Inspired Inititive?


Rules Questions


Initiative Rules wrote:
At the start of a battle, each combatant makes an initiative check. An initiative check is a Dexterity check. Each character applies his or her Dexterity modifier to the roll, as well as other modifiers from feats, spells, and other effects. Characters act in order, counting down from the highest result to the lowest. In every round that follows, the characters act in the same order (unless a character takes an action that results in his or her initiative changing; see Special Initiative Actions).
Inspiration Rules wrote:
An investigator has the ability to augment skill checks and ability checks through his brilliant inspiration. The investigator has an inspiration pool equal to 1/2 his investigator level + his Intelligence modifier (minimum 1). An investigator's inspiration pool refreshes each day, typically after he gets a restful night's sleep. As a free action, he can expend one use of inspiration from his pool to add 1d6 to the result of that check, including any on which he takes 10 or 20. This choice is made after the check is rolled and before the results are revealed. An investigator can only use inspiration once per check or roll. The investigator can use inspiration on any Knowledge, Linguistics, or Spellcraft skill checks without expending a use of inspiration, provided he's trained in the skill.

So are investigators able to use inspiration on initiative rolls, or are you not allowed to take free actions for that roll?


You need to use your inspiration as a free action. Free actions are done on your turn. You don't get a turn until after you have rolled for initiative. Therefore by the time it's your turn it's too late to inspire your initiative roll.


1 person marked this as a favorite.

DM_Blake, that's a bit of an over-literal RAW approach don't you think. That means that effectively I can't use Inspired Initiative out of combat, right?

It should be applicable to any skill/ability check you make. Even ones outside of turn based initiative. And that includes the initiative check itself.


1 person marked this as a favorite.

Maybe.

Inspiration doesn't say that it can be used in or out of combat, though I assume it probably can. It surely doesn't say that it can't. And since for some reason the Initiative roll is listed as a DEX "check" (it isn't a check at all; checks have DCs with pass/fail determinations), then probably by RAW an Investigator can use his Inspiration on an initiative roll.

Me, I'd probably rule that initiative rolls are NOT "checks' at all (because they aren't), but that's not RAW.

From a simulationist view, it seems that every use of an ability check or a skill check is something the character is actually DOING (or trying to do). The character actually MAKES an attempt, he USES his ability or skill by exerting his will and desire to do this thing. Initiative rolls are something else. You don't exert your will, you don't try to win initiative, you don't even know it's happening; a battle just starts and you do you your best to win the battle.

In other words, skill and ability checks are some kind of effort on the part of the character attempting them. Initiative is not. It's a roll that happens behind the scenes with no thought or desire or awareness on the part of the character. Which makes me think that any ability that requires you to spend an action to use the ability, even a free action, means the ability requires effort and could only be applied to a roll that also requires effort. But again, that's not RAW.

So I reverse my original assumption that the OP was trying to use it in combat (in which case it's already too late) and say that RAW would allow an out-of-combat application to inspire his initiative.


DM_Blake wrote:

Inspiration doesn't say that it can be used in or out of combat, though I assume it probably can. It surely doesn't say that it can't. And since for some reason the Initiative roll is listed as a DEX "check" (it isn't a check at all; checks have DCs with pass/fail determinations), then probably by RAW an Investigator can use his Inspiration on an initiative roll.

Me, I'd probably rule that initiative rolls are NOT "checks' at all (because they aren't), but that's not RAW.

Initiative is an opposed check against another's initiative check. The DC is the other's check.

/cevah


DM_Blake wrote:
You don't exert your will, you don't try to win initiative,

A lot of military theory has to do with exactly trying to win initiative.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Inspired Inititive? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.