Simple Multi Armed Question


Rules Questions


As far as I've seen, there isn't anything on the pfsrd about this sort of thing. Let's assume that I have a four armed creature. Said creature wants to wield a greatsword in two arms, and a longspear in the other. Now, attacks made two handed deal 1 1/2 strength mod. Weapons wielded in off hands deal 1/2 strength mod. You can only have 1 "main" hand, the rest are considered off hands. Obviously, the great sword deals the 1 1/2 times strength mod, but what does the long spear wielded in the two off hands deal?

My ideas are that it would either be:

-1 1/2 times strength mod, as it is in two hands.
-1 times strength mod, with the 1 and a half and the 1 half canceling out.
-1/2 strength mod as it is being wielded in two off hands.

Im sure there is probably a monster somewhere in the bestiary that wields weapons in this fashion that would give me the answer, but I have no idea where to even start looking for something like that.


I can not site a source but I would go with 1x str for the longspear. I would also make power attack do -1 for +2 damage.

I know that is it a house rule but I have every 1/2 str make PA better by 1.


There is no official ruling. So far as I know every multiarmed bestiary monster uses a different weapon in each hand (often natural).

Personally for a Kasatha I'd run the main hand/off hand pair at 1.5x and the off hand/off hand pair at 1x.

RPG Superstar Season 9 Top 16

There's an infamously hidden rule in 3rd Edition that your primary hand has a Strength equal to your full Strength modifier while off-hands have half your Strength modifier. When you two-hand a weapon, you add the Strengths of both hands to the attack at the cost of the bonus attack the second hand normally grants. If you wield a weapon with two off-hands, then you add the Strength modifier of both off-hands for a total of your full Strength modifier.

Thus, you add your full Strength modifier to the longspear's damage roll when you wield it with two off-hands.


Is that so? Huh....didn't play much of 3rd addition, so that's news to me. And it makes entire sense logically. By chance, do you know where that rule was hidden? Not that I don't believe you, I'm just genuinely curious on that. Either which way, thank you all for the responses. So my assumption about the 1 times strength mod was right.


DHAnubis wrote:

As far as I've seen, there isn't anything on the pfsrd about this sort of thing. Let's assume that I have a four armed creature. Said creature wants to wield a greatsword in two arms, and a longspear in the other. Now, attacks made two handed deal 1 1/2 strength mod. Weapons wielded in off hands deal 1/2 strength mod. You can only have 1 "main" hand, the rest are considered off hands. Obviously, the great sword deals the 1 1/2 times strength mod, but what does the long spear wielded in the two off hands deal?

My ideas are that it would either be:

-1 1/2 times strength mod, as it is in two hands.
-1 times strength mod, with the 1 and a half and the 1 half canceling out.
-1/2 strength mod as it is being wielded in two off hands.

Im sure there is probably a monster somewhere in the bestiary that wields weapons in this fashion that would give me the answer, but I have no idea where to even start looking for something like that.

There is no official answer for this, and no monster that does this. The off-hands on official monsters use one-handed or light weapons, and they tend to have multiweapon mastery(special ability), instead of the MWF feat.


DHAnubis wrote:
Is that so? Huh....didn't play much of 3rd addition, so that's news to me. And it makes entire sense logically. By chance, do you know where that rule was hidden? Not that I don't believe you, I'm just genuinely curious on that. Either which way, thank you all for the responses. So my assumption about the 1 times strength mod was right.

I think it was an FAQ but I'm not positive.

RPG Superstar Season 9 Top 16

DHAnubis wrote:
Is that so? Huh....didn't play much of 3rd addition, so that's news to me. And it makes entire sense logically. By chance, do you know where that rule was hidden? Not that I don't believe you, I'm just genuinely curious on that. Either which way, thank you all for the responses. So my assumption about the 1 times strength mod was right.

I had to do a lot of research on this when I played a homebrew four-armed anthropomorphic cerberus race--as a magus no doubt.

By "hidden rule" I mean it's an underlying principle that many rules and rulings by the design team utilize and yet it's never explicitly anywhere in the rulebooks. The rules concerning two-weapon fighting and two-handed weapons skirt around this principle. The design team used this principle to rule that a two-handed character cannot attack with a two-handed weapon and armor spikes in the same round.

The principle essentially says that every character receives a bonus attack for every off-hand they possess with a Strength modifier equal to half the character's Strength modifier. The character can perform this bonus attack when they do two-weapon fighting. This attack does not necessarily have to come from a weapon wielded in the off-hand that enables this attack -- it simply must be an unarmed strike or a weapon not already used in the turn. When you attack with a weapon using two hands, you lose this extra attack in exchange for adding its Strength modifier to the damage roll.

3rd Edition (and Pathfinder) are complicated games...


DHAnubis wrote:
Is that so? Huh....didn't play much of 3rd addition, so that's news to me. And it makes entire sense logically. By chance, do you know where that rule was hidden? Not that I don't believe you, I'm just genuinely curious on that. Either which way, thank you all for the responses. So my assumption about the 1 times strength mod was right.

I would like a citation also. If course Paizo may eventually say they don' follow the 3.5 rule, even if it is found, but for now I like the ruling.


That makes a lot of sense, and it's good to see there's at least...something to say about it, even if its a not rule rule...thing? Idea? Works for me either which way...

Anthropomorphic Cerberus Magus? Do want. Though that does raise my minor annoyance with the way Spell Combat is handled, but thats another can of worms entirely...

RPG Superstar Season 9 Top 16

DHAnubis wrote:
Anthropomorphic Cerberus Magus? Do want. Though that does raise my minor annoyance with the way Spell Combat is handled, but thats another can of worms entirely...

Yeah, I'm not a fan of how spell combat is worded, either. My GM was a bro and let me use multiple arms and a double weapon with spell combat as long as I have one hand free and lose one attack as part of my multiweapon fighting.


I mean, I do understand (at least somewhat) why they limited it to light or 1 handed weapons....but I just want to play a class that can sit back for a round or two, hit the enemies with one or two good AoE spells, and then move in to clean up.... if only it was easier to make a heavily armored Wilder....


DHAnubis wrote:
I mean, I do understand (at least somewhat) why they limited it to light or 1 handed weapons....but I just want to play a class that can sit back for a round or two, hit the enemies with one or two good AoE spells, and then move in to clean up.... if only it was easier to make a heavily armored Wilder....

At late levels, just wild surge a inirtial armor at max power points at the start of the day.


Entirely true and possible. I just have this mental thing about wanting a build to come online, or at least start to, as early as possible. Still could work though.

While we're on the subject of multiple limbs....anybody have any interesting builds or such that utilize multiple arms? I've always wanted to build a multi-limbed Alchemist of some kind, but if I remember right, the Vestigial Arm discovery doesn't let you get extra attacks.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Simple Multi Armed Question All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.