Dismissal inside the Dancing Hut


Reign of Winter


Pathfinder Card Game Subscriber

Hi,

I have a question: One of my players wondered during our last session if dismissal would work on creatures inside the Dancing Hut, as they are in a extradimensional space and therefore not in their dimension...

I said that it wouldn't work, but I couldn't tell why. I think, I did it because my "greatest fear" would be that they rtry it with

Spoiler:
Elvanna in the final battle of book 6
.
But now I'm curious: Does it work or not?


I don't know the rules for the dancing hut well enough to know if it might affect the situation...but the interesting thing is that someone else could use dismissal on the PCs to send them back to the material plane if it worked on others as well. But yes, as far as I know dismissal would technically work.

That would be an interesting battle. You send all the PCs back to the material plane gaining control of the dancing hut. Now they have to figure out what to do about that.

Edit: Unless the inside of the dancing hut is an extra-dimensional space. Dimensional travel doesn't appear to work within extra-dimensional spaces.


Spoiler:
If it works on Elvanna, then give her the spells to planeshift back. Or give her spell resistance (if she does not have it).


As a point of evidence, Zilvaazarat the mercane can Plane Shift directly into and out of the Hut. Frozen Stars specifically calls this out as the best way to keep him around as the party's means of magical bartering.

Shadow Lodge

From what I understand, the interior of the Hut isn't an extra dimensional space, it is instead a large number of demi-planes.


Serum wrote:
From what I understand, the interior of the Hut isn't an extra dimensional space, it is instead a large number of demi-planes.

That's right. Each new configuration of the hut is its own demi-plane.


Pathfinder Card Game Subscriber

But what does that mean? As far as I understand Demiplanes they are part of another plane, therefore the PC's (and any other non-native Creatures with them) are "outsiders" in the hut and can therefore be disnissed or banished?


A number of the Hut sections (especially in Book 6, and including the one where the party faces Elvanna) are dimensionally locked - no summoning in, no teleporting, no banishing out, no offensive plane shifting.

Banishment and (un)holy word spells also normally require being on your home plane to work, and the Hut sections are rarely, if ever, something's actual home plane.

The dismissal spell actually could work in an unlocked Hut section, sending a PC to somewhere on the Prime, but so could an offensive plane shift.

Shadow Lodge

Killer Power wrote:
But what does that mean? As far as I understand Demiplanes they are part of another plane, therefore the PC's (and any other non-native Creatures with them) are "outsiders" in the hut and can therefore be disnissed or banished?

Demiplanes are as much of their own plane as any other 'major' plane. They just reside within the Ethereal or Astral planes. All forms of planar travel work as with other planes.

That's just for interest's sake. Zhangar's got all the right information.


Pathfinder Card Game Subscriber

Thanks a lot for these clarifications!
Haven't thought about the dimensionally locked areas... (read the sixth book only once, so I think I would have found that when I prepped it for gaming as soon as we got there).

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder Adventure Path / Reign of Winter / Dismissal inside the Dancing Hut All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Reign of Winter