Movement


Rules Questions


Say a Fighter with a reach weapon makes an AoO against an opponent as it moves toward him from fifteen feet away, the AoO coming when it leaves the middle square 10' away.

In the next round the Fighter won't be able to attack the opponent when it completes the move that caused the AoO and becomes adjacent because, reach weapon.

Fighter can drop the reach weapon for free but can't draw, say, his longsword without himself taking an AoO unless he also takes a regular move, which apparently does not include a five-foot step because five-foot steps are no actions.

Can Fighter draw his weapon while moving only five feet without taking an AoO if he declares that action to be a regular move of just five feet, or are all five-foot moves considered five-foot steps?


You don't provoke an AoO for drawing a weapon. Just spend a move action and do it. Problem solved.

Alternatively, just 5' step back so you can hit him with your polearm.

Dark Archive

Yes he can. He can declare it as a move and not 5' step. Only gets 1 attack then. He can also 5' step back or wherever if there is a legl space to give himself 10' range again and attack.
Feats like quick draw come in handy.


joe kirner wrote:

Yes he can. He can declare it as a move and not 5' step. Only gets 1 attack then. He can also 5' step back or wherever if there is a legl space to give himself 10' range again and attack.

Feats like quick draw come in handy.

Thank you.


1 person marked this as a favorite.
Pathfinder Maps, Starfinder Maps Subscriber

Just to be clear, mplindustries had it right. Drawing a weapon does *not* provoke, regardless.

Dark Archive

If the player is making a regular move and only moving 5 feet, he will provoke, as he is not 5' stepping and leaving a threatened area.

The solution is either:

Free action (non-provoke) - drop the weapon
Move action (non-provoke) - draw longsword
Standard action (non-provoke) - attack

or

5-foot step (non-provoke) - move away
Full round/standard - attack

or the less responsible

Move action (provoke) - move 5 feet, draw as part of a move action per BAB+1
Be 10' away with a longsword and unable to attack


Keith Apperson wrote:

If the player is making a regular move and only moving 5 feet, he will provoke, as he is not 5' stepping and leaving a threatened area.

The solution is either:

Free action (non-provoke) - drop the weapon
Move action (non-provoke) - draw longsword
Standard action (non-provoke) - attack

or

5-foot step (non-provoke) - move away
Full round/standard - attack

or the less responsible

Move action (provoke) - move 5 feet, draw as part of a move action per BAB+1
Be 10' away with a longsword and unable to attack

Many thanks for your reply, Keith.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Movement All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.