How did?


Pathfinder First Edition General Discussion

51 to 58 of 58 << first < prev | 1 | 2 | next > last >>

Ravingdork wrote:

Though you can indeed take your actions in any order, if you've readied an action, you cannot take another action afterwards without giving up your readied action.

Relevant Rule: You can ready a standard action, a move action, a swift action, or a free action. To do so, specify the action you will take and the conditions under which you will take it. Then, anytime before your next action, you may take the readied action in response to that condition.

That... Doesn't say that.

That just says that you can take the readied action in response to that condition. Not that you can't use any of your remaining actions that turn.


Pathfinder Maps, Pawns Subscriber; Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber; Starfinder Charter Superscriber

You can totally use your remaining actions. You just lose the standard action readied action.

The rule I quoted is a clear restriction: you may only take your readied action before your next action. The implication is clear. If you take another action before your readied action is triggered, you waste your readied action.

So you can move, cast a quickened spell, and ready an action; but you could not ready an action and do other things afterwards with the intention of still taking said readied action.


Ravingdork wrote:

You can totally use your remaining actions. You just lose the standard action readied action.

The rule I quoted is a clear restriction: you may only take your readied action before your next action. The implication is clear. If you take another action before your readied action is triggered, you waste your readied action.

So you can move, cast a quickened spell, and ready an action; but you could not ready an action and do other things afterwards with the intention of still taking said readied action.

The text doesn't say, "You may ONLY take your readied action before your next action."

It says: Then, anytime before your next action, you may take the readied action in response to that condition.

You are:

1. Reading a word that isn't there.
2. Assuming that the only applies non-contextually to actions other than the specific readied action.

It would have to actually read:

"You may take no other actions while you have an action readied."

Shadow Lodge

Pathfinder Card Game, Companion, Lost Omens, Maps, Pawns, Rulebook Subscriber

Ravingdork is correct.

You have to take your readied action before your next action.

You may take any action you like (provided you've still got one left to take). But if you do that, you've lost the opportunity to take your readied action, because you had to do that before your next action.

You're not being prevented from taking other actions, but if you do that you no longer have a readied action.


HWalsh wrote:


1. Reading a word that isn't there.
2. Assuming that the only applies non-contextually to actions other than the specific readied action.

It would have to actually read:

"You may take no other actions while you have an action readied."

Um, no. He's reading the words that are there.

"Before your next action" is pretty cut and dried.

If you take an action after Readying...that was your next action. Therefore, your readied action is now null.


Rynjin wrote:
HWalsh wrote:


1. Reading a word that isn't there.
2. Assuming that the only applies non-contextually to actions other than the specific readied action.

It would have to actually read:

"You may take no other actions while you have an action readied."

Um, no. He's reading the words that are there.

"Before your next action" is pretty cut and dried.

If you take an action after Readying...that was your next action. Therefore, your readied action is now null.

Yep you are right. I apologize. I saw "action" and thought out of reflex, "turn."

Or better known as: "Reading comprehension failure."

Man its amazing what medication can do to your normal cognitive functions at times. The error was mine and I'm more than man enough to own up to it.

So there goes another option to attempt a defense. Darn.


What level are you again?


Rynjin wrote:
What level are you again?

Only 3rd at the moment.

Getting thrown off a lot by getting every different iteration of D20 based games smashed together too.

My best bet, realistically, is to have a ranged weapon even if I suck at them...

Or get a backup reach weapon, which provides some protection in cases like this.

51 to 58 of 58 << first < prev | 1 | 2 | next > last >>
Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / General Discussion / How did? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.