Arueshalae question


Pathfinder Adventure Card Game General Discussion

51 to 85 of 85 << first < prev | 1 | 2 | next > last >>
Silver Crusade

One simple question: Will we get a Character Sheet for Arueshalae?

Hopefully!

I prefer playing with those, they can be printed bigger and it it nicer to mark things on them?

PS. How about Ekkie?


The Ekkie PDF can be found here: Ekkie details
I'm hoping we get Arueshalae before the weekend, but they might be busy with GenCon.

Silver Crusade

Gunslinger679 wrote:
The Ekkie PDF can be found here: Ekkie details

Oh, I missed that. It was not found in the downloads page -> Community Use Package: Pathfinder Adventure Card Game Character Sheets

Ranzak is there, so Ekkie could be added?

Gunslinger679 wrote:
I'm hoping we get Arueshalae before the weekend, but they might be busy with GenCon.

Well, hopefully we will get a sheet soon. Until then, we'll have to stick with the cards...


Hey folks.. sorry if I missed this. My AP3 shipment just arrived and was studying Tower of fourth sphere. I'm a bit unsure over arushelae. When u complete the demons redoubt scenario only then u acquire her and begin playing. But does that then mean that you have to replay scenario again? As the demons heresy adventure path says "complete these scenarios" and only then can go for the ivory sanctum - hasn't arushelae not completed demons redoubt?


Pathfinder Card Game Subscriber

I think the "complete these scenarios" an an instruction for the group. It has always been the case that if you started a new character in the middle of an adventure (say, to replace a dead one), you had some technical problems. That character shouldn't technically gain the adventure reward if they didn't complete all the scenarios in the adventure. And likewise, they shouldn't technically gain the adventure path reward if they didn't complete all the adventures (which means completing all the scenarios).

But I think it is fine that when you add a new character, you don't lock them out of the adventure or adventure path reward for not having completed all the parts.

And, if you want to go by the letter of the law anyway, what you could do is do the Demon's Redoubt first. Then, argue you earn the reward of playing her simultaneously with completing the scenario, so therefore she completed the scenario. Then do the other scenarios and you are good to go.


Sounds like that was the thematic intent... Hehe. was hoping the full location text would be clearer.. I'll see what my group thinks & go with it..


We unlocked arushelae in yesterday's game and one of our group swapped to her. While learning to play her properly, we had a odd thought:

Tower of fourth sphere is a location that says "if you win the scenarioo a player may begin playing the character arushelae, who chooses a mythic path card and gains the same number of each type of feat that another character has gained"

What happens if she dies in a future scenario? Say in adventure 5 or so.. is it possible to go back to demon's redoubt, unlock again and gain all the feats the other chars gained? If so it pretty much negates the risk of dying - which imo is a key feature of this game.

The rules say : You may not gain the reward from a given scenario, adventure, or Adventure Path more than once unless the reward specifically tells you otherwise.

But this is a 'location' that grants char at end of the scenario... so.. did we miss something or do we have an immortal demon char... ? :)

Sovereign Court

Pathfinder Card Game Subscriber

Technically the reward is from a location, not a scenario reward so yes you could go back.

Sure you could game the system, but this wouldn't be the first. It's assumed you aren't going to cheat yourself and game the system to avoid any real challenge. If someone does this and doesn't feel cheated by it, so be it. If they do it and they do feel cheated, well that's on them.


Hardly wanted to game it. We pretty much agreed it was intended to be a one off situation freeing her from the tower, but the question did come up.. :)

Upon further reflection, if the tower location was treated as remove from game once arushelae freed that would do it.

Grand Lodge

It's no different than the way most people treat this death of a character in their games (allowing them to start with either someone new or the same, with the same number of feats as everyone else.)


Pathfinder Card Game, Maps, Starfinder Adventure Path, Starfinder Maps, Starfinder Roleplaying Game, Starfinder Society Subscriber; Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber

Recall that replaying scenarios after you've succeeded in defeating them is not in the rules; the only time RAW lets you replay a scenario is when you fail it, and you must usually do that immediately (for Adventure 3 where it lets you do the first 4 in any order, I'd say you can push back the replay on failure slightly but still needs to be done before moving on to scenario 5).

So, by the rules it is in fact not possible to go back and unlock her again from that scenario :)

You can of course completely disregard this (it's your game etc etc), but if you're house ruling bringing someone back with full feats, might as well just do that in general instead of limiting it to one character after replaying an old scenario.


