The Land of the Blind Scenario Question


Rules Questions and Gameplay Discussion


So in The Land of the Blind (bonus scenario from the make good pack) what happens if there are still Gholdako's in the Blessing Deck but all the locations are closed.

The Land of the Blind wrote:
Shuffle 6 Gholdako henchmen into the blessings deck. After you advance the blessings deck, if the top card of the blessings discard pile is Gholdako, put it on top of a random location deck. When you would banish a Gholdako, display it next to this card instead. To win the scenario, all 6 Gholdakos must be next to this card.

What happens to a Gholdako when there are no open locations to spawn to?


Another question. This scenario has a scenario number of P. When you encounter a Veteran Trait card (aka one that increases the difficulty to defeat by the scenario number) what number to you use. 0 because P in guild play is the same as B or C which is essentially 0. 4 because that is the scenario that Gholdako belongs to? The Adventure you're playing it during (interestingly I'm playing it with a group between Adventures, just completed adventure 5 before this scenario.)


Pathfinder Battles Case Subscriber; Pathfinder Card Game Subscriber
Shade325 wrote:

So in The Land of the Blind (bonus scenario from the make good pack) what happens if there are still Gholdako's in the Blessing Deck but all the locations are closed.

The Land of the Blind wrote:
Shuffle 6 Gholdako henchmen into the blessings deck. After you advance the blessings deck, if the top card of the blessings discard pile is Gholdako, put it on top of a random location deck. When you would banish a Gholdako, display it next to this card instead. To win the scenario, all 6 Gholdakos must be next to this card.
What happens to a Gholdako when there are no open locations to spawn to?

If you got the text right, note that the Gholdako moves to a random location, not a random open one, so you shouldn't have a problem. Unless you play a spell like Fear on it.


Pathfinder Battles Case Subscriber; Pathfinder Card Game Subscriber
Shade325 wrote:
Another question. This scenario has a scenario number of P. When you encounter a Veteran Trait card (aka one that increases the difficulty to defeat by the scenario number) what number to you use. 0 because P in guild play is the same as B or C which is essentially 0. 4 because that is the scenario that Gholdako belongs to? The Adventure you're playing it during (interestingly I'm playing it with a group between Adventures, just completed adventure 5 before this scenario.)

The Adventure you're playing it during seems the obvious answer. If you are between adventure, I would take the previous one number.

My point being, as soon as you played (won or lost) a scenario level X (thus you had an opportunity to win boons level X), then any bonus scenario should be level X to adapt to the level of the cards you potentially have.

Actually if for whatever reason you play non-bonus scenarios not in the right order, I would also use the above rule (i. e. if I play a level 3 scenario after a level 4, then it is considered level 4).

Pathfinder Adventure Card Game Designer

Here's the card text.

The Land of the Blind wrote:
Shuffle 6 Ghol-Gan Obelisk henchmen into the blessings deck. After you advance the blessings deck, if the top card of the blessings discard pile is a Ghol-Gan Obelisk, add the henchman Gholdako from the box to the top of a random open location deck. When you would banish a Gholdako, display it next to this card. To win the scenario, 6 Gholdakos must be displayed.

So, if there are no open locations, and you need to add a Gholdako to an open location, you can't. So the impossible rule kicks in, and nothing happens. If you can't open a location (and you probably can't), you won't ever win. So, keep that in mind when you think about closing the last location.

rulebook wrote:
If a card has a letter for its adventure deck number, treat its number as 0.

So, since it's a P scenario, the effective adventure deck number is 0, even though the insert card says "You may play this scenario anytime after you begin the adventure Island of Empty Eyes."

One last thing: The Obelisks in the pack have been adjusted due to this FAQ entry.


I've re-read the card multiple times and I can only assume I'm missing something: why would we bother shutting locations?

Each Gholdako is added, whenever they pop up, to the top of a location deck. So we can go there and beat it. Rinse-and-repeat x 6. End of scenario.

Unless the 'when permanently closed' effect is awesome, I don't see any need....?!


I played P as 6 as that's where I was up to

Worked well !

Paizo Employee Chief Technical Officer

Mike Selinker wrote:
rulebook wrote:
If a card has a letter for its adventure deck number, treat its number as 0.
So, since it's a P scenario, the effective adventure deck number is 0...

Mike is of course correct, but the reason he provided is actually a sneak peek from the future.

In RotR and S&S, cards that care about the adventure deck number all say "if any," as in "The difficulty to defeat this barrier is increased by the adventure deck number of the current scenario, if any." These rulebooks say that the set indicator on a card is *either* a letter *or* an adventure deck number from 1 to 6. That "P" in the corner is a set indicator, but not an adventure deck number, so the "if any" wording means you don't increase the difficulty.

