Free rerolls in PFS


Pathfinder Society


Pathfinder Maps, Pawns Subscriber; Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber; Starfinder Charter Superscriber

I heard that there are meta things you can do to get free rerolls in PFS.

What all can I do to get that? Is there anything that I could do TODAY? (I have a game in an hour and I'm anticipating some make-or-break rolls.)

RPG Superstar Season 9 Top 32, RPG Superstar 2014 Top 16, RPG Superstar 2013 Top 16

The official Character Folio is worth a re-roll, and can often be bought at brick-and-mortar stores.

The other things like t-shirts I think can only be bought through Paizo.


Pathfinder Maps, Pawns Subscriber; Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber; Starfinder Charter Superscriber

Do they stack? If I have a t-shirt and a character folio do I get two rolls?

Is it a one-time thing, or is it once per game?

Grand Lodge 5/5 Regional Venture-Coordinator, Eastern Eurasia-Africa

Once per game, only 1 reroll allowed.

RPG Superstar Season 9 Top 32, RPG Superstar 2014 Top 16, RPG Superstar 2013 Top 16

Once-per-session, regardless of how many items you have.

However, in a lot of areas it's common practice for other players (or even the GM) to hand out their rerolls to other players, especially if they don't have an item of their own.


But my friends oracle rerolls like 8 times a game....

5/5 Venture-Agent, Texas—Dallas & Ft. Worth aka Azothath

in a bow to commerce I have seen VC's sanction a brick & mortar store spending minimum for the hosting store for that session (PFS IS store friendly). Again only one reroll per session with receipt. A VO(VC, VL, VA) needs to be present to make that work. It is not ubiquitous and online that cannot occur.

Sczarni 5/5 ⦵⦵

Starfinder Charter Superscriber
Ravingdork wrote:
I heard that there are meta things you can do to get free rerolls in PFS.

You "read", right? In the Guide to Organized Play? ;-)

Grand Lodge 5/5 Venture-Agent, New York—Manhattan aka Natertot

Finlanderboy wrote:
But my friends oracle rerolls like 8 times a game....

Borrow Fortune can be a great spell choice for an Oracle....

Scarab Sages

RainyDayNinja wrote:

The official Character Folio is worth a re-roll, and can often be bought at brick-and-mortar stores.

The other things like t-shirts I think can only be bought through Paizo.

With the shirts, do you have to have the entire shirt, or can you graft the logo/image onto another shirt?

Like for if you like the image, but not the color of the shirt.

5/5

It's the whole shirt.

2/5

Also remember that only certain shirts allow re-rolls. I once saw someone try to use a t-shirt his old lodge had made.

One shirt rule I've often seen waved is that the shirt needs to be worn during the session to qualify for a re-roll.

You can also get a re-roll for using a Pathfinder messenger bag.

Liberty's Edge

I highly recommend the Character Folio if you want it solely for the Reroll. I haven't even opened mine. It is easy to transport, cheap to replace, and you don't have to wear it. I had a friend who bought an official shirt years ago and no longer fit in it. He brought it along as proof for a Reroll and our GM graciously waived the "wear it" rule. But that is up to the GM I'm sure.

If you are playing with someone who doesn't already know that you have a folio, I highly suggest having it ready before the session starts. You don't want to call for a Reroll, then have to hunt for it during the game to show proof. In addition, you should write down somewhere once you've used it for a particular session. Your GM will appreciate it too, so they don't have to commit to memory who has or has not used their Reroll for the game.

4/5

Pathfinder Starfinder Adventure Path Subscriber

I have seen only a few folios outside their original plastic. They're a great investment for a reroll.

Grand Lodge 4/5 Venture-Captain, California—Sacramento aka FLite

I have mine open. It is often faster to look up weird skill dcs and conditions in it than on my phone or book.

Scarab Sages

GM Lamplighter wrote:
It's the whole shirt.

Can I add to/modify it? As long as I still have the whole PFS shirt....

Silver Crusade

1 person marked this as a favorite.
Murdock Mudeater wrote:
GM Lamplighter wrote:
It's the whole shirt.
Can I add to/modify it? As long as I still have the whole PFS shirt....

All you need are the image and the tag.

Dark Archive 5/5

Serisan wrote:
I have seen only a few folios outside their original plastic.