Thanks for the inputs folks. We always treated death as permanent bad s**t and if new char came in halfway due to death it would be without all the feats earned by the rest. at that point a few of us would re-run prior scenarios with our friend and help level him up. (balanced against our time and working schedules - but overridden by 'leave no man behind').


Pathfinder Card Game Subscriber

It doesn't seem that unrealistic to be able to go back to a magical tower to summon a demon back from hell/wherever in the event of the demon's "death".

Just saying that *flavor-wise*, I see nothing against this. I probably wouldn't, personally.


I'd just go back to town and get the dead character raised if your party can't do it themselves. You're high powered mythic characters who regularly throw random pieces of equipment away.* You probably have some money sitting around. :)

(True Resurrecting Arueshalae would cost a lot more, but still.)

It's just one of the places where the difference in abstraction between the card game and the RPG show.

* In S&S/SotS, we often call failing to acquire boons "pitching them over the side of the ship". Poor Allies.

Paizo Employee Chief Technical Officer

3 people marked this as a favorite.
Vic Wertz wrote:
Please hold.

If you can’t construct a valid deck from the cards your group has available because you don’t have enough of certain card types, nothing in the rulebook prevents you from taking a loot card of the appropriate type (with an appropriate adventure deck number or owner trait) from the box. Indeed, in the section of rules that explains how to do that, you're specifically told that "loot cards count as cards of their type."

The only thing that *may* have stopped you from doing that is what Mike said a long time ago, and he is overruling that statement now. So yes, you can take such a card when the option presents itself.


2 people marked this as a favorite.
Pathfinder Card Game Subscriber

Very interesting. Now I won't have to feel such anguished pangs of guild when I have to pass up loot in a smaller group.

Grand Lodge

Vic Wertz wrote:
Vic Wertz wrote:
Please hold.

If you can’t construct a valid deck from the cards your group has available because you don’t have enough of certain card types, nothing in the rulebook prevents you from taking a loot card of the appropriate type (with an appropriate adventure deck number or owner trait) from the box. Indeed, in the section of rules that explains how to do that, you're specifically told that "loot cards count as cards of their type."

The only thing that *may* have stopped you from doing that is what Mike said a long time ago, and he is overruling that statement now. So yes, you can take such a card when the option presents itself.

:O

Vic, I freaking LOVE this change. Thank you!

Sovereign Court

Pathfinder Card Game Subscriber

That's a pretty massive change, one that honestly I have to say I dislike as much as still having to reset your hand after ending the game by the blessing deck. It takes away a big part of the deck building strategy in that some of the cards are very powerful and that you won't get them back if you lose them. In exchange for being much more powerful than other cards, you also have to be more wary with them.

Being able to just take it is past broken in my opinion.

I think the right move would to, instead of just saying "Well we did say they count as their types, so", would have been to FAQ the rules to say that unless a card specifically references it, the card will not leave the box and enter the game.

The only exception I could see for it would be cards with an Owner trait. Even then, only allowing it to be pulled, outside the standard method of rewarding it, by the Owner.


Pathfinder Card Game Subscriber

I wonder if in actual practice it would be a big change. You have to wait 2 adventure decks past when the Loot was awarded and you have to engineer things to have not enough cards in the party so that you have to pull.

But I agree that it doesn't quite feel right to spurn a special reward and then wangle it back when you decided that you really wanted it after all.

The Exchange

Minimal issue, I have looked back at the loot that is AD -2 and have found nothing remotely useful. Maybe Radiance if we had the right party composition. Even then you need to find a way to either banish more weapons than you acquire or add a weapon as a card feat and hope nobody picked up a random mace. This is not something that is going to come up in most peoples' games as an intentional way to skew gear level.

I know it seems to break the game for you Andrew, your option would of course be to simply not do it. The change gives you a choice, it doesn't require you to do so.


I felt it's not really big to drop the loots into the pile at this stage. The only 'cheating' feeling is the effective free explore. Kinda feel that dropped loots should be gone for good... after all no adventuring party really simply comes across magical swords and rings in a cave after defeating a few trolls... do they... ?


Zenarius wrote:
I felt it's not really big to drop the loots into the pile at this stage. The only 'cheating' feeling is the effective free explore. Kinda feel that dropped loots should be gone for good... after all no adventuring party really simply comes across magical swords and rings in a cave after defeating a few trolls... do they... ?

Can i get a sword which glows blue if the next card in the location deck is a demon?

Grand Lodge

1 person marked this as a favorite.
Andrew L Klein wrote:

Being able to just take it is past broken in my opinion.

How is this remotely broken? Please break that down.

