Contingency + Teleport vs Dimensional Anchor


Rules Questions


Hey all, I'm prepping for an adventure I'm working on and am going to be dimensional anchoring part of the dungeon so they don't just walk through.

The question is that our wizard has Contingency paired with a teleport spell so that they can autoteleport to safety if needed.

Normally I'd just say that the Dimensional Anchor would override it, but wanted to double check since the wizard cast the contingency and teleport outside of the area.

Basically, would it affect a spell that's technically already been cast?


1 person marked this as a favorite.

If the proper conditions are met, Contingency will activate, triggering the Teleport spell, which will then fail if within the Dimensional Lock (Anchor is used to prevent extraplanar travel in one creature, not an area).


I hate this spell (Contingency).

Let's say the wizard has a spell to teleport him if he is attacked (or has a spell cast on him, or is the subject of a dimensional anchor spell in particular).

What's the order of precedence? If dimensional anchor succeeds, does the contingency attempt to port the wizard, and fail because he is anchored?

Does the contingency fire off before the spell hits? So the wizard is ported?

I've had people argue that the contingency will fire off if someone attempts to cast a spell on you. But how does it know? I mean if someone is hidden and casts a spell silently on you, you never know it's coming.

But contingency somehow knows what is about to happen?

I think in general people make it too powerful, or at least too discerning.

Grand Lodge

Pathfinder Adventure Path, Starfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber
Anastasius Brightstar wrote:

Hey all, I'm prepping for an adventure I'm working on and am going to be dimensional anchoring part of the dungeon so they don't just walk through.

The question is that our wizard has Contingency paired with a teleport spell so that they can autoteleport to safety if needed.

Normally I'd just say that the Dimensional Anchor would override it, but wanted to double check since the wizard cast the contingency and teleport outside of the area.

Basically, would it affect a spell that's technically already been cast?

Dimensional Anchor won't prevent the Teleport spell from activating if the Contingency is triggered.

It will however, prevent it from getting any result other than a total spell fizz-out.

One thing to note however is that even under normal circumstances, the group teleport effect only works IF ALL PASSENGERS ARE TOUCHING otherwise the caster may well making a solo trip.


I'd agree and rule it like LazarX. In addition note that Dimensional Lock (and for that matter Dimensional Anchor) normally has a visual clue you are about to enter the area i.e. a shimmering emerald field. Follow up with Knowledge Arcana should yield what the result will be if a Contingency to Teleport were to be triggered in the area.


LazarX wrote:

Dimensional Anchor won't prevent the Teleport spell from activating if the Contingency is triggered.

Why not? The contingency fires off before the Dimensional Anchor hits?

How? Whether you are saying a wizard did it or not (that is to say it is just "magic"), how does the effect happen before the cause?

I'd actually say the Teleport fires, but it won't relocate you because you are in a state of being Dimensionally Anchored.


sunbeam wrote:
LazarX wrote:

Dimensional Anchor won't prevent the Teleport spell from activating if the Contingency is triggered.

Why not? The contingency fires off before the Dimensional Anchor hits?

How? Whether you are saying a wizard did it or not (that is to say it is just "magic"), how does the effect happen before the cause?

I'd actually say the Teleport fires, but it won't relocate you because you are in a state of being Dimensionally Anchored.

Because Dimensional Anchor doesn't interact with Contingency -- meaning that the Contingency still happens. Teleport goes off and fails.


sunbeam wrote:

I hate this spell (Contingency).

Let's say the wizard has a spell to teleport him if he is attacked (or has a spell cast on him, or is the subject of a dimensional anchor spell in particular).

What's the order of precedence? If dimensional anchor succeeds, does the contingency attempt to port the wizard, and fail because he is anchored?

Does the contingency fire off before the spell hits? So the wizard is ported?

I've had people argue that the contingency will fire off if someone attempts to cast a spell on you. But how does it know? I mean if someone is hidden and casts a spell silently on you, you never know it's coming.

But contingency somehow knows what is about to happen?

I think in general people make it too powerful, or at least too discerning.

Yeah, I typically make it a thing like "when I fall below X hp" or something that's a bit more tactile than "when a spell is cast at me." The more concrete, the better. Because what if a spell is cast around you? That gets to ugly and nasty.

Grand Lodge

Pathfinder Adventure Path, Starfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber
sunbeam wrote:

I hate this spell (Contingency).

Let's say the wizard has a spell to teleport him if he is attacked (or has a spell cast on him, or is the subject of a dimensional anchor spell in particular).

What's the order of precedence? If dimensional anchor succeeds, does the contingency attempt to port the wizard, and fail because he is anchored?

Does the contingency fire off before the spell hits? So the wizard is ported?

I've had people argue that the contingency will fire off if someone attempts to cast a spell on you. But how does it know? I mean if someone is hidden and casts a spell silently on you, you never know it's coming.

But contingency somehow knows what is about to happen?

I think in general people make it too powerful, or at least too discerning.

Since it takes the spell to activate the Contingency, it means the Dimensional Anchor is the first spell in play, which means the Teleport craps out.


It's actually kind of vague.

If it's first in/first out, the lock will take hold first preventing the teleport.
If it's first in/last out, then the teleport will take place before the lock takes hold.

The rules alternate between these two options in various places, so ultimately it comes down to the exact wording of the contingency and the GM's interpretation.


If they are level 15 they Will have other ways to bypass your trap. But i agree with most folks here if contingensy goes of after DL hits the wizard wont go anywhere.

Grand Lodge

Pathfinder Adventure Path, Starfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber
Cap. Darling wrote:
If they are level 15 they Will have other ways to bypass your trap. But i agree with most folks here if contingensy goes of after DL hits the wizard wont go anywhere.

And if the party is not touching the wizard if the Teleport is triggered successfully in other circumstances, he's leaving them behind.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Contingency + Teleport vs Dimensional Anchor All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.