Veiled Illusionist Disguise Self abilities function

Rules Questions

Sorry if this is more obvious for some, but my brain is having trouble processing exactly how the Veil Pool and Sivanah's Veils work.

Text for Veil Pool:
"As a standard action, the veiled illusionist can spend 1
point from her veil pool to alter her appearance as per the
spell disguise self. This is a glamer effect that lasts a number
of hours equal to the veiled illusionist’s class level. The DC
to disbelieve the effect is equal to 15 + the number of points
remaining in the veiled illusionist’s veil pool."

Text for Sivanah's Veil:
"A veiled illusionist learns to cloak herself in
the forms favored by the goddess Sivanah—human, half ling,
elf, gnome, cyclops, and naga. Once the veiled illusionist
learns a veil, she can expend 1 point from her veil pool to
disguise herself as a member of that veil’s race as though using
disguise self, even if doing so would exceed the limitations of
disguise self. When disguising herself as one of these races, she
gains an additional bonus on her Disguise check equal to her
class level."

My confusion is that the first one says it functions like disguise self, but with a will DC. Does this still modify disguise checks and do NPCs even get a perception check on top of the will save to see through it?

And in counter, the SV states it adds to your disguise check, but doesn't mention a will save. So I'm not certain if it's assumed to have a will save like the standard veil pool ability or not.

Could someone clear it up for me? Thank you!

You want to take a look at the text of Disguise Self. Specifically it says "The spell does not provide the abilities or mannerisms of the chosen form, nor does it alter the perceived tactile (touch) or audible (sound) properties of you or your equipment. If you use this spell to create a disguise, you get a +10 bonus on the Disguise check. A creature that interacts with the glamer gets a Will save to recognize it as an illusion."

So to see through the disguise is just a perception check. However, if someone actually interacts with the illusion by touching it they can also make a will save to disbelieve the illusion.

Thanks Kane, I should have read disguise self more closely! That clears it up.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Veiled Illusionist Disguise Self abilities function All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions