Synergist witch with a Protector familiar?


Rules Questions


1 person marked this as a favorite.

Okay, so the syngergist witch-- "At 1st level, a synergist gains the ability to meld or unmeld with her familiar as a standard action. While the familiar is melded, its body becomes part of the synergist's and can't be targeted or affected by any means (including ongoing effects), though the familiar can still communicate its feelings empathically. The symbiosis causes the synergist to adopt some basic physical features of the familiar and grants additional abilities based on the synergist's level."
A protector familiar-- "A protector gains Bodyguard and Combat Reflexes as bonus feats. If the familiar is occupying its master's square, it can use Bodyguard to aid another to improve its master's AC even if it doesn't threaten the attacking foe."

Therefore, logic tells me that this combo would mean that the synergist witch would get a constant +2 to AC while merged with the familiar. True, the merge does not allow the animal to attack separately, but RAW says that the familiar can use the bodyguard feat "even if it doesn't threaten the attacking foe."
Is this accurate, or am I misinterpreting something?


Bump

Silver Crusade

Can a familiar who is melded take actions? Since the familiar can't be targeted or affected by any means, and can only communicate its feelings empathically, this becomes the essence of your question. Bodyguard requires use of an attack of opportunity, doesn't it?


That's my quandary, really. Attack of opportunity would be the usual way that bodyguard is done, but that requires being in a position to threaten the attacking character. However, since it specifies that the familiar doesn't need to threaten said character, I'm not sure. It specifies that the familiar would be in the master's square for that action, which it would be in a merge, and while the merged familiar doesn't threaten the foe for the AoO, it doesn't seem to require it as written. The RAW interpretation is really where I'm focused. If I'm GMing this in a home game, I'm probably saying it can't work outside of the player giving me some logic as to why it would. However, in PFS, we're more focused on how the rules are written, and this seems to be written to allow it unless I'm missing something. It's like they wrote in a loophole to bodyguard.


could just be the benefits of an extra pair of eyes, or more likely, another consciousness looking through your eyes... :)


That makes some sense.

Paizo Employee Designer

2 people marked this as a favorite.
DesolateHarmony wrote:
Can a familiar who is melded take actions? Since the familiar can't be targeted or affected by any means, and can only communicate its feelings empathically, this becomes the essence of your question. Bodyguard requires use of an attack of opportunity, doesn't it?

When the familiar and witch meld together, they become one creature. The familiar is not present in the witch's square; it isn't in any square, as it's part of the witch. And you're right that it doesn't take actions any more (similarly, an Emissary couldn't use its domain power).

As usual, not an official answer, but I did write both synergist and protector.


Wow, very official response going on there.
Okay, Mark (can I call you Mark? Mr. Seifter? Sir?), is it accurate, then, that your intent is that the protector can no longer protect while synergized? If you were GMing the table, would you tell me it's a no-go, or would you allow it since it can be read that way (perhaps enhanced by the interpretation Trogdar gave that having the extra pair of eyes gives the ACboost)?

Paizo Employee Designer

I would definitely 100% not allow it at my table. It's melded into you and can't take actions, no more so than an animal companion in a hosteling armor could do so.

Mark is fine. But remember, forum posts are never official.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Synergist witch with a Protector familiar? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.