Warpriest question


Pathfinder First Edition General Discussion


Pathfinder Companion Subscriber

Hello

I want to make a Warpriest using a Fauchard, but I can't take Exotic Weapon Proficiency until I have BAB +1.

Can I take Focus Weapon with a weapon I don't have proficiency with? It does state that I can choose any weapon, but what will happen if I choose one that I don't have proficiency with? Will I also get proficiency? Only get a -3 for using it?

"Focus Weapon: At 1st level, a warpriest receives Weapon Focus as a bonus feat (he can choose any weapon, rather than only his deity's favored weapon)."

Sovereign Court

Pathfinder Adventure Path, Companion Subscriber

You get to ignore all prerequisites, which includes both BAB and proficiency. You don't get proficiency, though... So -3 for now, until you have proficiency.


Pathfinder Companion Subscriber

Great! Thanks for the answer. That was what I figured.
Next question:

If I take Critical Versatility as a bonus feat at level 12. Can I choose from critial as if I had BAB to level and fighter levels?

"Critical Versatility (Combat, Human)
An open mind and combat training grant versatility to your critical hits.

Prerequisites: Fighter level 11th, human.

Benefit: Once per day, you can spend 1 hour practicing maneuvers to gain one single critical feat that you meet the prerequisites for. You gain the benefits of the chosen critical feat until you choose to practice a different critical feat."


Hubbaman wrote:

Great! Thanks for the answer. That was what I figured.

Next question:

If I take Critical Versatility as a bonus feat at level 12. Can I choose from critial as if I had BAB to level and fighter levels?

"Critical Versatility (Combat, Human)
An open mind and combat training grant versatility to your critical hits.

Prerequisites: Fighter level 11th, human.

Benefit: Once per day, you can spend 1 hour practicing maneuvers to gain one single critical feat that you meet the prerequisites for. You gain the benefits of the chosen critical feat until you choose to practice a different critical feat."

That is what the ability says to do, so yet.

Sovereign Court RPG Superstar 2011 Top 32

Chess Pwn, I disagree. The warpriest ability would certainly let you take Critical Versatility as a level 12 warpreist, but he only gets to count as a fighter with full BAB for purposes of qualifying for the feat, not for its effects. So he has to meet the full prereqs as stated in Critical Versatility - he doesn't get to count as a fighter for effect of his feat.

Honestly, Hubbaman, you're better off just taking the critical feats you want as bonus feats. Critical Versatility sounds really nice, but IME when I had it I ended up just taking the same critical feat over and over anyway.


You are correct, I was mistaken.


Pathfinder Companion Subscriber

Well, to me, the only reason to take Critical Versatility is so I can change it into a higher level crit later on. Meaning, taking Staggering and Versatility early, then take blinding and upgrade to stunning at a later point.

Both will take 3 critical feats, but Versatility makes it possible to have two earlier on.

That said, I understand that the combat feat you get from the Warpriest is only for qualifying for a specific feat, not for how it works later on. But, for this specific feat, what you change is based on the prerequisite (kind of).

When I first take this feat, It will be tuned to some critical feat I can take with the Warpriest special feat bonus thing. So I might as well take it and use it for a feat. If the campaign drags on, I might be able to change it later on :P

It is not that far fetched that the feat can be changed by the same rules it was taken either, just saying. This feels like a special case, but might be something old and discarded for all I know...


The feat looks at your current stats to see which critical feats you can qualify for, it's not going to find any fighter levels or Full BAB.


Pathfinder Companion Subscriber

Yes, that is the RAW.
For me, this is always about RAI, so that's way I ask :)

It is not clear cut for me that a feat, that you don't really qualify for in the first place (since you are not fighter), only works partway since you used you special power to get it.


well, you have two people saying how they believe it works. Good luck with your search though.


Pathfinder Companion Subscriber

Not really searching for anything dear sir. Just curios.
The campaign I will use a Warpriest for will not go past level 15, so Versatility is not really coming into play.

But happy to see that you agree with ryric, makes things easier.

Grand Lodge

Hubbaman wrote:

Yes, that is the RAW.

For me, this is always about RAI, so that's way I ask :)

It is not clear cut for me that a feat, that you don't really qualify for in the first place (since you are not fighter), only works partway since you used you special power to get it.

The RAI is that you can use your bonus feats to select feats you wouldn't otherwise qualify. It's not going to cover this extremely specific situation that really has nothing to do with how the bonus feats are obtained.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / General Discussion / Warpriest question All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.