Brigandoom! "monsters" causing recharging


Rules Questions and Gameplay Discussion


I'm embarrassed to ask this, because on one hand the answer seems so obvious. On the other hand . . . .

On the Brigandoom! scenario card (Rise of the Runelords base set), it states, "If a monster's power causes you to recharge one or more cards, do so, then draw the same number of cards." The scenario's villain and henchmen both, coincidentally, require you to recharge cards before your encounter with them. It's all they do. It seems that the scenario rule is chosen with the villain and henchmen in mind. That would make sense.

However . . .

The old rule says, "If it isn't called something, it isn't that thing." This appears on page 22 of the RotR base set rule book, and I'm sure it's appeared elsewhere. By this rule, neither the villain nor henchmen are "monsters". Neither have the Monster card type (Villain and Henchman, respectively) nor "monster" trait (both are listed as "human").

It seems if the scenario rule about recharging was meant to apply to the villain and henchmen, this issue would appear in the errata by now, or I would have found info when I searched for this topic. But it just nags at me due to the obvious synergy between this rule and the sole power of each, requiring cards to be recharged. So, forgive me, but I feel I must ask.

Of course, being outside of society play, we can home rule this, but I wondered more officially. Thank you for helping ease my mind one way or the other!


Paizo Charter Superscriber; Pathfinder Companion, Pathfinder Accessories Subscriber; Starfinder Charter Superscriber

Actually, these villains and henchman do have the type "monster". Check right above their combat difficulty.

Sovereign Court

Pathfinder Card Game Subscriber

Keep in mind that some henchmen and villains (including the henchmen in the scenario immediately following Brigandoom I believe), are even barriers instead of monsters.


Oh my! I had never noticed that box! So there are three places something may be indicated as a monster. This must also mean that if a card says something like "during a check to defeat a monster", I need to check that as well. We'd always assumed that sort of text only meant the yellow-card monsters, not henchmen or villains.

Well now I'm sure glad I asked. Thank you both very much!


Pathfinder Card Game Subscriber

For reference:

RotR Rulebook p17 wrote:
Type: Most banes are either monsters or barriers. Most villains and henchmen have the “monster” type and count as monsters; a few henchmen have the “barrier” type and count as barriers.

Note the same thing about loot cards. They also have a second type.


Pathfinder Card Game Subscriber

If you look in the upper right corner of each henchman and villain card you will see a box above the check to defeat titled "type", which designates the bane as a monster or barrier.


Pathfinder Card Game Subscriber

Ha! A double-post. I saw this thread after I responded to the other one.

Sovereign Court

Pathfinder Card Game Subscriber
Whipstitch wrote:

Oh my! I had never noticed that box! So there are three places something may be indicated as a monster. This must also mean that if a card says something like "during a check to defeat a monster", I need to check that as well. We'd always assumed that sort of text only meant the yellow-card monsters, not henchmen or villains.

Well now I'm sure glad I asked. Thank you both very much!

Now I'm curious. I know of two places. The main (where the villains say Villain) and the secondary location (where Villains say Monster or Barrier). What's the third.


Pathfinder Battles Case Subscriber; Pathfinder Card Game Subscriber
Andrew L Klein wrote:


Now I'm curious. I know of two places. The main (where the villains say Villain) and the secondary location (where Villains say Monster or Barrier). What's the third.

The picture! If it looks like a monster, it certainly is. Being over cautious saved us many times in RPG, so it must be the sames here!

:-)


Pathfinder Card Game Subscriber

Whipstitch could be referring to the color of the card.


Pathfinder Card Game Subscriber

Whipstitch mentioned the monster trait in their original post, so I'm guessing that's the third place that they're talking about.

EDIT: I was actually really excited about the possibility of custom cards with the Monster trait for a minute, until I went to review character powers. There's a very clear line drawn between card type and traits for character powers. Even if something had the monster trait, it wouldn't behave like a card of monster type for the purposes of powers or other rules. It would have the "Monster trait", but it would not be "a monster"


Pathfinder Card Game Subscriber

Ah. Yeah, glossed over that. I am fairly sure there is no monster trait. At least, nothing comes to mind.


You are right. My third place to look was (as Kumarei suspected) in the traits, because I had looked there for such a trait. However, as Hawkmoon said, there doesn't seem to be such a trait. Undead, goblin, giant, et cetera, but not "monster". Again, I am grateful for the help and advice!

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder Adventure Card Game / Rules Questions and Gameplay Discussion / Brigandoom! "monsters" causing recharging All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions and Gameplay Discussion