I have the folio with the older artwork, that I used for my -2. She's now 16th level, and the folio is falling apart, but I keep it in my pathfinder messenger bag to have on hand for games. :)

Grand Lodge 4/5 Venture-Captain, California—Sacramento aka FLite

We have a player who laminated his folio and did the character with wet erase, so that when he retires the character, he can erase it and put a new character in it.

Grand Lodge

Hmmm regarding the link above about altered shirts... would be cool to use the shirt (and tag) as the cover of a 3 ring binder ...

Shadow Lodge 4/5

I'd love to have a reroll but dang it those shirts are nerdy.

I mean, ugh. :D

Are there patches or badges or something else less overt?

Sovereign Court 5/5 Venture-Captain, Florida—Jacksonville aka Corax "the honest thief"

1 person marked this as a favorite.

If your area has a local lodge shirt then you can have a reroll. In Florida we have a Florida PFS Lodge Shirt. Counts as a Reroll. So for that friend who had a local shirt, if his lodge allowed it then yes it counted FOR that area and may count beyond that if they have the Coordinators Permission.

At our game days we allow one re-roll if you make a purchase over $5.00. Must have a receipt. Its a local thing we do to promote goodwill with the shops we run at since they do not charge us for the table. In some areas they do. Down here in Jax we are lucky they do not.

In the PFS Guide their is a list of what gives a reroll.


1 person marked this as a favorite.
Muser wrote:

I'd love to have a reroll but dang it those shirts are nerdy.

I mean, ugh. :D

Are there patches or badges or something else less overt?

A player in my area has the Glyph of the Open Road tattooed on his forearm. I feel that merits a reroll.

Sczarni 5/5 ⦵⦵

1 person marked this as a favorite.
Starfinder Charter Superscriber

Same for our area. I believe it's the Paizo Goblin holding a d20.

Sovereign Court 5/5 Venture-Captain, Florida—Jacksonville aka Corax "the honest thief"

As a way of rewarding players who show their support
for the Pathfinder Society Organized Play campaign
by purchasing and wearing special shirts featuring
campaign insignia, faction logos, or Pathfinder
branding, a player wearing any of the shirts listed below
during a Pathfinder Society event may reroll one d20
roll during the course of that scenario.

This reroll must happen before the original result is determined and
the player must use the reroll result, even if it is lower.

Game Masters are also invited to wear Pathfinder Society
Organized Play shirts, but gain no additional benefits
other than supporting Pathfinder.

The following Pathfinder Society Organized Play shirts
are currently available:

• Andoran faction shirt
• Cheliax faction shirt
• Osirion faction shirt
• Qadira faction shirt
• Taldor faction shirt
• Venture-Captain polo
• Venture-Lieutenant polo
• Year of the Ruby Phoenix
• Year of the Risen Rune shirt
• Year of the Demon shirt
• Year of the Sky Key shirt
• Year of the Serpent shirt
• Iconic character shirts (Seoni, Harsk, Valeros, & Kyra)
• Paizo golem shirt
• Pathfinder goblin with d20 shirt
• Pathfinder goblin song shirts (both color and
black and white)
• Pathfinder goblin with red gem shirt
• Burnt Offerings Goblin shirt.
• Gray Maiden shirt
• Pathfinder Society-exclusive volunteer shirt
• Goblinworks Kickstarter shirt
• Pathfinder RPG Core Rulebook shirt
• Dogslicer Ale shirt
• Ghost Goblin Ale shirt
• Messenger Bag (Beginner Box, Burnt Offerings, Core
Rulebook, Rise of the Runelords, Ultimate Campaign,
or Year of the Demon)

If a player is using a physical copy (not a PDF, printout,
or photocopy) of the Pathfinder RPG Player Character Folio,
he receives a free reroll. No player may receive more than
one free reroll per session.
Additionally, when a player uses a free reroll, she may
present her Pathfinder Society membership card and
receive an additional +1 for every GM star she has earned,
for a maximum of a +5.

Finally, if a player receives a Campaign Service Award
coin for going above and beyond when giving back to
Pathfinder Society, she receives a free reroll once per
scenario upon displaying the coin. She may also change
her Pathfinder Society number to the three-digit
number found on the coin.

Grand Lodge 4/5 Venture-Captain, California—Sacramento aka FLite

Muser wrote:

I'd love to have a reroll but dang it those shirts are nerdy.

I mean, ugh. :D

Are there patches or badges or something else less overt?

The character folio is probably the least obtrusive option. And gets you a cheat sheet of skill DCs and condition modifiers.

