard, binding contract, cloak of summer and winter, diadem of the interplanetary emissary, locket of true and false friends, and master's brand are not legal for play. Races: A dhamphir or skinwalker PC can use the following different statistics as alternate racial options supported by the Pathfinder Society Organized Play campaign rather than those options that appear in Blood of the Moon and Blood of the Night: jiang-shi born, vetala-born, wereboar-kin, and werecrocodile-kin. Pureblood Azlanti human is not a legal option in the organized play campaign. The racial heritages section from page 236–254 is a legal resource when qualifying to play a character of a different race, much as if the player owned a copy of the corresponding Bestiary or Advanced Race Guide.

4/5 *

Does that mean that Inner Sea Races replaces the earlier ones, or that either set can be used as desired? (Assuming proper AR ownership, etc.)

3/5 **

1 person marked this as a favorite.

Asked and unanswered as of yet. I think you can use either so long as you have the resource.

Silver Crusade

2 people marked this as a favorite.

Since it says "can use...rather than" I'd say you could use either provided you had the corresponding book.

Edit: Ninjaed :3

Liberty's Edge

1 person marked this as a favorite.

Seems to very clearly say that you can use either / treat them as alternate racial options.

Sczarni 5/5 5/55/5 ***

Indeed.

Dark Archive 4/5 *

Pathfinder Rulebook Subscriber

Thanks, I was looking in the ARG for some reason after reading that post and getting very confused when I was unable to find the rules you were referring to, so A+ for me in reading comprehension... Inner Sea Race Guide <> Advanced Race Guide...

Silver Crusade

1 person marked this as a favorite.
CigarPete wrote:
Thanks, I was looking in the ARG for some reason after reading that post and getting very confused when I was unable to find the rules you were referring to, so A+ for me in reading comprehension... Inner Sea Race Guide <> Advanced Race Guide...

Just to point out, and hopefully cut down on future confusion, it's Inner Sea Races, not Inner Sea Race Guide.

Silver Crusade 1/5

Uh, got another one.

Can I change the prepared spells of a pregen before the scenario even starts?

I'm looking at you, Miss I prepared goodberry because it's such a useful spell in almost every scenario...

Scarab Sages 5/5 5/55/55/5

5 people marked this as a favorite.
Blackbot wrote:

Uh, got another one.

Can I change the prepared spells of a pregen before the scenario even starts?

I'm looking at you, Miss I prepared goodberry because it's such a useful spell in almost every scenario...

Casts goodberry

Plops goodberry inside pig

Offers pig to monster

Monster has full meal for the day.

Party walks by.

(i believe the current rule is that you can only change prepped spells if you have a day of rest. She can always swap it out for a spontaneous summons though )

Sczarni 5/5 5/55/5 ***

Indeed. It's more "ask your GM" than "how does the Campaign handle this?"

I personally respect the Pregen's choices before they're bodysnatched by an extraplanar entity. After that, it's anything goes.

Shadow Lodge

Blackbot wrote:

Uh, got another one.

Can I change the prepared spells of a pregen before the scenario even starts?

I'm looking at you, Miss I prepared goodberry because it's such a useful spell in almost every scenario...

I've never understood how they managed to misspell "summon nature's ally I" like that...

Grand Lodge 2/5 *

Pathfinder Adventure Path Subscriber
SCPRedMage wrote:
Blackbot wrote:

Uh, got another one.

Can I change the prepared spells of a pregen before the scenario even starts?

I'm looking at you, Miss I prepared goodberry because it's such a useful spell in almost every scenario...

I've never understood how they managed to misspell "summon nature's ally I" like that...

'Cause no druid should prepare a spell that they can cast spontaneously?

Grand Lodge 4/5

2 people marked this as a favorite.
Blackbot wrote:
I'm looking at you, Miss I prepared goodberry because it's such a useful spell in almost every scenario...

You wait until the briefing is over, and then transmute some of the VC's berries if you are going to be traveling for more than a day, giving you 2d4 meals for the road and the ability to reprepare a new spell on the trip.

5/5 5/55/55/5

5 people marked this as a favorite.
Nefreet wrote:


I personally respect the Pregen's choices before they're bodysnatched by an extraplanar entity. After that, it's anything goes.

Merisiel: "Its happening again... i feel as if.. I'm not myself. As if some being greater than the gods themselves was taking control. I'm me, but i don't know how to be me..

Kyra: twitchtwitchtwitchtwitchtwitchtwitchtwitchtwitchtwitchtwitch

Harsk: "I git no idea wha you lot er talking about.

1/5

2 people marked this as a favorite.

These things happen.

5/5 5/55/5 ***

1 person marked this as a favorite.

