Are there any restrictions on when, during your turn, you're allowed to take swift actions?


Rules Questions


1 person marked this as FAQ candidate.

Are there any restrictions on when, during your turn, you're allowed to take swift actions?
For example, can you cast a quickened spell in the middle of a move or charge action?

These:

Quote:
You can take a swift action anytime you would normally be allowed to take a free action.
Quote:
You can perform one or more free actions while taking another action normally.

seem to indicate that you can, but I can't help but feel this is unintended.


Yup. Sure can. You quoted all relevant rules which state that you can.

Simply put, you can use your single swift action whenever you can make a free action. You can use a free action during any other action. Ergo, you can use a swift action during any other action.

This is no different from a paladin moving 15', performing a Smite Evil as a swift action, and then moving te other 15'.

Your example seems like a cool tactic that I'll start employing. Its a great way to step into range and then step back out. Perhaps I need to step into to touch someone (like healing an ally) and then step back away from danger.


bookrat wrote:

Yup. Sure can. You quoted all relevant rules which state that you can.

Simply put, you can use your single swift action whenever you can make a free action. You can use a free action during any other action. Ergo, you can use a swift action during any other action.

This is no different from a paladin moving 15', performing a Smite Evil as a swift action, and then moving te other 15'.

Your example seems like a cool tactic that I'll start employing. Its a great way to step into range and then step back out. Perhaps I need to step into to touch someone (like healing an ally) and then step back away from danger.

It's also a fantastic way to spam True Strike on a charge for when you absolutely, positively HAVE to hit something.

Or taking a Withdraw Action and still getting off a Fireball.

Grand Lodge

Byakko wrote:

Are there any restrictions on when, during your turn, you're allowed to take swift actions?

For example, can you cast a quickened spell in the middle of a move or charge action?

These:

Quote:
You can take a swift action anytime you would normally be allowed to take a free action.
Quote:
You can perform one or more free actions while taking another action normally.
seem to indicate that you can, but I can't help but feel this is unintended.

Circumstances can qualify your ability to take any form of action at all.

The answer is... It depends.

Grand Lodge

Why would there be any time you could take Free Action on your turn, and you couldn't take a Swift Action?

Why do you think something "unintended" is happening?


Yes as long as you are not taking an action that restricts it.

As an example if you are doing an action that takes two hands then you can't cast the quickened spell if it requires a free hand, but otherwise feel free to use that swift action.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Are there any restrictions on when, during your turn, you're allowed to take swift actions? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions