How do you kill a tarrasque


Advice

101 to 124 of 124 << first < prev | 1 | 2 | 3 | next > last >>

Hogeyhead wrote:

However that is just my preferred method of incapacitation. Then if that is not enough have the mythic wizard of the party cast Mythic wish, phrase the wish as follows:

"I wish that the tarrasque were permanently dead and can never be brought back to life or unlife or made into a construct or any other kind of...

As a DM, I'd never let any variation of a wish destroy the Tarrasque, mythic or not.

The description of the Tarrasque states that there is no known way of permanently killing the beast. In the millennia that the creature has been around, it's a very safe bet that wishes have been tried at least once a generation to get rid of it, and obviously they haven't worked. I would require a far more original method than merely throwing a wish at it.

Your first method is far more acceptable.


Doki-Chan wrote:
Raven's Shadow 2 wrote:

As far as the Immune it a moot point because there is no save, attack, ray/ cone/ or line

I must admit, I didn't take the Carapace into account, but certain Asmodean things can sub in fire damage with Hellfire as well (Hellfire Blast), also Infernal Sorcerer power (10ft radius burst, ok a reflex save so have a ludicrous CHA for full damage)

Metamagic Unholy Spell can also change half that fire damage to make those fire-specialized Arcane casters feel a little less useless (for a price of course...)

EDIT: Hellfire Ray might work from the inside...(assuming you can survive that long to cast it) then the death blow will also still teleport it to the Pit?

Caverat: only as long as we are dealing with a Neutral Tarrasque...

A cube of force would buy you time about 5 rounds or so if your swallowed hole and activate.


Saldiven wrote:
Hogeyhead wrote:

However that is just my preferred method of incapacitation. Then if that is not enough have the mythic wizard of the party cast Mythic wish, phrase the wish as follows:

"I wish that the tarrasque were permanently dead and can never be brought back to life or unlife or made into a construct or any other kind of...

As a DM, I'd never let any variation of a wish destroy the Tarrasque, mythic or not.

The description of the Tarrasque states that there is no known way of permanently killing the beast. In the millennia that the creature has been around, it's a very safe bet that wishes have been tried at least once a generation to get rid of it, and obviously they haven't worked. I would require a far more original method than merely throwing a wish at it.

Your first method is far more acceptable.

But has anyone tried dumping dirt on it?


If you are immune to ability damage, are you also immune to ability drain? If not, that is way to go.


How would Forced Reincarnation work on it?

It's regeneration says it would regenerate in 3 rounds if an effect kills it but this effect instantly gives it another body, a body that doesn't have the regeneration.


Nice loophole :D

I can see the GM or devs going "your Hex slays the mighty tarrasque, and it reincarnates as a *drum roll for "random" dice*....

.... Tarrasque!!!

*Facepalm*


As that is possible,it could also turn into the Great Old One, Bokrug.


Pathfinder Adventure Path, Companion, Lost Omens, Rulebook Subscriber
Rogar Stonebow wrote:
If you are immune to ability damage, are you also immune to ability drain? If not, that is way to go.

That is questionable, but it probably isn't questionable that most GMs, if they are using the Tarrasque, are going to make darn sure that it is not going to be turned into a wraith.

Bottom line is, I think you can pretty much assume that the Tarrasque cannot be permanently killed, and if you think you have found some sort of over site that would make that statement untrue (ability drain, suffocation, whatever) I think you can pretty much trust that it will not in fact kill the Tarrasque, although it might incapacitate it for a time.

If a GM is going to bother to use the Tarrasque, he is probably going to take the 'cannot be killed' seriously.

Grand Lodge

It may not kill the Tarrasque, but putting a helm of opposite alignment on him would be very funny.

Mind, this would only work on the Godspawn version. Also, there is a strong chance he would resist the helm. However, that 1 in 10 chance would be very very funny to see.


So would putting him in a dress if you manage to knock him unconscious.

Grand Lodge

True, but the dress will not stop him from ripping your guts out the second he wakes up. His shiny new alignment would.


Pathfinder Lost Omens Subscriber
Dafydd wrote:
True, but the dress will not stop him from ripping your guts out the second he wakes up. His shiny new alignment would.

tarrasques care about 2 things, eating everything and fashion, and the 2nd just might save your life.


Lol


all these methods you guys have listed have one major flaw, they don't leave you with a tarrasque.

Best way to deal with a tarrasque is to summon an infernal duke using gate, have it melee the tarrasque once, banish it, then use handle animal to tame the tarrasque. Since drain does not heal naturally, the tarrasque will be tamable with handle animal until it somehow gets that point of intelligence back. now you have a tarrasque for a mount and you can resume conquering the world while the heroes that threw a tarrasque at you in an attempt to halt your conquering armies quake in fear at the new weapon they have given you.


Soilent wrote:
Saldiven wrote:
Hogeyhead wrote:

However that is just my preferred method of incapacitation. Then if that is not enough have the mythic wizard of the party cast Mythic wish, phrase the wish as follows:

"I wish that the tarrasque were permanently dead and can never be brought back to life or unlife or made into a construct or any other kind of...

As a DM, I'd never let any variation of a wish destroy the Tarrasque, mythic or not.

The description of the Tarrasque states that there is no known way of permanently killing the beast. In the millennia that the creature has been around, it's a very safe bet that wishes have been tried at least once a generation to get rid of it, and obviously they haven't worked. I would require a far more original method than merely throwing a wish at it.

Your first method is far more acceptable.

But has anyone tried dumping dirt on it?

