amulet of mighty fist and arcane bond? getting cheaper weapons.


Rules Questions


Is this possible? im looking to reduce the coast of this item it seem way over priced.

can you wear more than one. it only goes up to +5 from what i can read.

also i am a huge fan of eldritch heritage all of my characters have this feat to give flavor. but i came across the arcane bond wording.

can a caster of a different class take eldritch heritage feat, and use their spell list to enchant it. this seems to be a no brainier in my mind. a weapon that lets you cast a spell off of your spell list you dont have prepped and you can get cheaper enchantments. the item can literally be almost anything from the way i read it. can i have a grill ( gold teeth) lmao just to add flavor. or a Top-hat.


Just because the amulet of mighty fists is an amulet, doesn't mean that it has to be an amulet. There is no reason that the mighty fists thing couldn't be applied to something that takes up a different slot. But it'd be pointless to wear more than one because you should only take the highest bonus and as stated, you cannot wear more than one magic item per slot.

You only have a set amount of slots, so as long as you wear your arcane bonded grill that'd be your head slot item, same with the top hat but this would be GMs discretion. There is mention to a similar concept under craft wondrous item (Mythic) with a clown nose but it being too silly.

As to the spell, wording says it has to be from your spellbook, so using a clerics spell as a wizard would be out.


Yes, an amulet bonded object can be made into an Amulet of Mighty Fists.

No, you cannot wear more than one neck slot item.

It doesn't matter where the spell comes from when enchanting, and it really doesn't matter if you don't know the spell at all, it merely raises the DC by 5.


You cannot stack Amulets.

Such as I'm aware there's nothing stopping you from using Arcane Bond's enhancement clause with any spell list you please.

However, using its casting ability with another class' spell list does not seem RAW-legal. It's called out as needing the spell to be "in his spellbook". A Cleric can certainly wind up with a Bonded Object, but he doesn't have a spellbook or any provision for writing in spells.


Gregory Connolly wrote:

Yes, an amulet bonded object can be made into an Amulet of Mighty Fists.

No, you cannot wear more than one neck slot item.

It doesn't matter where the spell comes from when enchanting, and it really doesn't matter if you don't know the spell at all, it merely raises the DC by 5.

Wow that's alot. just 5? ok then so a fighter can do this? or a paladin with divine bond, and arcane bond. a shield and a sword combo with cheaper weapons seems to be a great idea. and i dont need to know the spells.

i do believe i saw a feat where you can get and extra item slot in the same place. im not sure if one item would override the other. but im thinking this is the case.


arcanine wrote:
Gregory Connolly wrote:

Yes, an amulet bonded object can be made into an Amulet of Mighty Fists.

No, you cannot wear more than one neck slot item.

It doesn't matter where the spell comes from when enchanting, and it really doesn't matter if you don't know the spell at all, it merely raises the DC by 5.

Wow that's alot. just 5? ok then so a fighter can do this? or a paladin with divine bond, and arcane bond. a shield and a sword combo with cheaper weapons seems to be a great idea. and i dont need to know the spells.

i do believe i saw a feat where you can get and extra item slot in the same place. im not sure if one item would override the other. but im thinking this is the case.

As long as you have enough bonus to spellcraft or craft: jewelry a Fighter or Paladin should be able to make a bonded amulet into an amulet of mighty fists just fine.

What it won't do is let you cast a spell known like a wizard can, but as long as you are cool with that it can be a workable option.

You are essentially selling the feat used to get the bonded object for half the price of the amulet at that point, so only going to be worth it in a campaign where money is tightly controlled or there is no easy way to get items bought or made on demand.


can you also do this with armor?


arcanine wrote:
can you also do this with armor?

No. I know of no exception that would let you, though there might be one out there somewhere.

Amulet, Ring, Staff, Wand, and Weapon are the only things you can get as a bonded object without some specific exception. You could select a heavy or light shield as your weapon, but bucklers, tower shields, and any type of armor are not possible.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / amulet of mighty fist and arcane bond? getting cheaper weapons. All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.