Scarab Sages 5/5 Venture-Agent, United Kingdom—England—Thames Valley aka chris manning

4 people marked this as a favorite.

and the folio lasts fresh as a daisy for the whole of a 5 day con, unlike a single T-shirt

Grand Lodge

Pathfinder Starfinder Adventure Path, Starfinder Society Subscriber

There is still a mistake in the iconic character t-shirts.
Kyra has no t-shirt, but Merisiel does.

Sovereign Court 4/5 Venture-Lieutenant, Netherlands—Leiden aka Ascalaphus

James Apostolou wrote:
At our game days we allow one re-roll if you make a purchase over $5.00. Must have a receipt. Its a local thing we do to promote goodwill with the shops we run at since they do not charge us for the table. In some areas they do. Down here in Jax we are lucky they do not.

I'm intrigued by this idea, but not sure it's allowed.

Grand Lodge

The Campaign Service Coin also provides a reroll, per Mike Brock, but still isn't on that list for some reason.

Grand Lodge 5/5 Regional Venture-Coordinator, Eastern Eurasia-Africa

godsDMit wrote:
The Campaign Service Coin also provides a reroll, per Mike Brock, but still isn't on that list for some reason.

It is mentioned in the text after the list though...

Last bit wrote:
Finally, if a player receives a Campaign Service Award coin for going above and beyond when giving back to Pathfinder Society, she receives a free reroll once per scenario upon displaying the coin. She may also change her Pathfinder Society number to the three-digit number found on the coin.

Dark Archive 3/5

What's surprising to me is how many folks assume you have to wear the shirt. I've seen plenty still shrunk wrapped or otherwise packed for easy travel/display.

Liberty's Edge 5/5 Venture-Agent, United Kingdom—England—Chester aka Paz

bdk86 wrote:
What's surprising to me is how many folks assume you have to wear the shirt.

That's what the rules say; see James Apostolou's post above that quotes the Guide.

Grand Lodge

Auke Teeninga wrote:
godsDMit wrote:
The Campaign Service Coin also provides a reroll, per Mike Brock, but still isn't on that list for some reason.

It is mentioned in the text after the list though...

Last bit wrote:
Finally, if a player receives a Campaign Service Award coin for going above and beyond when giving back to Pathfinder Society, she receives a free reroll once per scenario upon displaying the coin. She may also change her Pathfinder Society number to the three-digit number found on the coin.

That's what I get for not reading the text. :P

Matt Lewis wrote:
bdk86 wrote:
What's surprising to me is how many folks assume you have to wear the shirt.
That's what the rules say; see James Apostolou's post above that quotes the Guide.

+1

You want the reroll? Wear the shirt.

4/5 Venture-Lieutenant, Tennessee—Memphis aka Mulgar

And doesn't the folio actually have to be filled out to be a reroll?

Liberty's Edge 5/5 Venture-Agent, United Kingdom—England—Chester aka Paz

Mulgar wrote:
And doesn't the folio actually have to be filled out to be a reroll?

No, you just have to have it on the table in front of you.

The Exchange 5/5

Matt Lewis wrote:
bdk86 wrote:
What's surprising to me is how many folks assume you have to wear the shirt.
That's what the rules say; see James Apostolou's post above that quotes the Guide.

It all boils down to what the judge at the table wants.

If he requires you to have the Folio filled out with the PC you are playing (I have encountered this once) - well, he's the judge isn't he?

If he requires you to wear the shirt "normal mode", for the entire time you are at the table, - well, he's the judge isn't he?

It would be best if you checked before the game started, in as respectful a way as possible, to see what the judge requires, and do it his way. Whatever he says. He's the authority at his table. That way, if you can't do it his way, you know at the start and can adapt as needed (skipping your re-rolls or just excuse yourself from the table before the game starts if you need to, or whatever else works).

The only real problem here that I can see would be if you think it works one way and it doesn't... which is what YMMV is all about. and why I said "It would be best if you checked before the game started, in as respectful a way as possible, to see what the judge requires, and do it his way."

If I think he is not doing it according to "the rules"... well, I am not the type of person to argue with the judge at the table.

It wastes my time, his time, and worst of all, 3 to 5 other peoples time for me to try to do so... If the judge tells me that I can't do XXX I might discuss it with him after the game, when we have the time.

Here on the boards? SURE! that's what they are for.

So, to me, in my opinion as a judge, if you come up and say...

