Titan Fighter and Double Weapons


Rules Questions

Grand Lodge

Pathfinder Companion Subscriber

How does the Titan Fighter's Giant Weapon Wielder ability work with Double weapons?

For reference:

Giant Hunter's Handbook wrote:

Giant Weapon Wielder (Ex)

At 1st level, a titan fighter can wield two-handed melee weapons intended for creatures one size category larger than himself, treating them as two-handed weapons. He takes an additional –2 penalty on attack rolls when using an over-sized two-handed weapon.

This ability replaces the fighter's 1st level bonus feat.

And:

PRD wrote:
Double: You can use a double weapon to fight as if fighting with two weapons, but if you do, you incur all the normal attack penalties associated with fighting with two weapons, just as if you were using a one-handed weapon and a light weapon. You can choose to wield one end of a double weapon two-handed, but it cannot be used as a double weapon when wielded in this way—only one end of the weapon can be used in any given round.


Well, given that both a Taiaha (a 1-h double weapon) as well as more standard 2-h double weapons are all treated as one-handed+light for twf penalties, I'd say that the relative size of the weapon doesn't really affect how you fight double with it. Wielding a double weapon for TWF is still wielding a 2-h weapon; it's just that you treat it as a 1-h + light for the purpose of TWF penalties. So our Titan Fighter isn't "not" wielding a Large 2-h weapon just because he's wielding a Large Double Sword and two-weapon fighting with it as a double weapon, therefore Giant Weapon Wielder works just fine for it.

Grand Lodge

Pathfinder Companion Subscriber

Ah.

So, the Off-hand attack would still count as light?


As light for the purpose of determining TWF mechanics. Not as light for other mechanics such as qualifying for Weapon Finesse.


Double weapons count as light/two-handed for all purposes when using their double ability otherwise they would be doing 1.5 strength damage.

Grand Lodge

Pathfinder Companion Subscriber

I understand how double weapons work.

It just seems like there is a bit of queer mechanics interaction, when used with this particular ability.

Such as, the additional -2, which stacks with size penalties, that is applied when the Titan Fighter uses his ability.

Does it apply when using the Full Attack action,to two-weapon fight?

I assume so, but, well, it's a queer case. I could be wrong.


I'm not sure how exactly this would work. Could I normally use a colossal double weapon to two-weapon fight because double makes them count as light/one handed?

The Exchange

I don't believe you can TWF with an oversized weapon in this way.

1. If you are wielding one end of a double weapon as a two-handed weapon, you can't use it as a double weapon (can't TWF).

2. If you are wielding it as a double weapon one end is a light weapon and the other is one-handed - it's not a two-handed weapon.

3. The Giant Weapon Wielder ability only works with 2-handed weapons.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Titan Fighter and Double Weapons All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.