Magic vestment


Rules Questions


Somebody please help me with this spell. For some reason I confused myself .

How do you work the caster level and the AC bonus? You get the special at fifth level, which is castor level five. The spell says for every four caster levels you receive a plus one to AC. Does this spell start at fourth level? What is your AC bonus at 10 level?

I always thought when the spell mention caster level, your caster level was calculated as your character level as long as you only had one class. So, for example, a seventh level Cleric has A caster level of seven.

This spell seems to start at 4th level, gives you another bonus at 8th, then 12th, 16th and finally 20th. The math works out but it seems odd to me since usually when I see a spell reference a change bases on caster level I calculate from caster level one and then move forward. Originally, I thought this particular spell gave a +2 at 5th level since the wording is for every for caster levels and 5th level should be in the second tier: 1-4 = +1, 5-8 = +2, but is completely wrong.

Can someone help clear my head?

Shadow Lodge

Pathfinder Adventure Path, Companion, Lost Omens, Rulebook, Starfinder Adventure Path Subscriber
Globetrotter wrote:

Somebody please help me with this spell. For some reason I confused myself .

How do you work the caster level and the AC bonus? You get the special at fifth level, which is castor level five. The spell says for every four caster levels you receive a plus one to AC. Does this spell start at fourth level? What is your AC bonus at 10 level?

I always thought when the spell mention caster level, your caster level was calculated as your character level as long as you only had one class. So, for example, a seventh level Cleric has A caster level of seven.

This spell seems to start at 4th level, gives you another bonus at 8th, then 12th, 16th and finally 20th. The math works out but it seems odd to me since usually when I see a spell reference a change bases on caster level I calculate from caster level one and then move forward. Originally, I thought this particular spell gave a +2 at 5th level since the wording is for every for caster levels and 5th level should be in the second tier: 1-4 = +1, 5-8 = +2, but is completely wrong.

Can someone help clear my head?

The actual text of the errata'd spell is:

You imbue a suit of armor or a shield with an enhancement bonus of +1 per four caster levels (maximum +5 at 20th level).

An outfit of regular clothing counts as armor that grants no AC bonus for the purpose of this spell.

Makes it a lot more straightforward, divide by four and round down.


Quote:
You imbue a suit of armor or a shield with an enhancement bonus of +1 per four caster levels (maximum +5 at 20th level).

This makes it easy: you get +5 *at* 20th level. At any level below 20, you don't have +5. Subtract 4 levels per plus, so you get:

+5 .. 20+
+4 .. 16-19
+3 .. 12-15
+2 .. 8-11
+1 .. 4-7 (Actually 5-7 since that is the min level to cast).

/cevah


Pathfinder Adventure Path Subscriber; Starfinder Charter Superscriber

Like the others have mentioned, if you are a normal cleric and get Magic Vestment at 5th level, then it applies a +1 enhancement bonus to your armor (or normal clothes) or shield. At 8th level this would be a +2, at 12th level a +3, at 16th level +4, and finally at 20th level +5 bonus.

Levels 6 and 7 would still be a +1 bonus, levels 9, 10, and 11 would still be +2, etc.


Globetrotter wrote:
I always thought when the spell mention caster level, your caster level was calculated as your character level as long as you only had one class.

This isn't always true. Rangers, for example, have no caster level until they reach 4th level and from then on their caster level is their Ranger level minus 3.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Magic vestment All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.