GM Star Inquiry


GM Discussion

The Exchange

I am unsure if this is the proper place for this question.

I have 1 GM Star and if my counting is correct, I am about 10-12 games away from my second GM Star.

I know that you can use them to replay a scenario so you can get full credit, though I was wondering when / if they recharge?

Liberty's Edge 5/5 Venture-Agent, United Kingdom—England—Chester aka Paz

They don't recharge, unless you have a boon chronicle sheet from a convention that gives you this benefit.

Grand Lodge

Paz wrote:
They don't recharge, unless you have a boon chronicle sheet from a convention that gives you this benefit.

The specific boon is called Expanded Narrative. It appeared as it's own boon last season, and seems to be a choice between Expanded Narrative or a race boon this year at conventions (excluding PaizoCon and GenCon that have different boons/GM boons)

Silver Crusade 5/5

Note that you can only use one Expanded Narrative per season. And I believe that this is one of the few places where Core/Regular campaigns count as one, is 1 replay per star and NOT one replay per star per campaign.

4/5 Venture-Lieutenant, New Zealand—Palmerston North aka Lazlo Woodbine

I received an expanded narrative boon recently, and have a question about its use. I'm currently a 2 star GM, who has used 1 of those stars for a replay. Can I save my recharge until I use my second star, or do I have to use it immediately to get back the one star I'd spent at the time I acquired the boon?

5/5

You can wait to use it.

The Exchange

pauljathome wrote:
Note that you can only use one Expanded Narrative per season. And I believe that this is one of the few places where Core/Regular campaigns count as one, is 1 replay per star and NOT one replay per star per campaign.

Can you site where you found that about not being able to replay both core and standard with a star?

5/5

You can replay one game per star. Where does it say you can do that once per campaign?

Liberty's Edge 4/5 Venture-Captain, Virginia—Richmond aka Slothsy

Cerwin wrote:
pauljathome wrote:
Note that you can only use one Expanded Narrative per season. And I believe that this is one of the few places where Core/Regular campaigns count as one, is 1 replay per star and NOT one replay per star per campaign.
Can you site where you found that about not being able to replay both core and standard with a star?

A question about what is and isn't legal for Core? That's like my bat signal.

Pathfinder Society Roleplaying Guild Guide wrote:
Additionally, campaign GMs who are recognized for their efforts by receiving GM stars (see page 38), may receive additional player or GM credit for a number of non-Tier 1 scenarios or sanctioned modules per GM star they have earned. For example, a three-star GM may select any three scenarios or sanctioned modules that she can then play or GM for credit one additional time each. For each of these adventures, she can thus earn a total of three Chronicle sheets, rather than the two normally allowed. When replaying a scenario with GM-star credit, the GM completing the Chronicle sheet will annotate the Notes section of the Chronicle sheet and add “GM Star Replay Credit × Star” to annotate the use of star credit replay. The GM Star Replay Credits are a once per star, lifetime benefit.
Pathfinder Society Roleplaying Guild Guide wrote:

In certain circumstances, a player may need to replay a scenario he has already completed, or play a scenario that he has already run as a GM. The following rules determine when replaying Pathfinder Society Scenarios is legal, and what benefits you may gain from replay.

• The first time you play a scenario, both in Core and Standard mode, the character you play receives a Chronicle sheet that grants him XP, gold, Prestige Points, boons, and the opportunity to purchase any special items discovered in the course of the scenario.
• You cannot receive more than 1 player Chronicle and 1 GM Chronicle for the same scenario in each mode, regardless of how many times you GM or play the scenario. You are permitted to replay a scenario in order to meet the minimum legal table size (see Chapter 7), but once you have reached that limit, you do not earn any additional rewards beyond having a good time. A player replaying a scenario in order for the table to reach the minium table size should (in this instance only) be given a Chronicle for the scenario, though marked to earn 0 Gold, 0 Prestige Points, 0 Fame, 0 XP; the character does not receive Downtime in which to attempt a Day Job check, nor does his receive boons, item access, or anything else appearing on the Chronicle might provide for having played the scenario. This Chronicle only serves as a placeholder to indicate the character participated in the adventure, and it gives a place to note consumables, purchases, and conditions to be tracked from playing through the adventure. This is the only exception to not having two of the same Chronicle assigned to one character.
• If you have already played a scenario and wish to replay to help make a table legal, you must inform the GM that you have already played the scenario. Some GMs may not be comfortable running an adventure for players who have foreknowledge of what is to come. If your GM is not comfortable with you replaying a scenario, the GM has the right to deny players the opportunity to replay a scenario for any reason. All GMs are encouraged to be as flexible as possible when replay is the only option that allows them to seat the minimum legal number of players at a game table.
• If you spoil the plot for the table, the GM has the right to ask you to leave the table. Be very careful about character knowledge versus player knowledge. If you’re concerned about possibly spoiling something during the course of play, take the GM aside and ask how she would like it handled. Remember: the goal of replay is to make sure fun gaming happens, not toremove the fun from gaming.

These are the two relevant sections from the GtOP. At no point do GM Star credits or rewards differentiate between the two campaigns, meaning that replays are limited to once per star, period.

And, before asking, there is no indication I can find that you're allowed to apply your appropriate GM reward chronicles twice per star either. You have just the one to apply until you report table number 200.

Paizo Employee 5/5 Assistant Developer

Matt Dobson wrote:
I received an expanded narrative boon recently, and have a question about its use. I'm currently a 2 star GM, who has used 1 of those stars for a replay. Can I save my recharge until I use my second star, or do I have to use it immediately to get back the one star I'd spent at the time I acquired the boon?

Boons do not need to be applied immediately. You can save the recharge and apply it whenever you want to.

Silver Crusade

Linda Zayas-Palmer wrote:
Matt Dobson wrote:
I received an expanded narrative boon recently, and have a question about its use. I'm currently a 2 star GM, who has used 1 of those stars for a replay. Can I save my recharge until I use my second star, or do I have to use it immediately to get back the one star I'd spent at the time I acquired the boon?
Boons do not need to be applied immediately. You can save the recharge and apply it whenever you want to.

I'm still a little confused on this, too. Expanded Narrative specifically says you can only have one of it active per season. By "active", does that mean that you have one season to record all the sessions you GM to fill the boon, then have to apply that boon to recharging your star replays at the end of that same season?

Or does that mean that you can fill in the blanks on the Expanded Narrative for as long as you want, even if it takes 2 or 3 years, then say "I'm ready to use this boon now" when it's full and you've used all your GM star replays? And then you just have to wait until the following season to redeem another Expanded Narrative boon, obviously.

And this isn't just an academic question for me. I'm a 3 star GM who has never used GM star replay. I picked up an Expanded Narrative boon for GMing at a con recently. I haven't written anything on that boon yet, not even recording the session I GMed that earned me the boon. I don't know if I write that session on the boon now, does that mean I'm locked in to completing my usage of that boon before next GenCon? Or can I just record every session I GM from now until I use all my replays and decide I'm ready to recharge them, even if that's more than a year from now?

Paizo Employee 5/5 Assistant Developer

4 people marked this as a favorite.

Your second interpretation is correct. You can continue to fill a single sheet over several years, but you can only activate the recharge power once per season.

Sovereign Court 4/5 Venture-Captain, New Zealand—Auckland

I have an additional question for Linda (hi Linda!) The Expanded Narrative boon explicitly states (bold emphasis mine):

Expanded Narrative wrote:
If she then earned her third GM star, she could use it to replay a scenario and GM seven more games to recharge the third star

Yet there is only enough line space adjacent to the 3 stars grey bar to record 5 games (being generous with how the lines fall).

The Season 6 version of the Expanded Narrative boon stated 4 more games to recharge the third star.

Scarab Sages 4/5

Sorry for the thread necro, but this seems to be the central place for questions about the Expanded Narrative Boon.

I have a season 6 Expanded Narrative Boon. I've filled it out with enough games to recharge 2 stars. All from games run during season 6 (5 games, I think). I ran more games than that during season 6, but I did not record them, because I was only a 2-star GM. I've never used any replays.

Now, I'm a 3-star GM. Should I go back and list previous games run on the season 6 boon? Should I list games run so far this season? I'd have enough to recharge my 3rd star, I think, if I did that. Or should I only list games run since getting my third star?

Also, I have a Season 7 Expanded Narrative boon. I should just hold that until I have turned in the Season 6 boon, correct? Or should I start filling the Season 7 boon, even though I can only cash in one per season?

I'm wanting to replay Eyes of the Ten at some point, which I think I can do with my 3 replays and cashing in my existing boon (leaving me with 1 or 2 replays left, depending on if I keep tracking things on the old boon for now).

Eyes is unlikely to happen before we roll over into season 8, though. So I'm trying to figure out if I should go ahead and use 2 replays on something else, then recharge them with my season 6 boon. Leaving my season 7 boon to use in season 8 for up to three replays.

Paizo Employee 5/5 Developer

1 person marked this as a favorite.
Glen Irving wrote:

I have an additional question for Linda (hi Linda!) The Expanded Narrative boon explicitly states (bold emphasis mine):

Expanded Narrative wrote:
If she then earned her third GM star, she could use it to replay a scenario and GM seven more games to recharge the third star

Yet there is only enough line space adjacent to the 3 stars grey bar to record 5 games (being generous with how the lines fall).

The Season 6 version of the Expanded Narrative boon stated 4 more games to recharge the third star.

"seven" is a misprint. It takes four scenarios to get the 3 star recharge.

Paizo Employee 5/5 Developer

6 people marked this as a favorite.
Ferious Thune wrote:

Sorry for the thread necro, but this seems to be the central place for questions about the Expanded Narrative Boon.

I have a season 6 Expanded Narrative Boon. I've filled it out with enough games to recharge 2 stars. All from games run during season 6 (5 games, I think). I ran more games than that during season 6, but I did not record them, because I was only a 2-star GM. I've never used any replays.

Now, I'm a 3-star GM. Should I go back and list previous games run on the season 6 boon? Should I list games run so far this season? I'd have enough to recharge my 3rd star, I think, if I did that. Or should I only list games run since getting my third star?

Also, I have a Season 7 Expanded Narrative boon. I should just hold that until I have turned in the Season 6 boon, correct? Or should I start filling the Season 7 boon, even though I can only cash in one per season?

I'm wanting to replay Eyes of the Ten at some point, which I think I can do with my 3 replays and cashing in my existing boon (leaving me with 1 or 2 replays left, depending on if I keep tracking things on the old boon for now).

Eyes is unlikely to happen before we roll over into season 8, though. So I'm trying to figure out if I should go ahead and use 2 replays on something else, then recharge them with my season 6 boon. Leaving my season 7 boon to use in season 8 for up to three replays.

At the time that you GM a scenario, you can record it on either Expanded Narrative sheet. Now that you have your 3rd star, you are eligible to start filling in the 3 star section of Season 6's sheet.

If you turn in your season 6 boon for the two replays, you can keep earning replays from the season 6 boon and using them after you earn them. Even if you choose to turn in the season 6 boon, you can put scenarios on the season 7 boon instead--you just can't activate the season 7 boon's replay rewards.

Scarab Sages 4/5

That clears it up. Thank you!

Community / Forums / Organized Play / GM Discussion / GM Star Inquiry All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in GM Discussion