"centered on you" spells and animal companions


Rules Questions

Dark Archive

Common sense says that spells whose area is "centered on you" should count as Target: you when it comes to sharing spells with an animal companion.

So anitimagic field and detonate, for example, should be able to be cast on an AC.

But ... has this been clarified anywhere?

Richard

P.S. Sorry if this seems like splitting hairs - I just wanted to check


Pathfinder Maps Subscriber
richard develyn wrote:
Common sense says that spells whose area is "centered on you" should count as Target: you when it comes to sharing spells with an animal companion.

Sorry, this is Pathfinder magic, common sense doesn't apply. Anti-magic field may be centered on you, but you were not the target.

richard develyn wrote:
So anitimagic field and detonate, for example, should be able to be cast on an AC.
Share Spells wrote:
Share Spells: The wizard may cast a spell with a target of “You” on his familiar (as a touch spell) instead of on himself. A wizard may cast spells on his familiar even if the spells do not normally affect creatures of the familiar's type (magical beast).

No. The rules are quite clear. ONLY spells with a listed target of "You" qualify.

Shadow Lodge

As a GM (non PFS) I might be inclined to allow you to cast anti-magic field on an animal companion once just to show that suddenly your magical beast has become a non-magical animal that no longer shares the magical bond with you. at least for the duration of the field. But for PFS play definately this is a No.

Dark Archive

Oh, ok.

I'm surprised because I'm sure I read somewhere about a Sylvan Sorcerer with a T-Rex with anti-magic field.

Fair enough, though.

Richard

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / "centered on you" spells and animal companions All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.