S&S Merisiel's Shadow Role and "before the encounter"


Rules Questions and Gameplay Discussion

Grand Lodge

I'm feeling like a dunce here, folks.

I am poring over the character sheets, trying to decide which character to play in Season 1, and I have a question about Skulls & Shackles Merisiel.

In her Shadow role, Merisiel can gain the following power:

S&S Merisiel Shadow Role wrote:
When a monster deals damage to you before (□ or after) the encounter, reduce that damage to 0.

I don't remember many (if any) banes in S&S that do damage before or after you encounter them. I do remember a LOT that do damage before or after you ACT.

Now, before you jump to this thread, I will tell you that I've already read it. It takes place before S&S, so I would think the verbiage would have been changed on the sheet (per this entry by Vic. Was it just overlooked and EVERYONE else who's played her in S&S has assumed the power means "before or after you act" or am I missing something?


Pathfinder Card Game Subscriber

It has to really be before you act. Are you seeing that on the character sheet or the character card?

Grand Lodge

The character sheet. I re-downloaded it just to be sure it hadn't been errata'd.


Pathfinder Card Game Subscriber

I checked. It is "encounter" on the card. Seems everyone missed that. I'm sure it is supposed to be "act".


Pathfinder Battles Case Subscriber; Pathfinder Card Game Subscriber

Good point is it's only a quick fix on the PDF...

Adventure Card Game Designer

Noted.


I always assumed that was just old language; "before the encounter" and "after the encounter" are old ways of saying "before / after you act."

Grand Lodge

Sandslice wrote:
I always assumed that was just old language; "before the encounter" and "after the encounter" are old ways of saying "before / after you act."

That was my hope. I just wanted something to point to if I'm challenged on it.

Glad I could contribute in a small way, Mike. I have WAY too much fun with your game, and I'm really looking forward to Apocrypha, too.

Adventure Card Game Designer

The Knight Argent wrote:
Glad I could contribute in a small way, Mike. I have WAY too much fun with your game, and I'm really looking forward to Apocrypha, too.

Coolsville.

Dark Archive

Pathfinder Card Game Subscriber

I was looking at Merisiel from Skull and Shackles yesterday and saw the wording of this power. I thought it worked this way and was glad I found this thread. I decided to play her in OP as someone else in my group claimed Wrath Kyra. I bookmarked this page to show to anyone who contested me. Then last night I got an e-mail that her shadow role had been fixed to include the eratta. Thanks to Paizo, Vic, Mike, and the rest of the loan shark games team. Awesome product and excellent support!

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder Adventure Card Game / Rules Questions and Gameplay Discussion / S&S Merisiel's Shadow Role and "before the encounter" All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions and Gameplay Discussion