* "I've got a folio - so I can get a re-roll, right?"
or
* You have a shirt that I recognize as valid (or someone else says is valid or heck, that you even ACT like it is valid), even if you pull it out of a bag and it's still in the little triangle shrink wrap,
or
* some other weird thing... ("...these little scraps of cloth are all that remain from the shirt the para-medics cut off of me last year...")

I'll give you a re-roll. At my table.

(Heck, it's better then the guy who rolls a dice I can't read if my life depended on it, and picks it up and counts to himself for 10 seconds before announcing a number - "I rolled a nat 20").

Grand Lodge

nosig wrote:

It all boils down to what the judge at the table wants.

But that's not what is being asked here, really. The rules state you MUST wear the shirt and that the folio DOESNT have to be filled out with the character info. The GMing insisting otherwise is wrong. They are no more within their right to impose different requirements on a player for that then they are to determine that they don't like the PF version of Power Attack or Dodge and will force everyone at their table to use the 3.5 version of the feat instead. Whether they like it or not, it's the rule.

5/5

1 person marked this as a favorite.

the folio also works if you have to play at a nudist colony... though you *could* just put the shirt on your head and claim that you're wearing it but then you'll have other problems... YMMV

Grand Lodge 4/5

Mulgar wrote:
And doesn't the folio actually have to be filled out to be a reroll?

You must be using it. We can reasonably add ".. for something like its intended purpose in the current game". I agree with earlier threads that putting your character sheet inside it should qualify.

Grand Lodge 5/5 Regional Venture-Coordinator, Great Lakes aka TwilightKnight

1 person marked this as a favorite.

While the rules are fairly specific on what qualifies as a re-roll, those are only the things that the GM is required to allow. Technically, a GM would be violating the rules if they denied a re-roll for any of the listed items. However, there is nothing to say they cannot grant re-rolls for additional items. They are after all the GM. I have seen GMs grant the players a reroll if they [GM] was wearing a qualifying shirt. Some even let the players force the GM to reroll. I've seen conventions grant a re-roll if the players bought the convention specific shirt. PFS is afterall a marketing tool, so why shouldn't a convention hosting PFS get in on the loot? Some GMs don't care and just grant everyone a re-roll. I think this is another example of what must be allowed vs. what can be allowed.

Grand Lodge 5/5 Regional Venture-Coordinator, Great Lakes aka TwilightKnight

1 person marked this as a favorite.
Unbegreiflich wrote:
you *could* just put the shirt on your head and claim that you're wearing it but then you'll have other problems... YMMV

As you said, YMMV. In general, "wearing" a shirt on your head is clearly not the intended purpose of a shirt and certainly not what Paizo had in mind when the rule was written. Remember, the point of PFS is a marketing platform and wearing a Paizo-sanctioned shirt advertises both the company and the products. For being a human billboard, you are being "paid" with an ingame re-roll. It is within the rights of the GM to require you to wear the shirt (properly) to get the reroll. While I do not require it personally, it really aggravates me when a player complains (typically creating a scene) because the GM required them to actually wear the shirt to get the bonus. The rules are what they are and if you don't like them, fine, but please don't get s~$%ty with someone because they chose to enforce the rules.

Scarab Sages 5/5 Venture-Captain, Netherlands aka Woran

Sadly you cant easily share pictures on the boards.
I still have a picture on my phone when I wore my PFS shirt ninja style on my head.

Liberty's Edge 3/5 Venture-Captain, Nebraska—Omaha

I was given my folio my first game from another player. I will do the same in the future to another new player.

Now my son is playing so I let him use my folio. So I purchased a shirt from my game store, not Paizo, so I can have a re-roll when he is playing.

Silver Crusade

Starglim wrote:
Mulgar wrote:
And doesn't the folio actually have to be filled out to be a reroll?
You must be using it. We can reasonably add ".. for something like its intended purpose in the current game". I agree with earlier threads that putting your character sheet inside it should qualify.

Actually, Mike Brock ruled on that one a while ago, and said that using the folio as a coaster or table decoration is just as good as using it as a character sheet, when it comes to getting a reroll. I'm pretty sure he even said that you could leave it in the shrink wrap if you want. But he also made it clear that you have to have an original hard copy, not just buy the pdf and print it.

5/5 ⦵⦵⦵

You don't want to see me or my souvenir from africa trying to squeeze into a shirt.

Community / Forums / Organized Play / Pathfinder Society / Free rerolls in PFS All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.