Grit and Luck and Inspiration (oh my!)


Rules Questions

Shadow Lodge

So I'm considering making a Steel Hound Sleuth Investigator, and I'm curious how the various abilities interact.

A Steel Hound gets the Amateur Gunslinger feat for free at 2nd level, which gives him 1 grit point. A Sleuth gets a luck pool at level 1, and any feat, magic item, or spell that grants grit or panache can also grant the Sleuth an equal number of luck points.

So, at level 2, the Investigator gains +1 luck point when that grit point is gained, right? Does this raise the maximum number of luck points to Wis+Cha?

Extra Grit pretty clearly grants +2 grit and +2 luck (and +2 max grit and luck).

Then there's this bit under Swashbuckler:

PRD wrote:

Grit and Panache: The gunslinger's grit and the swashbuckler's panache represent two paths to gain access to the same heroic pool. Characters with both grit and panache class features combine the two resources into a larger pool of both grit points and panache points.

For the purposes of feat prerequisites, a character with the panache class feature satisfies the prerequisites as if she were a grit user, and vice versa. Swashbuckler levels stack with gunslinger levels for the purpose of satisfying Signature Deed's level requirement. For feats, magic items, and other effects, a panache user can spend and gain panache points in place of grit points, and vice versa.

However, this isn't present in the Sleuth description, so grit and luck are not considered the same larger pool, correct?

Grand Lodge

InVinoVeritas wrote:

So I'm considering making a Steel Hound Sleuth Investigator, and I'm curious how the various abilities interact.

A Steel Hound gets the Amateur Gunslinger feat for free at 2nd level, which gives him 1 grit point. A Sleuth gets a luck pool at level 1, and any feat, magic item, or spell that grants grit or panache can also grant the Sleuth an equal number of luck points.

So, at level 2, the Investigator gains +1 luck point when that grit point is gained, right? Does this raise the maximum number of luck points to Wis+Cha?

Extra Grit pretty clearly grants +2 grit and +2 luck (and +2 max grit and luck).

Then there's this bit under Swashbuckler:

PRD wrote:

Grit and Panache: The gunslinger's grit and the swashbuckler's panache represent two paths to gain access to the same heroic pool. Characters with both grit and panache class features combine the two resources into a larger pool of both grit points and panache points.

For the purposes of feat prerequisites, a character with the panache class feature satisfies the prerequisites as if she were a grit user, and vice versa. Swashbuckler levels stack with gunslinger levels for the purpose of satisfying Signature Deed's level requirement. For feats, magic items, and other effects, a panache user can spend and gain panache points in place of grit points, and vice versa.

However, this isn't present in the Sleuth description, so grit and luck are not considered the same larger pool, correct?

yes they are. there is an additional sidebar later that does say luck (in the sleuth arghtype)

they left it out of the Swashbuckler Archtype's Sidebar for some reason


Pathfinder Companion Subscriber

It seems that the pools are meant to be merged and shared, and NOT double-dipped. Which means...

Sleuth Archetype wrote:
though feats, magic items, and spells that grant either grit or panache points can also grant a sleuth luck points equal to the amount of grit or panache they grant.

...is somewhat misleading, unintentionally leaving vague whether you are gaining the luck points in addition to or instead of the grit or panache points. Instead, rely on the sidebar from the same book, which says:

Advanced Class Guide wrote:
For feats, magic items, and other effects, a panache user can spend and gain luck points in place of grit or panache points, and vice versa.

If an effect is giving you 1 grit point, such as defeating somebody with a firearm, you can instead gain 1 luck point instead.

InVinoVeritas wrote:
So, at level 2, the Investigator gains +1 luck point when that grit point is gained, right? Does this raise the maximum number of luck points to Wis+Cha?

This is correct. Your maximum Grit+Luck pool will be based on the sum of your Wisdom and Charisma modifiers. and you start each day with an amount of Grit/Luck equal to your Charisma modifier, plus one more for Amateur Gunslinger.

InVinoVeritas wrote:
Extra Grit pretty clearly grants +2 grit and +2 luck (and +2 max grit and luck).

Incorrect, based on the misleading premise earlier. You get +2 maximum grit, and +2 to the amount of grit you start with each day. It doesn't double-dip, though you can spend this grit interchangeably with luck as normal.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Grit and Luck and Inspiration (oh my!) All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.