Psionics, the Collective & Confusion


Advice and Rules Questions


Pathfinder Adventure Path Subscriber

Reading the rules for being removed from the Collective or actually forcefully dropping the Collective seem to be clear, but I am just wondering why if you are Confused would the collective not automatically drop.

For confused I could see if the role was "act normally" you would have no problem not being ejected or not having to drop it, but if the character were babbling incoherently how could it truly keep up or participate in the collective.

I ask because if confused are you truly a willing participant. For that matter if you attack the closest creature and that creature is the Vitalist or Tactician how could you truly be a willing participant if your are attacking that creature in which you are part of their collective.

For that matter what about Feeblemind.


Simply because once you have willingly joined the collective, you are always a member of the collective until you declare you want to leave the collective.

A collective is just a mental network you can join. You don't actually participate in anything other than being a member if you are not the collective owner.


Pathfinder Adventure Path Subscriber

What if you are the owner of the Collective and are confused as I asked (forcefully dropping the Collective) do you not think at that point it is dropped, or would the character just not be able to participate during certain behaviors.


2 people marked this as a favorite.
Pathfinder Adventure, Adventure Path Subscriber

I get where you're coming from and obviously you can house-rule as you see fit, but confused is already an annoying condition.

Nothing about confusion suggests that a character stops being a valid collective member. If you "do nothing", that's no different from doing nothing voluntarily. Collective membership doesn't require ongoing effort, merely consciousness. If you "babble incoherently", that's what you do. Sure, some or all of that may be telepathic babble, but just as nothing says verbal babble interferes with your party's actions, there's nothing that says telepathic babble would interfere with a collective. If you hurt yourself, it spells out HOW, which doesn't include dropping out of a collective.

In short, these spells - like most things in Pathfinder - say what they do. The collective rules specify how someone gets removed from a collective. That's how.


^This


Pathfinder Adventure Path Subscriber

So it is basically treated as a spell that needs minimum concentration (fly) when under the affects of the Confusion spell. It stays up but may not be useful until a time when your senses are working regularly.


Pathfinder Adventure, Adventure Path Subscriber
Guy Ladouceur wrote:
So it is basically treated as a spell that needs minimum concentration (fly) when under the affects of the Confusion spell. It stays up but may not be useful until a time when your senses are working regularly.

Pretty much.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Third-Party Pathfinder RPG Products / Advice and Rules Questions / Psionics, the Collective & Confusion All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Advice and Rules Questions