Nonlethal kinetic blade


Grand Lodge

Can a kineticist (geokinetic in my case) deal nonlethal damage with a kinetic blade accepting the usual -4 penalty.


Scarab Sages

No. You are never considered to be "wielding" the blade, so you can't take the option to do non-lethal with it.

As a houserule, I allow metakinesis to allow a merciful blast for +0 burn.

Pathfinder Maps, Pawns Subscriber; Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber; Starfinder Charter Superscriber

You can deal nonlethal damage with any kinetic blast* that allows an attack roll, provided you take the -4 penalty.

We know this thanks to the phytokineticist's Merciful Foliage utility power, from Occult Origins, which allows you to negate the penalty for dealing nonlethal damage--which quite heavily implies that the standard is the above. It would be a completely useless utility power otherwise.

* This may or may not be limited to physical blasts.

I'm starting another thread about this, since I've been meaning to ask a similar question for a while now anyways.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Advice / Nonlethal kinetic blade All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.