Polymorph and Death


Rules Questions


1 person marked this as FAQ candidate.

Baleful Polymorph has a duration of Permanent. Some applications of Polymorph Any Object also have a duration of Permanent.

In an old Pathfinder-like game I used to play, a polymorphed creature reverted to its original form at the time of its death. That doesn't seem to be mentioned, one way or the other, in the Pathfinder rules.

In Pathfinder, do polymorphed creatures revert to their original forms at the time of their deaths?

Dark Archive

if not talk about the perfect murder and a good way to make money.


Genius.

Protip: turn them into a cake.

The rest takes care of itself.

Dark Archive

yes or sheep or what every makes the most money I know turn them in to horse and rent the horses out for money or if you will cows to the sloter

RPG Superstar Season 9 Top 16

If you really wanna be technical, then they revert to normal. The spell says "one creature." When the creature dies, they depart to the afterlife and leave their body behind. A non-animated dead body is an object. Since the body is no longer part of the creature and the spell does not target objects, their body reverts to normal. Consequently, polymorph effects only work on corporeal creatures, so the spell would end anyway.


Cyrad wrote:
If you really wanna be technical, then they revert to normal. The spell says "one creature." When the creature dies, they depart to the afterlife and leave their body behind. A non-animated dead body is an object. Since the body is no longer part of the creature and the spell does not target objects, their body reverts to normal. Consequently, polymorph effects only work on corporeal creatures, so the spell would end anyway.

Polymorph Any Object works on objects or creatures.


What Cyrad said.

Illegal target once dead --> spell ends --> revert to normal.


Guru-Meditation wrote:

What Cyrad said.

Illegal target once dead --> spell ends --> revert to normal.

Polymorph Any Object works on objects or creatures, therefore the target is not "illegal".

Shadow Lodge

Snowblind wrote:

Genius.

Protip: turn them into a cake.

The rest takes care of itself.

THAT'S JUST WRONG !


Avatar-1 wrote:
Snowblind wrote:

Genius.

Protip: turn them into a cake.

The rest takes care of itself.

THAT'S JUST WRONG !

There's a spell that damns souls to the lower planes as an intended feature, completely bypassing judgment.

Oh, and a familair thst can do it to.

If you think the whole cake thing is wrong...

Well, some of the really evil stuff in pathfinder is...

Well, fleshwarped elves...
deamons in general...
Agonizing obedence...
Helm of opposite alignment...
Headband of seduction...
An alarming lack of butterfly stats...

Yeah.

Grand Lodge

2 people marked this as a favorite.
Pathfinder Battles Case Subscriber; Pathfinder Companion, Maps Subscriber

Back in 3.0 my friend liked to play a character specialized in Polymorph Other into fish (before the loop was closed) then beat them to death on the ground. He called it a Coup de Cod.


Taenia wrote:
Back in 3.0 my friend liked to play a character specialized in Polymorph Other into fish (before the loop was closed) then beat them to death on the ground. He called it a Coup de Cod.

Polymorphing the target into a small worm works just as well and avoids the saving throw bonus.

With Polymorph Any Object, you can turn the target into a stuffed doll and then beat the stuffing out of them.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Polymorph and Death All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.