Does a paladin fall if...


Gamer Life General Discussion

1 to 50 of 65 << first < prev | 1 | 2 | next > last >>

5 people marked this as FAQ candidate. 7 people marked this as a favorite.

... his ladder breaks?


Yes, but also when summer ends.


9 people marked this as a favorite.

If a Paladin falls in the woods and nobody is around to see it, does it still spawn a thread?


#saltyrulesquestions


Johnny_Devo wrote:
... his ladder breaks?

What's his Acrobatics check?


My Self wrote:
Johnny_Devo wrote:
... his ladder breaks?
What's his Acrobatics check?

And what is his craft (stilts) check?


Also, was he actually on the ladder when it broke, or just carrying it, or was someone else standing on it? If it was another paladin on the ladder when it broke, which one falls?

Liberty's Edge

If he thinks like a paladin when on the ladder, then, well, yes, he still falls.


Wait- I discovered the most important question- does he have a spell lile angelic aspect up? Does he have a flight speed?

If he does, then no, he doesn't fall.

Also, if he doesn't have it up, but he is 500' up, then he does fall since he can cast the spell before hitting the ground.


Water over a cliff - paladin falls.


3 people marked this as a favorite.
RDM42 wrote:

Water over a cliff - paladin falls.

Correction:

Holy Water over a cliff - Paladin Falls

Sovereign Court

1 person marked this as a favorite.

If he's devout enough then his goodness casts Fly on him instantaneously - thereby proving that every time a Paladin actually falls it's his own fault and not the GM's!


If a Paladin in full plate with 18 Str, but no ranks in Climb attempts to climb a cliff, despite knowing that he has a negligible chance to succeed, fails, and lands on an orphan dealing lethal damage as a falling object...

Scarab Sages

There's no GM to see it?


3 people marked this as a favorite.

Now I wonder how many paladins have become ex-paladins at first level thanks to bards, sorcerers, and wizards with the grease spell.


Does a Paladin fall if he sings falsetto?


VRMH wrote:
Does a Paladin fall if he sings falsetto?

Something else might have if he's a bass.


Kazaan wrote:
If a Paladin in full plate with 18 Str, but no ranks in Climb attempts to climb a cliff, despite knowing that he has a negligible chance to succeed, fails, and lands on an orphan dealing lethal damage as a falling object...

In tautology club, a paladin falls if he falls.

Apparently.

Grand Lodge

1 person marked this as a favorite.

If the Paladin Falls when his ladder breaks, and I cast Atonement on him, does he end up back at the top? If the ladder is still broken, does he fall again? I know it's expensive, but that is one fun way to make him keep taking 1d6 falling damage.


2 people marked this as a favorite.

I cannot wait for the mods to find this thread.


Drake Brimstone wrote:
If the Paladin Falls when his ladder breaks, and I cast Atonement on him, does he end up back at the top? If the ladder is still broken, does he fall again? I know it's expensive, but that is one fun way to make him keep taking 1d6 falling damage.

But he can Lay on Hands as a swift action.


1 person marked this as a favorite.

Related question: if someone lays on the paladin's hands, does it take a Lay on Hands use?


1 person marked this as a favorite.
CampinCarl9127 wrote:
I cannot wait for the mods to find this thread.

I don't think they would understand the gravity of the situation. I think the question would have a heavy impact on paladin players everywhere.

Silver Crusade

1 person marked this as a favorite.

I knew I should have known better than to click a thread with "paladin" in the title.


If someone dug a hole straight through the center of Golarion and back the other side, does the paladin still fall, if so does when is he considered to be ascending again?


So, can a snapleaf stop a paladin from falling?

Scarab Sages

If a Paladin sings a hymn to the Winter Solstice, does he fall-al-al-al-al-al-al?


AwesomenessDog wrote:
If someone dug a hole straight through the center of Golarion and back the other side, does the paladin still fall, if so does when is he considered to be ascending again?

No, he crashed into a battle between morlocks and lava worms.


So what happens when a Paladin jumps off a cliff in an un-Evil way? He shouldn't fall then, should he?
Or is jumping off cliffs worth a Chaotic alignment shift?


5 people marked this as a favorite.
VRMH wrote:

So what happens when a Paladin jumps off a cliff in an un-Evil way? He shouldn't fall then, should he?

Or is jumping off cliffs worth a Chaotic alignment shift?