For one, it's loot that you're already not using. There's a reason it's not in your deck, right? If it was so good, you'd have it.

Secondly, you can't take ANY Loot. It has to be from the AD-2, which limits what's available, AND you still have to be in a situation where there are no card upgrades available of that type to be able to pull from the box.

I think your definition of what's broken is broken.


MightyJim wrote:
Zenarius wrote:
I felt it's not really big to drop the loots into the pile at this stage. The only 'cheating' feeling is the effective free explore. Kinda feel that dropped loots should be gone for good... after all no adventuring party really simply comes across magical swords and rings in a cave after defeating a few trolls... do they... ?
Can i get a sword which glows blue if the next card in the location deck is a demon?

Actually, I think a sword that could also do "Detect Demon" would be a really cool item. ("Recharge this weapon to examine the top card of the location deck. If it is a demon, you may encounter it, and count as having revealed this card for it's power on any combat check to defeat it.")

Paizo Employee Chief Technical Officer

NOG the Demoralizer wrote:
Minimal issue, I have looked back at the loot that is AD -2 and have found nothing remotely useful.

There are only two reasons that old loot can be in the box: either you decided you didn't want it anymore (or never wanted it), or you banished it. In the former case, if it wasn't overpowered to give it to you in the first place, it's not overpowered to let you pick it back up 2 Adventure Decks after you originally gained access to it.

As for banishing, before we made this ruling, we examined all the loot with banish powers and an adventure deck number of 4 or less (because you can never reclaim loot with an adventure deck number of 5 or 6 unless it has the appropriate owner trait, which none have). There are several loot armors that have standard armor banish powers, and all of them also fall into the "not overpowered 2 decks later" bucket.

The only other loot cards with banish powers are Emerald Codex in RotR 4 and the similar Immortal Dreamstone in S&S 4. You could play these during every scenario in Adventure Deck 6 of their respective APs and potentially get them back for the next. But since banishing each of them gets you random cards, we don't think they're too powerful—the main thing this ruling does is make it easier to get some cards into your hand when you want to avoid drawing from your deck (aka "3 free hit points"), which by AD 6 is not that big a deal.

The design team will ensure that if there's a loot power they only want you to use once ever, they'll do what they did with Vailea (S&S 4) and make you remove it from the game.


Pathfinder Card Game Subscriber

Vic, if you were to redesign these (Emerald Codex and Immortal Dreamstone) again today, would have put "remove from the game" wording on them?

Paizo Employee Chief Technical Officer

That's really a question for Mike, but I seriously doubt it. Getting three random cards is *very* different from getting a feat.

Adventure Card Game Designer

1 person marked this as a favorite.
Vic Wertz wrote:
The only thing that *may* have stopped you from doing that is what Mike said a long time ago

Man, that guy.


Pathfinder Battles Case Subscriber; Pathfinder Card Game Subscriber
Mike Selinker wrote:
Vic Wertz wrote:
The only thing that *may* have stopped you from doing that is what Mike said a long time ago
Man, that guy.

Yeah Mike may have said that but we all know now not to listen to Mike but only to Not-This-Mike.

Anyway, I have my 5 minutes of glory: as explained way before in this thread, we took the habit (and needed rules) to reintroduce banished loots in play since long ago. Nice to see we weren't THAT wrong (sorry Andrew, no harm done :-)).


Vic Wertz wrote:
That's really a question for Mike, but I seriously doubt it. Getting three random cards is *very* different from getting a feat.

In Wrath, 3 random cards is what you get from a Barrier, not a loot item!

Pathfinder ACG Developer

5 people marked this as a favorite.

In Mendevian Wrath, Barrier boons you!

Shadow Lodge

Some thread necro here, but I noticed when registering my character there was an option for "unlocked succubus".

I'm looking through all the adventures and I can not find any scenario that rewards here. Where do we get this?


It's a GM boon from the RPG. I'm not sure, but I think it had to do with GM'ing at a convention.


2 people marked this as a favorite.

Assuming you're talking about Organized Play, I've been told it was a convention specific boon given out to volunteers at GenCon, which allows you to play as Aerushale.

Adventure Card Game Designer

1 person marked this as a favorite.
RoyalCoat wrote:
Assuming you're talking about Organized Play, I've been told it was a convention specific boon given out to volunteers at GenCon, which allows you to play as Aerushale.

Yup.

51 to 85 of 85 << first < prev | 1 | 2 | next > last >>
Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder Adventure Card Game / General Discussion / Arueshalae question All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in General Discussion