Spending PP to buy items and the availability rules


Pathfinder Society

Liberty's Edge RPG Superstar 2011 Top 32

Are PP purchases subject to the always available rule?

For example, wands don't appear on the list, and a level one wand would usually require 9 Fame to get. But everyone buys healing wands with their first 2 PP.

Is the "any single item" language in footnote 3 of the PP table supposed to overrule the Fame mechanic?

if so can one buy dragon hide breastplate?

Grand Lodge 4/5

It bypasses the fame limits, and yes you can use it to get Dragonhide Breastplate before your fame would normally allow it.

Silver Crusade

Spending prestige points to obtain an item is not a purchase. It is an abstraction of you calling in a favor from your faction. They are giving you the item as that favor.

Sczarni 5/5 ⦵⦵

Starfinder Charter Superscriber

Popular options include:

1st level Wands
3rd level Potions
Oil of Daylight
Mwk/Mwk Double Weapons
Dragonhide Breastplate
Darkwood Composite Longbow (Str +3)

Silver Crusade

1 person marked this as a favorite.

Don't forget scrolls.

You can get a scroll with multiple castings of the same spell.

Level of spell (Number of castings)
Cleric, Wizard, Druid
4th (1)
3rd (2)
2nd (5)

Bard, Ranger, Paladin (When the spell is not on the spell lists for clerics, wizards, or druids.)
3rd (1)
2nd (3)

Grand Lodge 4/5 Venture-Agent, Nevada—Las Vegas aka kinevon

A potion or oil of a third level spell

For 1 PP you could get 6 castings of a 1st level spell, Endure Elements when you don't need a full wand of it, for instance.

Silver Crusade 5/5 ⦵⦵ Venture-Captain, Germany—Bavaria

Everything above, as well as potions of Fly, or a scroll of dimension door are good PP purchases. If you rely on an animal companion, a scrolls with a couple of castings of carry companion can be very nice.

Shadow Lodge

In case of weapons and armor, keep in mind you have to obey the standard availability rules when upgrading.

An example would be that dragonhide breastplate. Yes, you can pick it up using 2 PP without needing to meet a fame requirement, but to upgrade it to a +1 dragonhide breastplate you will need to meet any fame requirements of the final item.

Grand Lodge 4/5 Venture-Agent, Nevada—Las Vegas aka kinevon

James Wygle wrote:

In case of weapons and armor, keep in mind you have to obey the standard availability rules when upgrading.

An example would be that dragonhide breastplate. Yes, you can pick it up using 2 PP without needing to meet a fame requirement, but to upgrade it to a +1 dragonhide breastplate you will need to meet any fame requirements of the final item.

And that would be the Fame requirement for the full, normal, value, not with the value of set to 0 for the breastplate due to PP purchase rules. That is only for resale purposes.

Community / Forums / Organized Play / Pathfinder Society / Spending PP to buy items and the availability rules All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.