Well, he just tried to murder a paladin, which is considered an evil action. So the paladin falls.


lemeres wrote:
VRMH wrote:

So what happens when a Paladin jumps off a cliff in an un-Evil way? He shouldn't fall then, should he?

Or is jumping off cliffs worth a Chaotic alignment shift?
Well, he just tried to murder a paladin, which is considered an evil action. So the paladin falls.

But he also killed the guy who killed a paladin.

Sczarni

1 person marked this as a favorite.

If the party member sees paladin naked in bed with a picture of his favorite goddess? Uh oh!

Grand Lodge

"Not at my table!!"


Talib Aguiye Ironsi wrote:
"Not at my table!!"

Oh, so you house ruled gravity away?

Well, that can be a big boost for martials since they don't have to worry about not being able to reach fliers.


Malag wrote:
If the party member sees paladin naked in bed with a picture of his favorite goddess? Uh oh!

Which goddess? Is it his goddess? Is it one of the NG or CG sexuality goddesses? Or is it Iomedae?

Frankly, I'd be worried more about the party member falling. Off a cliff.

Grand Lodge

Kaboogy wrote:
Related question: if someone lays on the paladin's hands, does it take a Lay on Hands use?

Only if it is a Succubus trying to Grapple him.


kinevon wrote:
Kaboogy wrote:
Related question: if someone lays on the paladin's hands, does it take a Lay on Hands use?
Only if it is a Succubus trying to Grapple him.

the atonement for that one is sleeping on the couch for 2 weeks and not having your goddess to you.


lemeres wrote:
kinevon wrote:
Kaboogy wrote:
Related question: if someone lays on the paladin's hands, does it take a Lay on Hands use?
Only if it is a Succubus trying to Grapple him.
the atonement for that one is sleeping on the couch for 2 weeks and not having your goddess to you.

Does the paladin get divorcedfall permanently if it happens more than once?


2 people marked this as a favorite.

So a Cleric, an Inquisitor, and a Paladin are on a plane going down, and there's only one parachute...


Ventnor wrote:
So a Cleric, an Inquisitor, and a Paladin are on a plane going down, and there's only one parachute...

I can see 3 possibilities. They all fall, 2 of them fall and the other falls, or none fall because they know flight spells.


Inquisitor is straight up f~~#ed without a parachute because he knows precisely zero fight spells (save Divine Pursuit, but there's no flying enemy on this plane).

The Paladin and Cleric can both Angelic Aspect it up.

Or the Cleric can cast Communal Air Walk. Or Wind Walk.


Rynjin wrote:
Inquisitor is straight up f*$!ed without a parachute because he knows precisely zero fight spells (save Divine Pursuit, but there's no flying enemy on this plane).

That's not quite true.

It's not likely the Inquisitor actually knows that spell, but still.


Ah, that's new. When I played my Inquisitor last year Divine Pursuit was the only option available.

That spell is pretty bad though. And it would just shorten the fall from the plane by 100 feet.


It's actually 260ft(run action then float), and you can ready an action to cast it a little before you hit the ground. It would work to save the inquisitor from falling.

The spell is pretty bad though. The inquisitor would be better with a Snapleaf, Floating Feather Token or a potion instead of wasting spell slots on something so weak and narrow.


You can't run unless you cast it after jumping out, since Running is only in a straight line (as I learned to my dismay when I attempted to have an assassin run away from the PCs a few days ago).

But planes fly thousands of feet in the air, so still not helpful.

I guess you COULD ready to cast it before you hit. but it'd be hard to time. Don't you fall at 500 feet per round?


You can cast a spell with a standard action casting time in 500 feet, so if you had something that you needed to activate 100 feet in the air, you can ready to cast when you hit 600 feet.


Can the paladin still cast spells? If so, no fall.

Silver Crusade

What if the Paladin falls backwards? Does he become super good?


lucky7 wrote:
What if the Paladin falls backwards? Does he become super good?

He would still be falling, even backwards. You would have to rise to become Uber-Good. I guess the Paladin could go Parasailing? Is that a thing in Golarion? He could talk to a Gnome, I guess. There might be some potential issues with landing being technically falling, but you could work around them e.g. teleport back to earth or get a fly speed when you need to land so you can glide instead of fall.


And if its a comedy movie, who does he land on?

1 to 50 of 65 << first < prev | 1 | 2 | next > last >>
Community / Forums / Gamer Life / General Discussion / Does a paladin fall if... All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.