How do you think I feel?

Grand Lodge 4/5 5/55/55/55/5 ***

1 person marked this as a favorite.
Pathfinder Adventure Path, Starfinder Adventure Path Subscriber

Can we get a campaign clarification about whether having "Drunkenness" in a deity's portfolio can allow clerics of that deity access to Ale/Wine Variant Channeling?

Sun Wukong from Dragon Empires Gazetteer is a CN Deity of drunkenness. He does not have Ale/Wine in his portfolio, but does have the word "Drunkenness." It seems silly that he cannot thus offer Ale/Wine variant channeling.

Hmm

1/5

For the record, Hmm, I cannot understand the mindset that would lead one to disallow that in the first place.

And when I say that, you can take it to the bank.

Grand Lodge 4/5 5/55/55/55/5 ***

Pathfinder Adventure Path, Starfinder Adventure Path Subscriber

Oh, I agree but we've run into some table variation and I'd like to have an official clarification if we can.

I have a player who's hoping for a campaign clarification that will allow him to continue variant booze channeling.

Hmm

4/5 ***

I sidestepped that issue by making a cleric of Dispater and using the rulership variant channeling instead.

Also left me with a very fun Dhampir Cleric to play.

Tavarius Desimire, cousin to a certain infamous Tancred.

1/5

6 people marked this as a favorite.
GM Tyrant Princess wrote:

For the record, Hmm, I cannot understand the mindset that would lead one to disallow that in the first place.

And when I say that, you can take it to the bank.

Disclaimer: The Tyrant Princess's opinions are her own (but also all of yours, and empirically correct) and do not represent the views of Paizo or its freelancers, except as those views interact with their desire to also be empirically correct.

Dissent is acceptable, and rewarded with a year-long vacation to a special resort. (This resort is in no way a Core-only all-rogue prison camp, and rumors of such camps are patently false, as are the various images, photographs, and firsthand accounts of such camps. All false.)

Grand Lodge 4/5 5/55/55/55/5 ***

2 people marked this as a favorite.
Pathfinder Adventure Path, Starfinder Adventure Path Subscriber

All hail GM Tyrant Princess. Long may she torment us mere mortals, until the mighty forces of Woldridge, Compton and Zayas-Palmer overthrow her self-imposed rule!

1/5

3 people marked this as a favorite.

tyranny escalates

avatar infringement de-escalates


1 person marked this as a favorite.

Why can't a Card Caster use Spell Combat with ranged weapons? And is this intended?

Scarab Sages

BigNorseWolf wrote:
Nefreet wrote:

Furthermore, he made a statement about the repercussions of a Familiar switching out Weapon Finesse. That should also be included with the above clarification (if it isn't already in the current document).

keep in mind that clarification is really.. really weird.

Weapon finesse is a completely redundant feat for most familiars. As familiars they attack with dexterity anyway.

familiars attack with the best of strength or dex with "natural attacks."

So this doesn't actually apply for familiars without natural attacks, like the Toad. Weapon Finesse, on the other hand, would apply to their Unarmed Strikes, when in turn could apply to their melee touch. As is, the Toad familiar is looking at a Negative 1 attack "bonus" at level 1 for melee touch attacks (-5 str mod, +4 size, 0 BAB on a starting wizard).

Not trying to debate, just pointing out the difference between Weapon Finesse and the innate familiar option regarding attacks.

I very much support being able to swap out feats from the familiar. Toads begin play with Skill Focus (Perception) which I would love to swap for weapon finesse. Would alter my melee touch from that -1 to a +5 (+1 dex, +4 size, 0 starting BAB).

4/5

1 person marked this as a favorite.

Campaign Clairifcation Request
Caster's Shield $3153 UltEquip.

There seems to be a quandry over how this item works, if at all.

old 2010 post saying scribing isn't legal, but then how do PC's buy scrolls???

additional resources wrote:
All specific magic shields on pages 130-133, except avalanche shield, belligerent shield, celestial shield, dragonslayer's shield, elysian shield, living steel heavy shield, tempest shield, volcanic shield, wyrmslayer's shield, and zombie skin shield are legal for play.

so a corner case

IMO in PFS a PC would just pay half cost for the scroll (keeping things in proportion).
If it doesn't work as advertised, please add it to the not legal for play list.

Shadow Lodge

1 person marked this as a favorite.
Stephen Ross wrote:
old 2010 post saying scribing isn't legal, but then how do PC's buy scrolls???

By paying full price. Saying that scribing scrolls being illegal for PCs means that scrolls can't be bought is like saying you can't buy magic weapons because Craft Magic Arms and Armor isn't available for PCs.

