Magic Items and Flesh to Stone


Rules Questions


Pathfinder Rulebook Subscriber

If a player is hit with Flesh to Stone and fails the saving throw, do the magic items carried get a saving throw? Or does everything instantly turn to stone?

The party was hit with Prismatic Spray and the Cleric failed the Flesh to Stone. Unfortunately, he's the one carrying the stone to flesh scroll and a rod with stone to flesh to turn him back.


As per RAW:

Flesh to Stone wrote:

The subject, along with all its carried gear, turns into a mindless, inert statue. If the statue resulting from this spell is broken or damaged, the subject (if ever returned to its original state) has similar damage or deformities. The creature is not dead, but it does not seem to be alive either when viewed with spells such as deathwatch.

Only creatures made of flesh are affected by this spell.

As per rule of fun, the Flesh to Stone scroll or rod should be recoverable with some strength checks. I mean, that stinks to not only have a guy turned into stone, but have the way to un-stone him get turned into stone too.


You might be able to convince your GM that the scroll will still work if you can get at it, but good luck unrolling it to read it.

You might have to just haul the cleric back to the nearest appropriate place to get another scroll made.


A guy who could cast the spell and not one but TWO backup items - and that one guy was carrying both of them? Ouch...

Sadly, all the items do turn to stone with the guy who failed the save. The RAW says all magical items get a save unless the spell's text says otherwise, and Flesh To Stone specifically says they turn to stone with the target, so the spell's text takes precedent: no item saves.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Magic Items and Flesh to Stone All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.