You're

Spoiler:
DIRTY


KILL IT WITH FIRE!!! BURN BURN BURN!!! BWAHAHAHAHAHAHA!


...in Soviet Golarion, Tarrasque kills you.


grimdog73 wrote:
easy....just use Chuck Norris....

chuck norris is noth enough for even a goblin alone...

perhaps liam could kill a tarrasque bare handed


Dave Justus wrote:
Bottom line is, I think you can pretty much assume that the Tarrasque cannot be permanently killed, and if you think you have found some sort of over site that would make that statement untrue (ability drain, suffocation, whatever) I think you can pretty much trust that it will not in fact kill the Tarrasque, .

Amen, brother! Sing it!

I'll CHOMP!!! you last.

Dave Justus wrote:
although it might incapacitate it for a time.

That's right. All this CHOMPING!!!, I could use a good nap...

Dave Justus wrote:
If a GM is going to bother to use the Tarrasque, he is probably going to take the 'cannot be killed' seriously.

Pshaw. Like there's any OTHER choice?


2 people marked this as a favorite.
Rogar Stonebow wrote:
So would putting him in a dress if you manage to knock him unconscious.

Mrs. Tarrasque got me to wear a dress one year for Halloween.

"But, lovey," I said, "I am planning on going to the party as a colossal world eating monster!"

"Not this year," she growled. "You go as that every year. Except the year you lost that bet and went as ALF. Can't you just try something different for a change?"

"But I'll look ridiculous!" I argued. "Not happening".

I won't tell you what she whispered in my ear just then, but I will say, I was in that dress in less than 3 standard actions! Damn, that was a good night...


DM_Blake wrote:
Rogar Stonebow wrote:
So would putting him in a dress if you manage to knock him unconscious.

Mrs. Tarrasque got me to wear a dress one year for Halloween.

"But, lovey," I said, "I am planning on going to the party as a colossal world eating monster!"

"Not this year," she growled. "You go as that every year. Except the year you lost that bet and went as ALF. Can't you just try something different for a change?"

"But I'll look ridiculous!" I argued. "Not happening".

I won't tell you what she whispered in my ear just then, but I will say, I was in that dress in less than 3 standard actions! Damn, that was a good night...

That is unbelievably funny

Grand Lodge

Avadriel wrote:

all these methods you guys have listed have one major flaw, they don't leave you with a tarrasque.

Best way to deal with a tarrasque is to summon an infernal duke using gate, have it melee the tarrasque once, banish it, then use handle animal to tame the tarrasque. Since drain does not heal naturally, the tarrasque will be tamable with handle animal until it somehow gets that point of intelligence back. now you have a tarrasque for a mount and you can resume conquering the world while the heroes that threw a tarrasque at you in an attempt to halt your conquering armies quake in fear at the new weapon they have given you.

While the beastiary Tarrasque does not list it, the Inner Sea Gods version has immunity to ability drains as well as damage. Nice Try.

It occurs to me that it may actually be easier to kill it's master then it is to kill it.

Additionally, you may not even need to kill Rovagug. You just need to siphon off it's aspect of destruction. Gaining Disaster too would not be a bad idea. Then, with those aspects, you could claim to be the Tarrasque's master, defeating it, and even unmaking it if you so wanted.


Dave Justus wrote:
If a GM is going to bother to use the Tarrasque, he is probably going to take the 'cannot be killed' seriously.

I appreciate this sentiment quite a bit, and wanted to address it; I hope it doesn't count as a thread resurrect.

That logic makes sense, and not only does it make sense thematically, it has the potential to make mechanical sense as well.

I am a big player of Magic: The Gathering, and if I may be tangential, there is a rule in MTG called a "replacement effect". The way it works is that some cards have an intervening cause that effectively replaces the effect of another at it's fundamental execution. If a replacement effect says "if you would draw a card, instead do something else", all effects that say "draw a card" are treated as if they were printed to do whatever the replaced effect says to do.

For those of you still following me, I see Tarrasque "death" tricks the same way. The Tarrasque explicitly states "it cannot be killed." PERIOD. To me, this means that any effect that would result in death instead does not kill it, because the ability of the Tarrasque "replaces" any spell or ability that says kill/slay with NOT kill/slay.

Thus, any tricky soul-meddling shenanigans would ultimately not work IF it resulted in the Tarraque's body dying, because this cannot happen. Ability drain resulting in the death of it's body.... couldn't happen. Whatever the technique, the Tarrasque CANNOT BE KILLED.

Arguments can be made that transporting it's soul away could leave it braindead, or that ability-draining a stat to zero would leave it immobile or something similar. People could also simply disagree with my interpretation.

Pathfinder certainly has its flexibility of interpretation in many, many, many, many, many instances, but to me, when something states a creature cannot be killed, IT CANNOT BE KILLED. Anything that still dodges that stated truth is all good in my eyes, but otherwise I would argue that no, it wouldn't work.


Myrryr wrote:
Amusingly, it's not immune to Trap the Soul that I can tell, so with it's pitiful will save you could be walking around with a 'Pendant de Tarrasque'. Then turn yourself into a mythic lich with that same gem as your phylactery, it becomes an artifact and you get to decide what it's destruction method is... make it something damn near impossible to actually accomplish and then remove your own memory of it. Voila.

Just have the the destruction method be "the Tarrasque bites it". Phylactery is safe forever.

Barring time travel shenanigans of course.

101 to 124 of 124 << first < prev | 1 | 2 | 3 | next > last >>
Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Advice / How do you kill a tarrasque All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.