The issue is that the shield allows you to use it as a surface to scribe spells onto, but the players aren't allowed to scribe themselves, and there is no defined way to get someone else to scribe onto a specific surface. The rules define a price for buying a finished scroll, but they don't define anything about commissioning someone to scribe onto your shield.

To give another example, if you bought a scroll with five copies of barkskin on it, and you cast one of them, in theory that scroll would then have enough room on it for another copy of barkskin (since the writing disappears without the scroll being destroyed when used). But since the rules don't cover it, you couldn't pay to have someone add another copy of it to that specific scroll.

So the caster's shield is legal in PFS, but character lack the means to take advantage of it. I don't think it would be unreasonable for the campaign to make a ruling allowing scrolls to be added to it, but I would recommend having the scroll cost the full price, as that is what's called out in the price of the shield (despite the discount an material costs).

1/5 Venture-Agent, Utah—Provo

Schrodinger's fighter

The first question can you use barroom brawler or a Brawler class dip to flex into AWT?
Option 1) can't flex into AWT.
Option 2) yes but same choice per day.
Option 3) free flexing.

And if options 2 or 3 how does the skills option of AWT work when flexed into?
Option 1) permanent change of skills.
Option 2) revert skills back.
Option 3) revert, but choice is locked each time you access it per day.

5/5 5/55/55/5

Is a ratfolk tailblade something anyone with a tail can use or just ratfolk? the additional resources parses a little vague on this one.


Pathfinder LO Special Edition, Maps, Pathfinder Accessories, PF Special Edition Subscriber; Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber; Starfinder Superscriber

What is AWT?

People will make acronyms out of anything, and then expect their readers to know what they mean. :-(


Advanced weapon training


Pathfinder LO Special Edition, Maps, Pathfinder Accessories, PF Special Edition Subscriber; Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber; Starfinder Superscriber

Thanks, Talon

The Exchange 3/5

Since the dhampir boon is more common now:

How is the dhampir cleric favored class bonus "Add +1 to the caster level of any channeling feat used to affect undead" intended to function?

Currently it does nothing as written since channel is based on cleric level and not caster level.

Grand Lodge 4/5

Ragoz wrote:

How is the dhampir cleric favored class bonus "Add +1 to the caster level of any channeling feat used to affect undead" intended to function?

Currently it does nothing as written since channel is based on cleric level and not caster level.

As is the Will save to resist Command Undead or Turn Undead (and if you're a necromancer, it becomes wizard level, still not caster level).

Silver Crusade 4/5 Venture-Captain, Pennsylvania—Pittsburgh

1 person marked this as a favorite.

Blame Nefreet for this one. Sort of. Crossposting a list from "Rules Questions: What is Correct?"

Pathfinder (and especially PFS) Rulings and Clarifications
Other people have better, more complete lists, but this one is mine. It is an absolutely incomplete list of various rulings and clarifications made in either the forum or on the blog. I am sure some of these rulings have been superseded in some way, but if I knew which ones specifically were, I would have removed or updated them. Additions, recommendations, etc. welcome.

The List:

http://paizo.com/threads/rzs2nppq?Are-NPC-classes-legal-for-play#7
Author: Mike Brock
Ruling: NPC classes are not legal for play (in Pathfinder Society)

http://paizo.com/threads/rzs2tx2z?Does-Raise-Animal-Companion-inflict-negat ive#4
Author: Cheburn (not Paizo, but included here because it's something I never considered.)
Description: an observation that animal companions take Con drain after being raised, because they are effectively level 1. Reduces the total cost of a Raise. Note: the quoted text is from Ultimate Campaign, on page 147.

http://paizo.com/threads/rzs2opvz?Potion-of-Strong-Jaw#15
Author: Mike Brock
Ruling: Potions of Strong Jaw are legal for PFS play. (They are not normally, due to appearing at level 4 on the Druid list.)

http://paizo.com/products/btpy8w7p/discuss&page=8?Pathfinder-Player-Com panion-Animal-Archive#372
Author: Jason Nelson (Paizo contributor to Animal Archive)
Ruling: Cavalier mounts qualify for the Charger archetype even though they do not have the Share Spells ability. This "ruling" may or may not be reasonably read to extend to the other archetypes.

http://paizo.com/threads/rzs2t543?Retraining-CFEs-FAQ#17
Author: John Compton
Ruling: Tentative ruling that PFS players may utilize the retraining rules for character options to retrain options on companion animals. Not aware of a final version of this rule so I believe it is still in effect.

