Burning infusion?????


Rules Questions


How does the "burning" infusion actually works? Does it follows the "catching fire" rules? explicitly
1) Does it gives a Reflexes save to avoid it?
2) Is the save DC statically set at 15?
3) Can you burn him more than once per round via quicken/flurry/blade?

Bonus question, is there a way to reduce matakinesis cost besides gather/supercharge before 19?

Scarab Sages

1) There is no save. If you hit and bypass SR, they are on fire.
2) There is no DC because there is no save.
3) They are on fire or not. Every attack you make in the round with quicken/flurry/blade will ignite them, but they can only be ignited once. You could ignite multiple people though.

4) There is no way to reduce metakinesis burn except via gather power or metakinetic master.

Lantern Lodge RPG Superstar 2015 Top 16

Also, burning infusion + searing flame = eventually no Fire Resist! The look on them demon's faces...

Also, the metakinesis is a good use of the Internal Buffer, too, to absorb that burn, in my opinion anyway.


I've asked this during the playtest and didn't get an answer, but with book out maybe there'd be more of a chance.

What I've been doing:

1) Yes, there ought to be a reflex save to avoid it (thus the infusion having Ref negates stated). Much like how thundering infusion targets still gets a Fort save to avoid getting deafened despite it not stated except for "Fort negates". Though that's me being conservative. As a counter example, Alchemist's explosive bomb automatically sets target on fire if the bomb hits, so I might be wrong about getting to avoid catching on fire from burning infusion.
2) I believe the DC to extinguish the flame is the same as the DC to avoid the flames (so 10 + effective spell level + Con modifier); my reasoning is that the general catching on fire rules have DC 15 for both avoiding catching on fire and extinguishing the fire.
3) I'm gonna say yes, though he only takes the burn damage once, each successful blast attack doesn't cause extra burn damage. The frequent burnings would be important to refresh the Searing Flame utility wild talent (which lasts half your kineticist level) if one wants to keep fire resistance down for a long time.

What I'm curious about is: Does the target take the initial burning damage the first time he failed to avoid catching on fire during the kineticist's turn after burning infusion blast? And on subsequent rounds/turns, is the ongoing burning damage rolled on the kineticist's turn or on the target's turn after a failed saving throw to extinguish the fire?. If the ongoing burning damage is done on initial blast and on target's turn, wouldn't the target potentially be taking burning damage twice in the same round? Round 1: kineticist burning infusion blasts target. Target fails reflex save to avoid catching on fire, takes 1d6 burning damage after the blast damage. On target's turn in same round, fails saving throw to put out fire (is extinguishing a fire saving throw a specific action, like with alchemist's fire or explosive bomb needing a full round action?) and takes another 1d6 burning damage?

Bonus) Nope. Metakinesis needs gather power/supercharge or metakinetic master class feature to reduce metakinesis burn cost. If gonna be applying metamaguc effects on blasts, gonna have to pay for it with burn or action economy.


@Protoman I'm pretty sure that by the rules the first "tick" of damage is applied immediatly upon the condition being inflicted based on the "catching fire" rules. Always based on those rules the additional damage is inflicted on the target turn, but only after he rolled and failed the new save.

Nice catch on the Reflex nagate, I completely missed it. So I guess we are settled for the first question. And for the second one I guess the only sensible answer would be having the "normal" infusion DC to be the one saved against.

The last question remains

Edit: I realized i posed the third question wrong. Of course you can't "stack" more than one "on fire" condition. What I meant to ask is

3) If someone who is already "on fire" fails a save against one effect that would also put him "on fire", would he still take the immediate 1d6 extra fire damage?


Dekalinder wrote:

The last question remains

Edit: I realized i posed the third question wrong. Of course you can't "stack" more than one "on fire" condition. What I meant to ask is

3) If someone who is already "on fire" fails a save against one effect that would also put him "on fire", would he still take the immediate 1d6 extra fire damage?

Ah in that case, then definitely no more immediate 1d6 extra fire damage since they're already on fire and not "catching fire" again.


Hey one other question! If I maximize the burning blast, does the d6 from burning get maximized too?

Scarab Sages

Dekalinder wrote:
Hey one other question! If I maximize the burning blast, does the d6 from burning get maximized too?

I'd say no. The damage from being on fire is a separate source of damage than the blast, and rolled separately. It'd be nice if it did, especially if you wanted to quickly burn down resistance.


Nope. The burning isn't part of the maximized blast damage. Otherwise one could argue subsequent rounds of burning are also maximized.


By "burning infusion" do you mean Immolation Bomb?

Or is this a new book that I don't have.....


Pathfinder Maps, Starfinder Maps Subscriber
Splendor wrote:

By "burning infusion" do you mean Immolation Bomb?

Or is this a new book that I don't have.....

They're discussing the kineticist from Occult Adventures.


Does this apply if they have no SR to penetrate?

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder RPG / Rules Questions / Burning infusion????? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.