GM Credit


GM Discussion

*

Or; I'm A Derp.

I've been doing PFS on and off for a bit, but this bit of trivia is escaping me. I was recently reading the Season 6 guide, and in the area about GM rewards it mentions GMs gain access to xp, money, and boons from the scenarios they run.

But uh... what about items? Obviously, one would still need the corresponding chronicle sheet, but can I use the money my character (that the GM creds are applied to) has to buy some of the items on the sheets?

Thanks for the help, in advance.

Liberty's Edge ***** Venture-Agent, United Kingdom—England—Chester aka Paz

Yes you can. Your character gains access to items from the subtiers up to his level.

*

Okay. I figured as much, but wanted to make sure. In the Guide it does a good job of mentioning GMs get everything else, but no mention of the goods. Or at least, not that I saw. I could have just missed it.

Thanks.

Grand Lodge **** Venture-Lieutenant, Canada—Manitoba—Brandon aka kevin_video

It's unfortunate we don't get anything for the day job though.

***

kevin_video wrote:
It's unfortunate we don't get anything for the day job though.

Where is this little snippet found? I've been told this by a number of people, but no-one has been able to cite the source. I have scoured the FAQ and the players guide and it is not stated anywhere. A search of "GM credit day job" just indicates a repetition of GMs don't get day job checks, but no indication of where this is written. What am I missing?

(I can see a number of good reasons why a GM shouldn't get a day job check, but shouldn't and don't are not the same thing. Also I really like to know where these things are in case one day I am asked)

*

It's in the Guide to organized play. See page 38 and 39 of the Season 7 guide.

Quote:


Game Master Rewards
In Pathfinder Society Organized Play, we reward GMs for
volunteering their time to run events. Starting with Version
2.2 of this document (and not retroactive to any previous
scenarios that were run), any GM who runs a scenario
gets full credit for that scenario applied to one of her own
characters. “Full credit” means the GM gets the following:
1 XP for the scenario, 100% of the Max Gold for the subtier
most appropriate to the GM’s PC, and 2 PP (or, for a slow
advancement track character, 1/2 XP, 1 PP, and 50% of the
Max Gold for the subtier most appropriate to the GM’s PC).
The GM may select any special boons bestowed by a
Chronicle sheet, such as free magical treasure, regional
boons, or future bonus die rolls. The GM does not get a
Downtime.

Downtime is where/when a day job check is made.

***

Thank you. Just typical I was looking for the wrong thing...

Dark Archive ***** Venture-Lieutenant, Indiana—Muncie aka Dubgall

The GM also always gets to pass any pass fail conditions. I.E. faction objectives or the better of any social condition

Liberty's Edge ***** Venture-Captain, Missouri—St. Louis aka Joshua N Hancock

Jay Zicht wrote:
The GM also always gets to pass any pass fail conditions. I.E. faction objectives or the better of any social condition

The exception to that is specials, as everyone (including GMs) in Sky Key Solution at Gen Con on Friday received 1 prestige point.

The Exchange ***** RPG Superstar 2010 Top 16

Joshua, can you cite that exception, since it runs counter to the written guide text?

Scarab Sages *****

On applying GM credit for Adventure Paths - is it still true a GM cannot apply the credit to a new 1st level - like a player can?

Grand Lodge ***** Venture-Captain, Arizona—Phoenix aka TriOmegaZero

No, it is not true.

PFS Roleplaying Guild Guide pg39 wrote:
A GM may assign credit for running an adventure in any of the same ways a player can, and must follow the same rules as a player when applying credit to a character.

Dark Archive *****

Pathfinder Adventure Path, Class Deck, Maps, Modules Subscriber
Steven Schopmeyer wrote:

No, it is not true.

PFS Roleplaying Guild Guide pg39 wrote:
A GM may assign credit for running an adventure in any of the same ways a player can, and must follow the same rules as a player when applying credit to a character.

And because when we updated that language it was a case of clear policy with the ability to expand on the boards...

Assigning a chronicle is normally the same step as applying it, except when a gm or player playing a pregen or campaign mode credit received a chronicle that is for a level that cannot be applied immediately.

When assigned the chronicle can be awarded as a first level chronicle as a player can, or held to apply per the tier based rule.

If it helps, consider a held gm chronicle as a minimum level to play the adventure pregen play and use those rules to determine how to assign and apply. The result will be correct.

I couldn't convince myself, let alone Mike, that we needed this much text in the guide to explain "use the same rules as players"

Liberty's Edge ***** Venture-Captain, Missouri—St. Louis aka Joshua N Hancock

Chris Mortika wrote:
Joshua, can you cite that exception, since it runs counter to the written guide text?

John Compton said it over the PA at Gen Con.

Silver Crusade *****

Joshua Hancock wrote:
Chris Mortika wrote:
Joshua, can you cite that exception, since it runs counter to the written guide text?
John Compton said it over the PA at Gen Con.

I'm pretty sure that was to clarify for table GM' s that their players should only be getting 1 PP for the adventure. I know there were a handful of GM's that were mistaken about what the secondary success condition was.

Sky Key Solution info:
The secondary success condition was: The house earns top performance OR house earns second best performance AND keeps their version of KS alive. Some people were reading that as top result OR second best OR keep KS alive.

Like I say, I'm pretty sure their announcement was for the benefit of table GM's who weren't sure how many PP their players earned for the adventure.

Liberty's Edge ***** Venture-Captain, Missouri—St. Louis aka Joshua N Hancock

I was mostly going on the word of a VC at a table next to mine.

Also, Chris, I do not appreciate the loaded question.

The Exchange ***** RPG Superstar 2010 Top 16

1 person marked this as a favorite.

Not intended to be a loaded question, Joshua. You're announcing a change from the printed rules. I'd still like a citation. If you're going by the instructions of a Venture Captain, can you remember which one?

Maybe there's something on the Venture Officer boards about this, that I don't know about. But in general, we don't tie GM rewards to the players' level of success, because that can bias GM rulings. (If I say you all succeed, then I'll get an extra prestige point.)

Liberty's Edge **** Venture-Captain, Indiana—Northern

1 person marked this as a favorite.
Joshua Hancock wrote:
Chris Mortika wrote:
Joshua, can you cite that exception, since it runs counter to the written guide text?
John Compton said it over the PA at Gen Con.

That was in reference to players - nothing he said changes what GMs get.


A bit of a Res here (and maybe not the most appropriate thread other than starting a new one), but I was part of this Special Event at a Convention going on this weekend. I GM'ed the 5-6 table and have a question regarding the PP award at the end.

Basically the House failed the final mission, although we scored enough points for an Impressive Performance. In looking at the Secondary Success condition it's telling me:

Spoiler:
If the House achieves an Impressive Performance and keeps their instance of Kreighton Shaine alive during Part 3, they get their 2nd PP

Now when the Conclusion begins, that means Part 3 has ended, so technically the NPC condition was met. And since our House scored 44 VPs, wouldn't that mean the conditions for the Secondary Success was met?

The Overseer says no, but as I'm looking at this, I see a yes.

Am I missing something? The packet is quite large and packed full of details, so it's quite possible I've missed it.

Community / Forums / Organized Play / GM Discussion / GM Credit All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in GM Discussion