The Chase


GM Discussion

Scarab Sages 5/5

I have been finding entries like this:
Barnel begins two squares ahead of the PCs (on the
Embassy Wall). He attempts a double move every round....

Does this mean he is moving across the one square and doing one action to move to the next?

Otherwise what does Double move mean?

I cannot find any other reference to a double move in the Game Mastery Guide or any where else in reference to a chase...

5/5 ⦵⦵⦵

I think it means he attempts both actions on the square in an attempt to move ahead 2

Sovereign Court

Pathfinder Adventure Path, Companion Subscriber

That would move him ahead three, though.

I think it might mean:
Move (normal move action): do a thing, advance a square
Move (replacing standard): do a thing, advance a square

That's my assumption. ^_^


1 person marked this as a favorite.
Julian Swifthands wrote:

Does this mean he is moving across the one square and doing one action to move to the next?

Yea in general that's what the chase target does in his turn.

When someone first enters a square, they're at one edge of it. It still takes a move action to get from one edge of the square to the other (moved one square). Standard action to attempt the skill check and advance to next square (moved to second square).

If you had quoted the Barnel sentence in it's entirety, it probably would have clarified its context better.

Quote:
He attempts a double move every round, never attempting to move three squares unless the PCs are immediately behind him.

So unless the PCs are in the square behind him, he only ever does move+standard to go to the next square. If they are behind him, he does the full-round action to move 3 squares (move to opposite edge of his current square, do both skill checks in that square to advance two more squares). Such a case is also riskier to the chased party as they risk failing either check by more than 5 don't move at all or fail both and getting mired in his current square, needing a full-round action to get out.

Grand Lodge 4/5 Venture-Captain, California—Sacramento aka FLite

Kalindlara wrote:

That would move him ahead three, though.

I think it might mean:
Move (normal move action): do a thing, advance a square
Move (replacing standard): do a thing, advance a square

That's my assumption. ^_^

Except "do a thing" *is* a standard.

So what you just described is a double move + double standard, which is two more actions than he can take in a round.

Grand Lodge 5/5

Isn't the try both actions move 3 cards called a double move in the chase combat rules?

Sovereign Court

Pathfinder Adventure Path, Companion Subscriber
FLite wrote:
Kalindlara wrote:

That would move him ahead three, though.

I think it might mean:
Move (normal move action): do a thing, advance a square
Move (replacing standard): do a thing, advance a square

That's my assumption. ^_^

Except "do a thing" *is* a standard.

So what you just described is a double move + double standard, which is two more actions than he can take in a round.

Sorry, I spoke poorly.

What I meant by "do a thing" was "perform one of the challenges on the Chase Card to advance one card". I wanted to specify that he wasn't just moving up two cards for free.

My mistake. I'll try to be clearer in the future. ^_^

Grand Lodge 4/5 Venture-Captain, California—Sacramento aka FLite

I under stood that, my point was that performing the challenge on the card is a standard action. There is literally no way to advance two cards in one turn. You can go 1 card (move + standard) or you can go 3 cards (full round.) You cannot go 2.

The only exception to this would be houserulesish where one obstacle is "pick the lock on the gate" and a player says "okay, I pick the lock on the gate and leave it open for everyone else to pass through." in which case I would say that that path on that card has no obstacle any more, and the rest of the players can simply move on to the next card without spending a standard. But that gets into squishy territory.

Grand Lodge 4/5 Venture-Captain, California—Sacramento aka FLite

It occurs to me that allowing one of the parties in a chase to bypass some obstacles would be a good way to reflect home court advantage. (not all of them obviously.)


FLite wrote:

I under stood that, my point was that performing the challenge on the card is a standard action. There is literally no way to advance two cards in one turn. You can go 1 card (move + standard) or you can go 3 cards (full round.) You cannot go 2.

That's not exactly it.

Check out the PRD example.

1) You start at the left side of the first square or card (Cluttered Rooftop/Secret Handholds). A move action is needed to go from the left side to the right side = That's one square moved. You don't actually leave first square but the chase rules still count that as the first square moved for all its rules and terminology.

2) When exiting the first card, a standard action is required before you can get to the next card, you gotta accomplish one of the tasks: either Acrobatics DC 10 or Perception DC 25. You succed, you move to the second square (Steeply Sloped Roof/Crumbling Rooftop) = Second square moved.

So for your case of "1 card (move + standard)" that's actually 2 cards.
3 cards is full round, and in the PRD example, one starting at the first card, and successfully doing full-round action, he'd end up at the 3rd square (Gap in the Wall/Clothesline Tightrope).

Grand Lodge 4/5 Venture-Captain, California—Sacramento aka FLite

No, it is one card. You have moved from the left side of card one to the left side of card two. Two cards would be from the left side of card one to the right side of card 2 (and would take two moves and a standard)

A full move would take him from the right side of card one (cluttered rooftop et all.) to the left side of card 4. (Narrow Ledge)

rereading the rules, it is not clear to me if you can take a full action to go from the left hand side of card one to the left hand side of card 4.

Community / Forums / Organized Play / GM Discussion / The Chase All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.