In the Wrath rulebook, we added the phrase Mike quoted, and dropped the "if any" from cards like that, so the example in the previous paragraph would now say simply "The difficulty to defeat this barrier is increased by the adventure deck number of the current scenario." So in Wrath, technically, you *do* increase the difficulty... by 0.


Pathfinder Battles Case Subscriber; Pathfinder Card Game Subscriber
Vic Wertz wrote:
....In the Wrath rulebook, we added the phrase Mike quoted, and dropped the "if any" from cards like that, so the example in the previous paragraph would now say simply "The difficulty to defeat this barrier is increased by the adventure deck number of the current scenario." So in Wrath, technically, you *do* increase the difficulty... by 0.

Hi Mike, hi Vic, great job as usual.

If I may make an humble proposition : for a "bonus P" scenario, it seems to me it would make more sense to play it "at the current level" your are (in terms of increasing VETERAN's abilities for example.
So wouldn't it be a better rule - and very easy fix - to say :

"The difficulty to defeat this barrier is increased by the adventure deck number of the current ADVENTURE."
And say that bonus scenarios can be added to any ADVENTURE.

It would change nothing for scenarios having a AP number and would automatically adjust scenarios having a AP letter to the currently played adventure.
Just an idea...

Pathfinder Adventure Card Game Designer

It's not clear to me that The Land of the Blind is always played during an adventure. For example, if you have just finished adventure 4 and play The Land of the Blind, I don't think you have an adventure to look at. (Especially if adventure 5 isn't out yet!)

Anyway, it's our first promo scenario, and I expect we will continue experimenting with the tech around that if we continue making them.


1 person marked this as a favorite.
Pathfinder Battles Case Subscriber; Pathfinder Card Game Subscriber

Agreed, that's why I proposed that in the text of any P bonus scenario, you'll add something like "This scenario can be added to any ADVENTURE".
Then it "inherits" the AP level.
Just an idea as I said previously...
And I certainly wouldn't dare distract you from experimenting :-)

Pathfinder Adventure Card Game Designer

That's pretty cool. Will think on it.


Pathfinder Card Game Subscriber
Mike Selinker wrote:
Anyway, it's our first promo scenario, and I expect we will continue experimenting with the tech around that if we continue making them.

If I may be so bold, I think it'd be cool if there was a promo scenario that came with a cool piece of promo loot or two. That could be a really cool, nice reward for the scenario without messing with the typical number of feats usually awarded during an AP.


Promo scenarios might appear as a 'best of' of user created content at some stage :)


Could I be awful and bump my own question here? Am I completely misunderstanding the scenario? Bar boon collection, I see literally no reason to explore. Each Gholdako gets added, sporadically throughout the scenario, to the top of a location deck, where it can be encountered and defeated. Surely?


Pathfinder Adventure Path, Companion, Lost Omens, Rulebook Subscriber; Pathfinder Battles Case Subscriber

Boon collection appears to be the main reason you would want to. Think of this scenario as an extra attempt to gain some much wanted Boons but also having the advantage of an extra Ship Feat. The scenario can easily be played in "safe mode" by only doing explorations when seeing a Ghaldako pop onto a deck. So take risks by exploring for boon collections. Shipwrecks spawn plunder after all! Plus, once you fail to defeat a Ghaldako, you have to go exploring to encounter them again. That is probably the most important thing to keep in mind. That creates a good reason to explore through and shrink the location decks.


Pathfinder Card Game Subscriber

I see two reasons. One, as you said, is boon collection. Second, is what happens if you fail a check to defeat Gholdako? He ends up getting shuffled into the deck and you have to dig him up.

Outside of that, though, really the only reason is because it'd be boring otherwise, I guess.


1 person marked this as a favorite.

My wife and I found this to be a relaxing, no-pressure boon hunt last night. We only bothered closing the Ghol-Gan Ruins because we didn't want to fight Gholdako there, and Riptide Cove, because easy boons. Otherwise it was just go where you want, explore, heal, use that Letter of Marque, whatev, until the next cyclops appearance.

There was a missed opportunity to call this scenario "Waiting For Gholdakot."

(Did notice a way to doom yourself though -- using any "discard from the blessings deck" ship power risks turning over a Gholdako, who is NOT moved to a location because it's not "after advancing the blessings deck" and is thus irretrievably buried.)


1 person marked this as a favorite.

We didn't run into the problem... But I had the idea of house ruling it that if no location was open, it goes to a random location, that opens back up, a la Bizarre Love Triangle. Interestingly, if 2 Gholdakos are in a location, you can beat one and close the location, and the other is banished:

Land of the Blind wrote:
When you would banish a Gholdako, display it next to this card instead.

...and you wouldn't have to fight the second one.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder Adventure Card Game / Rules Questions and Gameplay Discussion / The Land of the Blind Scenario Question All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.