Dreamweaver Witch, what does the Dreamspinner ability actually do?

Rules Questions

The Dreamweaver's Dreamspinner ability is all about affecting sleeping characters with mind effecting spells. The DC's go up, and even if the target succeeds at a save, they still don't remember the save or wake up.

That seems awesome, except for this-

Targeting a Spell wrote:

"... Unconscious creatures are automatically considered willing."

So that means this whole section-

Dream Spinner wrote:
At 2nd level, when a dreamweaver casts a mind-affecting spell on a target that is sleeping because of her slumber hex or a spell she cast, she adds +1 to the mind-affecting spell's DC. If the target succeeds at the saving throw against the spell, it does not wake up, nor does it have any recollection of having resisted a spell.

-is completely irrelevant.

It doesn't matter what the DC is because the target can't resist. It doesn't matter if the target won't remember being effected if it makes it's save, because it can't make a save in the first place.

The only part of the ability that is left is this-

If appropriate, the dreamweaver may incorporate elements of a mind-affecting spell (i.e., sow thoughts, suggestion, and so on) into the target's subconscious so it believes the spell's effects originated in its dreams (the details of how these elements fit into the dream is up to the GM).

-which is kinda neat, but not really anything more than fluff.

So am I missing something, or is this whole ability essentially a typo?

What is it supposed to do?

full willing target spell paragraph wrote:
Some spells restrict you to willing targets only. Declaring yourself as a willing target is something that can be done at any time (even if you're flat-footed or it isn't your turn). Unconscious creatures are automatically considered willing, but a character who is conscious but immobile or helpless (such as one who is bound, cowering, grappling, paralyzed, pinned, or stunned) is not automatically willing.

That line only applies to spells that are restricted to willing targets. I doubt anything you'll cast on a creature you slumbered is going to be one limited in that fashion.

In general even unconscious you can still make saving throws. That line is essentially there so a zealous GM doesn't make you save against a friendly effect (not that that's ever happened to me in pre 3e days and I am still in no way bitter about it).

Aha! That makes sense. Thank you.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Dreamweaver Witch, what does the Dreamspinner ability actually do? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.