End of turn location effects and "end of turn" triggering


Rules Questions and Gameplay Discussion


Pathfinder Card Game Subscriber

So we already know we can move away from a location at the end of a turn to avoid the end of turn trigger on a location (eg Torture Chamber), since you're not at that location anymore, "at this location" doesn't apply.

Can we move to a location to take advantage of the end of turn trigger on a location (eg the Abyssal Rift in WotR or the Tower in S&S)? Or has that trigger happened already and we can't take advantage of it anymore?

Or is it not a trigger, and you have to resolve all those effects if you move there some at some time during the end of the turn? There's no mention of triggers and instead the wording is "apply", so this seems like the most correct.


Pathfinder Battles Case Subscriber; Pathfinder Card Game Subscriber

Well that's an interestning one for not-this-Mike.

The way I would see it with absolutely no certainty is to apply the "if at the same time, you chose the order unless instructed otherwise".

You cannot willingly play a power but a bunch of things can happen at end of turn. Some of them depend on the location you are at when resolving them and some don't. Some of them may make you move.

I would arbitrate that
You must apply once and only once all of those not written on a location card (but it can be before being moved, between moves or after all moves and apply to the location you are at when resolving them, should it matter)
If one of those event moves you, then you won't (unless an other move brings you back) apply the end of turn event from the location you leave.
Note that you will anyway apply (if there is one) the end of turn effect of your final location. But you could apply many end of turns effect of locations if you trigger moves after resolving those.

Sovereign Court

Pathfinder Card Game Subscriber

I don't see why you wouldn't trigger the EoT effects. If moving away in time means it doesn't trigger, that means the timing hasn't happened yet. So if you move there at the same time, then you will be there when the trigger happens.


Pathfinder Card Game, Maps, Starfinder Adventure Path, Starfinder Maps, Starfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber; Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber

It can go either way, the timing isn't specified in the rulebook:

WotR Rulebook wrote:
End Your Turn: First, apply any effects that happen at the end of your turn. While you do this, unless a power directed you to end your turn, you may play cards and use powers.

So if locations A and B both have end of turn effects, and you are at A, you can sequence it in one of the following two ways:

1) Apply A's End of Turn effect, move, apply B's End of Turn effect
2) Move, apply B's End of Turn effect (you moved before A's could apply so you're no longer at that location, so it no longer applies).

Either way, B's power applies because you're now at that location and you haven't attempted to resolve its End of Turn effect yet.


skizzerz wrote:

It can go either way, the timing isn't specified in the rulebook:

WotR Rulebook wrote:
End Your Turn: First, apply any effects that happen at the end of your turn. While you do this, unless a power directed you to end your turn, you may play cards and use powers.

So if locations A and B both have end of turn effects, and you are at A, you can sequence it in one of the following two ways:

1) Apply A's End of Turn effect, move, apply B's End of Turn effect
2) Move, apply B's End of Turn effect (you moved before A's could apply so you're no longer at that location, so it no longer applies).

Either way, B's power applies because you're now at that location and you haven't attempted to resolve its End of Turn effect yet.

Sorry to Necrothread, but was this ever officially resolved? I'm using Alain in Wrath of the righteous, and there are a number of situations that I run into like this (Start turn on Abyssal Rift closed side, move to Collapsing Bridge (turning Abyssal Rift to open side because no one is there), explore a few times, then at 'end of turn' reveal his steed Cohort to move back to the Abyssal Rift then resolve the Abyssal Rift's location trait to flip it back to the 'Closed' side), and I want to know if I'm cheating, or if this is just clever use of available cards.


As Frencois noted, if you are instructed to do two or more things at the same time, choose order. So, you may start at Abyssal Rift, move and flip up location, explore and move back using Donahan, and flip Rift back to "closed" postion. In fact, I believe Alain was designed to work that way by the game creators


Pathfinder Card Game, Maps, Starfinder Adventure Path, Starfinder Maps, Starfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber; Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber

The Alain thing you mention sounds fine.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder Adventure Card Game / Rules Questions and Gameplay Discussion / End of turn location effects and "end of turn" triggering All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions and Gameplay Discussion