'true resurrection' as SLA


Rules Questions


So, "Expanded Portfolio" in the Exalted prestige class grants the spells of a domain as a SLA each useable 1/day (provided you are of sufficient level to cast them). So, if one takes the Healing [Resurrection] domain, then you can (assuming you are casting level 9/13/17) pop off a Raise Dead/Resurrection/True Resurrection 1/day each, with no material component.

Is that correct?


Quote:

Expanded Portfolio (Su)

At 5th level, the exalted further increases her already impressive knowledge of her chosen deity's faith and is rewarded with increased powers in one of the spheres over which her deity holds sway. The exalted chooses a domain of her chosen deity to which she gains access, using her exalted level as her effective cleric level.

The exalted can also can use each of the chosen domain's spells once per day as a spell-like ability, with a caster level equal to her exalted level. The exalted can use each spell-like ability only if she is able to cast divine spells of that level. If the exalted has any domain spell slots, she is also able to cast the chosen domain's spells in those slots as normal.

The prestige class has only 10 levels, wouldnt this limit your spells from 1st to 5th circle (1, 3, 5, 7 and 9)?


shadowkras wrote:
Quote:

Expanded Portfolio (Su)

At 5th level, the exalted further increases her already impressive knowledge of her chosen deity's faith and is rewarded with increased powers in one of the spheres over which her deity holds sway. The exalted chooses a domain of her chosen deity to which she gains access, using her exalted level as her effective cleric level.

The exalted can also can use each of the chosen domain's spells once per day as a spell-like ability, with a caster level equal to her exalted level. The exalted can use each spell-like ability only if she is able to cast divine spells of that level. If the exalted has any domain spell slots, she is also able to cast the chosen domain's spells in those slots as normal.

The prestige class has only 10 levels, wouldnt this limit your spells from 1st to 5th circle (1, 3, 5, 7 and 9)?

Nah; the caster level is based on your Exalted level (so, the limitation of ten years per caster level for true resurrection would use your exalted level), BUT whether or not you can use the SLA is based on whether you are able to "cast divine spells of that level".

The part you bolded, I think, pretty clearly refers to the powers granted by the domain itself.


From what i understand, effective caster level and effective class level are two complete different things. When prestige classes increase your previous class spellcasting ability, it is referenced as increasing your level to count towards that class.

Effective Caster level on the other hand is to calculate how powerful your spells are. For example, if you are a wizard 5/fighter 2, you should cast fireballs at caster level 5, but if you have a trait or feat that increases your caster level by 2 points, you would be able to cast fireballs at caster level 7 (wizard 5, plus 2). Usually those feats are also limited to your total character level (sum of all classes).

In the case of Expanded Portfolio, it didnt say effective caster level or even effective class level, it said exalted level, which means the total levels you took on the exalted class.

But feel free to correct me if im wrong. :)


The important line is "The exalted can use each spell-like ability only if she is able to cast divine spells of that level."

If you can cast 9th level divine spells regularly, then you can cast true resurrection as a SLA once per day. As exalted continues full spell casting progression of a divine spell casting class this should be no problem, assuming you're a 7th level cleric/10th level exalted.

The answer is yes. Of course it takes you a while to reach this lofty benefit and you had to choose one of the weaker domains, generally speaking.


Shadowkras, you have a big misunderstanding.

Exalted level only determines the effective caster level for the SLA.

The line which determines can you cast this as a SLA is "The exalted can use each spell-like ability only if she is able to cast divine spells of that level."


@Claxon
So you count all all cleric levels as exalted levels for the purpose of the class abilities?

Ex: Cleric 5/Exalted 3 = Exalted 8?

I know Evangelist has something similar due to Aligned Class feature, but it's the opposite:

Quote:

Aligned Class (Ex)

Evangelists come from many different backgrounds, and they show an unusual range of diversity. At 2nd level, the evangelist must choose a class she belonged to before adding the prestige class to be her aligned class. She gains all the class features for this class, essentially adding every evangelist level beyond 1st to her aligned class to determine what class features she gains. She still retains the Hit Dice, base attack bonus, saving throw bonuses, and skill ranks of the prestige class, but gains all other class features of her aligned class as well as those of the evangelist prestige class.


I get it now, that class feature surely could use another phrase or two to better clarify how it works.


Wow, this would remove my PC's fear of death...


Wouldnt the "powerful request" still require 25.000 gp as that is not part of the spell's components?


Pathfinder Adventure Path, Lost Omens, Rulebook, Starfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber
shadowkras wrote:

@Claxon

So you count all all cleric levels as exalted levels for the purpose of the class abilities?

Ex: Cleric 5/Exalted 3 = Exalted 8?

No, what he's saying is that a Cleric 5/Exalted 3 is capable of casting 4th level spells, since each level of Exalted increases the cleric spell casting progression, so casts cleric spells as an 8th level cleric.

As such, the Exalted can also use the domain spells of the selected domain 1/day as SLAs, up to the (in this example) 4th level one, but these SLAs use caster level 3 for determining level-dependent variables.

So, a cleric 7/Exalted 10 casts spells as a 17th level cleric, and has 1/day SLAs of all 9 domain spells, but these SLAs are at caster level 10. This does not limit the ability to use those SLAs, but does mean they have lower level-dependent variables.


The key bit IMO is the fact that you can use the expanded domain spells in your regular domain slots as normal.... so the spells can be cast as full level but not as SLA

The SLA bit isnt too bad if the spells in question arent offensive, DC based type ones that really do need a higher caster level as poss to be effective.


I'm noticing thare are crazy implications like taking the Artifice Domain and thus have Fabricate as a spell without material components


Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber

Fabricate's target is the components which you reshape into the desired shape and form. So if there are no components, nothing can be fabricated.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / 'true resurrection' as SLA All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.