Vanishing of text while copying a scroll

Pathfinder First Edition General Discussion

Liberty's Edge

Why do the runes disappear from a scroll if a caster copies a spell from it?
I just want to understand the reasoning behind that rule?
If I copy a spell from another mages spellbook, the writing does not disappear.

Pathfinder Adventure Path, Lost Omens, Rulebook, Starfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber

Because a scroll is a one-use version of a spell. In the same way that writing a prepared spell into a spell book wipes it from the caster's mind, transferring it from a scroll (which is just like a prepared spell slot in written form) wipes it from the scroll.

Liberty's Edge

They are two different things. Note that you also can't cast the spell directly from the spell book as you could with a scroll. The letters on the scroll ARE the magic item (the scroll itself is just a piece of parchment). When that magic is expended (either to cast the spell or allow you to write a version of it into a spell book) the letters disappear... the magic is only usable once. Spells in a spell book on the other hand are NOT magic items. The letters are just ink on a page. No magic to be expended.

And that is what vancian spell casting is in d&d - you are basically using your mind as a multi spell scroll, when 'memorizing' you are writing the spells to your brain and when you cast them they disappear. The difference in a scroll is you are 'writing' the spell to an external object.

Liberty's Edge

Thank you, guys.
That makes sense. Mind eased... :)

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / General Discussion / Vanishing of text while copying a scroll All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.