Mythic Improved Channel Question?


Rules Questions


What is the duration? How long after a creatures is damaged by your channel do they have to roll saving throws twice?

Or is this feat worded wrong? Are they supposed to make two saves before they're damaged?


Channel Energy to harm requires a Will save before damage is applied. Improved Channel adds 2 to the DC. Mythic Improved Channel means the opponent must roll twice and take the lower die result. It's kind of the opposite of a luck feat (which I would think cancel each other out) where someone rolls two dice and takes the better result.


But how do they roll a save twice after they were damaged by it when damage is determined by a successful or failed save?


Damage isn't done until they roll a save. If they succeed at a will save, they take half damage. It's like a fireball, make a reflex save. If you succeed, you take half damage. Channel Energy is similar except that its a will save.


Bradley Mickle wrote:
Damage isn't done until they roll a save. If they succeed at a will save, they take half damage. It's like a fireball, make a reflex save. If you succeed, you take half damage. Channel Energy is similar except that its a will save.

Then you see my problem. As written, mythic improved channel doesn't cause anyone to roll twice until AFTER they're damaged.

Improved Channel (Mythic), pg.66 wrote:


As a divine conduit for energy, you're unmatched.

Prerequisite: Improved Channel.

Benefit: Non-mythic creatures that take damage from
your channel energy must roll their saving throws twice
and take the lower result.


It's how you're interpreting it.

You're choosing to interpret that as saying they have to take damage in order to roll at all, then they do so twice. I would say it is interpreted that only creatures that take damage (ie, those capable of being harmed) ever have to make a save at all. A creature with fire immunity would never have to roll a saving throw for being hit with a fireball.

Using channeling to harm undead wouldn't require humans to make a roll. Its worded this way because it's not just undead that can be harmed by channel. Alignment Channel opens up additional types, as does some of the domains. The answer is that they're supposed to make two saves BEFORE they roll, but it isn't that it is worded wrong.

Grand Lodge

Pathfinder Adventure Path, Starfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber

The question is can the targets be damaged by the channel or are they totally immune to it?. Or did the channel roll so low, that their resistance will fully soak it up.

IF the answer is no to both cases, then you handle the damage as normally and they roll their saves as normal. With the one small exception that they have to make the saving roll twice and take the lower die number.


So the feat should have said "Non-mythic creatures that could take damage from your channel energy...". Got it.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Mythic Improved Channel Question? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.