Blade Barrier Clarification


Rules Questions


My DM says that you can only target large creatures with this spell since it can only be cast on grid intersections, thus medium creatures are immune. Is this correct?

Sovereign Court

Pathfinder Adventure Path, Companion Subscriber

Not quite. While its start and end points are on grid intersections, those points can be at such an angle that the line between them passes through several squares.

...

...

bxxxxxxxxx
xxxxxxxxxx
xxxxxxxxxx
xxxxxxxxxb

In this little diagram, several squares in the middle there are intersected by a barrier starting and ending at the b points.

Does that make sense? :)


I'm not sure how he got that interpretation at all.

It doesn't even target a creature to begin with.

Range medium (100 ft. + 10 ft./level)

Effect wall of whirling blades up to 20 ft. long/level, or a ringed wall of whirling blades with a radius of up to 5 ft. per two levels; either form is 20 ft. high

Maybe someone else can give you a better explanation.


My DM told me that it can only be tied to the grid points, which i find odd.Thus it would only effect large creatures and would totally sidetrack medium creatures.

Sovereign Court

Pathfinder Adventure Path, Companion Subscriber
VesperCrow wrote:
My DM told me that it can only be tied to the grid points, which i find odd.Thus it would only effect large creatures and would totally sidetrack medium creatures.

Hm. Did you see my post? Can I help clarify my explanation?

Or is your DM saying that the barrier itself has to stay on the straight lines of the grid? If so, that is not supported by the rules - that's all him. :)


Kalindlara wrote:
VesperCrow wrote:
My DM told me that it can only be tied to the grid points, which i find odd.Thus it would only effect large creatures and would totally sidetrack medium creatures.

Hm. Did you see my post? Can I help clarify my explanation?

Or is your DM saying that the barrier itself has to stay on the straight lines of the grid? If so, that is not supported by the rules - that's all him. :)

I agree with your explanation, that is how i understood the spell description in the first place. I just find it odd that my DM would interpret it otherwise.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Blade Barrier Clarification All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.