Skinwalker Ability Scores


Rules Questions

Silver Crusade

Racial Ability Score:
Skinwalkers are well attuned to the natural order of things and value passion above reason. They gain +2 Wisdom, –2 Intelligence, and +2 to one physical ability score while shapechanged (1 RP). While in their bestial form, they gain a +2 racial bonus to either Strength, Dexterity, or Constitution (see Change Shape).

Does this mean that the Skinwalker can get +4 to one physical stat?
+2 from Racial Ability Score and another +2 from Shapechange?


I think it's just giving you the choices. It's a poorly worded ability.


It seems to be more that some of your racial ability score increase is locked behind the shape shifting. (ie- you have +2 Wis, -2 Int; You get the the +2 [blah] when changed)

Yeah....kinda painful. Particularly for the tiger based ones, whose whole shtick is having cha bonus and intimidation mechanics, and it takes a HUGE penalty to Cha while shifted.

Dark Archive

lemeres wrote:
Yeah....kinda painful. Particularly for the tiger based ones, whose whole shtick is having cha bonus and intimidation mechanics, and it takes a HUGE penalty to Cha while shifted.

Playing my PFS Skinwalker (via boon) I'm convinced that the Intimidate drop was simply an oversight. It makes zero sense that me transforming into a part shark with a legit bite attack suddenly makes me less intimidating.

Sovereign Court

1 person marked this as a favorite.
Pathfinder Adventure Path, Companion Subscriber

Note that in the Inner Sea Races version, the penalty to Charisma-based rolls is no longer part of the skinwalker's racial traits. ^_^

(I checked d20pfsrd and Archives of Nethys, and neither have the updated stats yet.)

Sovereign Court

Pathfinder Adventure Path, Companion Subscriber

Created a thread here discussing the PFS aspect of this, for anyone interested. ^_^


Kalindlara wrote:

Note that in the Inner Sea Races version, the penalty to Charisma-based rolls is no longer part of the skinwalker's racial traits. ^_^

(I checked d20pfsrd and Archives of Nethys, and neither have the updated stats yet.)

I know of its existence, yes.

That doesn't make it good design. It just adds an extra cost to work around it.

Sovereign Court

Pathfinder Adventure Path, Companion Subscriber
lemeres wrote:
Kalindlara wrote:

Note that in the Inner Sea Races version, the penalty to Charisma-based rolls is no longer part of the skinwalker's racial traits. ^_^

(I checked d20pfsrd and Archives of Nethys, and neither have the updated stats yet.)

I know of its existence, yes.

That doesn't make it good design. It just adds an extra cost to work around it.

Do you mean, an extra cost by having to purchase the book? Because other than that, I don't know what extra cost you mean.


1 person marked this as a favorite.
Kalindlara wrote:
lemeres wrote:
Kalindlara wrote:

Note that in the Inner Sea Races version, the penalty to Charisma-based rolls is no longer part of the skinwalker's racial traits. ^_^

(I checked d20pfsrd and Archives of Nethys, and neither have the updated stats yet.)

I know of its existence, yes.

That doesn't make it good design. It just adds an extra cost to work around it.

Do you mean, an extra cost by having to purchase the book? Because other than that, I don't know what extra cost you mean.

Wait...no...I thought I heard it was a trait (the old trait/trait/trait problem) that removed the cha penalty.

I am misinformed then.

Not entirely sure if locking part of your ability scores behind a form like that is good though.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Skinwalker Ability Scores All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.