Barbarian's Rage


Rules Questions


I am pretty sure this is a really simple question. So when a Barbarian rages they "She also gains 2 temporary hit points per Hit Die." according to the Core Rule Book.

If a Barbarian's health is 12 (the maximum hit die for a Barbarian) does that mean they get 24 temporary hit die on top of the 12 they have already?

Sovereign Court

Dendail wrote:

I am pretty sure this is a really simple question. So when a Barbarian rages they "She also gains 2 temporary hit points per Hit Die." according to the Core Rule Book.

If a Barbarian's health is 12 (the maximum hit die for a Barbarian) does that mean they get 24 temporary hit die on top of the 12 they have already?

The Barbarian at level 1 has 1 Hit Die - the maximised 1d12 that gives you 12 Hit Points at level 1 - and 12 Hit Points derived from that Hit Die.

So the Barbarian gets 2 temporary Hit Points from Rage at level 1, as it gets 2 temporary Hit Points per Hit Die (1), not 2 Hit Points per Hit Point. Easy to confuse given the name similarity.


You're mistaking hit points with hit dice. The barbarian with health 12 has only 1 hit die of type d12. The Hit Die is the thing with sides you roll or have already rolled to see how much health you got at levelup.


Ah! Ok thank you for the replies! Yea I did get the two mixed up and that makes a lot more sense now lol.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Barbarian's Rage All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.