Medium Archmage Spirit Spellcasting


Rules Questions


I have a question regarding the Archmage spirit.

When they are channeling the spirit, they use the Mesermist for the # of spells they cast....but are they still stuck with their awful Base Medium spells known +1 wizard spell known per spell level?

So a 1st to 3rd Medium would only be able to cast the 1 wizard spell they get from the Spirit plus their usual Medium knacks?


you're reading it right

Sczarni

That, AND you'd have arcane spell failure chance on your spells, so no medium armor there!


Wow I really want to love the Medium but I am so disappointed how the final version turned out.

Many of their class features specifically the ones dealing with Haunts will never get used.


Askanipsion wrote:

Wow I really want to love the Medium but I am so disappointed how the final version turned out.

Many of their class features specifically the ones dealing with Haunts will never get used.

The spellcasting is not that bad as the medium get a lot of spells at a discounted level (haste as 2nd level spell instead of 3rd for example) that while doesn't ensure early access, it allows you to get a better mileage from spell slots while using the mesmerist's table.

Grand Lodge

Pathfinder Adventure Path, Starfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber
Askanipsion wrote:

Wow I really want to love the Medium but I am so disappointed how the final version turned out.

Many of their class features specifically the ones dealing with Haunts will never get used.

Just because YOU may not use them, does not mean someone else won't.


Thank you for your assistance EntryHazard and Carla the Profane!


I actually had a question in regard to spells per day from the mesmerist list. Do you get the bonus spells per day from your CHA or is it flat? I'm using Hero Lab and its giving me an exrat level 1 spell at level 5, and not an extra level 6 spell, but I have enough CHA to get both.


Tsumii wrote:
I actually had a question in regard to spells per day from the mesmerist list. Do you get the bonus spells per day from your CHA or is it flat? I'm using Hero Lab and its giving me an exrat level 1 spell at level 5, and not an extra level 6 spell, but I have enough CHA to get both.

You should get the bonus slots from the casting stat as those are independent from the actual table

Also Herolab gets some stuff wrong.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Medium Archmage Spirit Spellcasting All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.