[PFS] Rules question with an Eidolon


Rules Questions


8 people marked this as FAQ candidate.

Basically what are the rules on giving a biped a martial weapon? (Giving that he has a weapon proficiency.) Basically can I summon him with a weapon if he has one on his gear? Or do I have to summon him, then hand it to him everytime it's summoned?


It doesn't appear with any gear.

You'd have to hand it stuff to put on or wield every time it's summoned.

Grand Lodge

1 person marked this as a favorite.

I'd like to know the answer, but this isn't really PFS specific. Flagged for move to rules forum.


I think Father has it right. It's a small inconvenience to have to tote around a weapon for a martial eidolon, but I think that's the way it'd have to be.

Which makes me glad that they can't wear armor or we'd have poor summoners lugging around empty suits of full plate every time their eidolon is unsummoned.


Tabletop Giant wrote:

I think Father has it right. It's a small inconvenience to have to tote around a weapon for a martial eidolon, but I think that's the way it'd have to be.

Which makes me glad that they can't wear armor or we'd have poor summoners lugging around empty suits of full plate every time their eidolon is unsummoned.

And they'd probably want to invest in a wand of Swift Girding.

Dark Archive

There seems to be some table variation on this one. Some GMs call it as nothing goes with them and you have to kit them out every time they're summoned. Some say that it's essentially their gear after you give it to them, so it becomes part of the summon.

Grand Lodge

In the absence of rules one way or the other, and given that they share a soul and a shared set of item slots, and the cool imagery invoked, and the reduction in book keeping of "okay this round I give him the belt of strength, now his stats are..." I am going with:

When the Eidolon is summoned, it rips free of the summoner, taking "it's" gear with it. If the Eidolon is voluntarily dismissed adjacent to the summoner, it merges back with him, returning the gear in the process. If the Eidolon is dismissed not adjacent to the summoner, or if it is banished either through a spell or through loss of hit points, the gear drops where it was when it disappeared.

This seems especially thematic for the shadow caller, but feels like it should work for the rest of them.


What was the final ruling? Because I've yet to find anything in the rules. :-/ Was it Father's or FLite rule?

Grand Lodge

nothing yet. Hit FAQ if you want an answer


Summoner wrote:
Eidolons are treated as summoned creatures

In order for a creature to keep equipment it didn't already have, it must be Called.

Grand Lodge

I was hoping the summoners handbook might have something on this, like an item to hep you quick equip your eidolon.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder RPG / Rules Questions / [PFS] Rules question with an Eidolon All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.