http://paizo.com/threads/rzs2t48p?Quick-Question-about-applying-GM-Credit-t o-a#18
Author: John Compton
Ruling: (Potentially nonbinding?) clarification for how to apply credit in a number of situations, particularly in situations where you want to assign credit to a character who is currently being played (for example, in a PbP). I am not aware of any final clarification or post on this subject.

http://paizo.com/threads/rzs2jsox&page=10?Pathfinder-Society-Rules-20-F AQ#458
Author: Josh Frost
Ruling: During character creation, you pick one particular regional affinity for purposes of qualifying for traits, feats, etc. You can't have more than one.

http://paizo.com/threads/rzs2phwj?FAQ-updated-for-Animals-Companions-and-ma gic#27
Author: Mike Brock
Ruling: Most of this has been subsumed into (or contradicted by) an FAQ but I believe this is still the only ruling stating that improved familiars have access to all of their item slots without needing a feat.

http://paizo.com/paizo/blog/v5748dyo5lhfm&page=3?Illuminating-Darkness
Author: Mark Seifter
Ruling: Just the Light and Darkness blog, which is totally unsearchable due to the name, and which I have never had a GM fully understand when it comes up. :)

http://paizo.com/threads/rzs2n978?Masterwork-Tools-for-all-skills#4
Author: Mike Brock
Ruling: PFS players are allowed to buy and use masterwork tools from the CRB but if we buy too many he might change his mind. As far as I know, he never did. Also, a throwaway reference to the UE tools "updating" the CRB tools, which as far as I know was never made official.

http://paizo.com/paizo/blog/v5748dyo5lghy?Year-of-the-Sky-Key
Author: John Compton
Ruling: Several still apply. I mostly use this as the only definitive ruling saying that Investigators may craft alchemical items in PFS, but it also was the only official clarification for the Ring of Eloquence. Not sure if it still is or not.

http://paizo.com/threads/rzs2om2i?First-Level-Retraining-Question#50
Author: Mike Brock
Ruling: You may apply race boons to characters with 3 XP or less. Typically understood to be a slightly broader ruling indicating that a "new" character counts as one with 3 XP or less for purposes of several other types of boons as well, due to the rebuild.

http://paizo.com/threads/rzs2l5b9?Mounts-with-attacks-and-the-RideByAttack- Feat#33
Author: Sean K. Reynolds
Ruling: You may charge obliquely (i.e. not directly at the target). Ruling gets muddied on page 2 of the thread.

Silver Crusade 2/5

Terminalmancer wrote:


** spoiler omitted **...

ruling on biped (hands) slots is higher in the thread:

bipeds (hands) use all slots

Sovereign Court 4/5 5/5 ** Venture-Lieutenant, Netherlands—Leiden

Apparently this "fell out" of the Guide at some point:

Mr.Nightray wrote:

Lau, Thank you for your response, FYI i agree with that ruling i was only playing devil's advocate. I dont suppose theres a ruling anywhere for addressing % issues in PFS? I was attempting to answer the question without any room for doubt.

Kerwin, There is noting in Seeker of secrets, the additional resources or the FAQ that i could find that suggest that.

Here is a post from then Campaign Coordinator Joshua Frost stating that we don't use the variable method for determining resonant abilities. According to earlier posts in that thread he had made a previous declaration that all normal ioun stones have resonant powers. Give me a chance to look it up.

edit:
Here it is.
It was in the Guide to Organized Play back then. Hopefully, it is one of the fixes for version 8.1 of the Roleplaying Guild Guide.


The Gnomish Switchscythe is missing from the chart on page 22 of Gnomes of Golarion. How much does it cost, and what are it's stats?

-j

Sczarni 5/5 5/55/5 ***

^ LINK to the most recent discussion.

Grand Lodge 4/5

How does a player of a bladebound magus determine his black blade's purpose?

Community & Digital Content Director

3 people marked this as a favorite.

Campaign Clarifications has just been updated.

1/5 Venture-Agent, Utah—Provo

I have a question about the ancestor Eidolon.

"Instead of gaining a +4 bonus to a specific ability score at 4th level, an ancestor eidolon gain the ability increase evolution for that ability score at 4th level."

But it doesn't get an ability score increase.

"It gains the abilities noted under the template’s quick rules as if it were a creature with 1 Hit Die. "

"+2 on all rolls based on Str;"

So what are we doing here?

1/5

Per the entry for the Villain Codex, "the Balor Whip feat grants the ability to perform drag combat manuevers with a whip."

However, whips have the trip special feature. According to a previous blog post, that means they can already be used to perform drag combat maneuvers. Was this an oversight, or was it an intentional change to the previous blog?

101 to 150 of 516 << first < prev | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | next > last >>
Community / Forums / Organized Play / Pathfinder Society / Compilation of Campaign Clarification requests All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.