Gunslinger & Amateur Swashbuckler


Rules Questions


d20pfsrd wrote:

Amateur Swashbuckler:

Prerequisite(s): No levels in a class that has the panache class feature.

Benefit: You gain a small amount of panache and the ability to perform a single 1st-level swashbuckler deed. Choose a 1st-level deed from the swashbuckler's deeds class feature; once chosen, this deed cannot be changed.

At the start of each day, you gain 1 panache point. Throughout the day, you can gain a number of panache points up to a maximum of your Charisma modifier (minimum 1). You can regain panache points as the swashbuckler's panache class feature. You can spend these panache points to perform the 1st-level deed you chose upon taking this feat as well as any other deeds you have gained through feats or magic items.

Other relevant stuff: Grit, luck, and panache represent three different means by which heroes can gain access to the same heroic pool, using it to accomplish fantastic feats. For characters with a mix of grit, luck, and panache, they pool the resources together into a combined pool. (Those who use panache and luck gain twice their Charisma bonus in their pool.) For feats, magic items, and other effects, a panache user can spend and gain luck points in place of grit or panache points, and vice versa.

One of my players is playing a Mysterious Stranger gunslinger and asked about this feat. Is there any rule preventing this combination?

It seems that this feat would double the character's grit pool (C=charisma). So, grit pool would be 2xC; and daily starting grit would effectively be C+1.

I'm not opposed to the idea even though it seems like a lot to gain for 1 feat (double pool + swashbuckler deed).

Another perspective: The character tracks both pools separately because "You can spend these panache points to perform the 1st-level deed you chose upon taking this feat as well as any other deeds you have gained through feats or magic items." Strict interpretation would prevent the panache from being spent on GS deeds.

This has the odd effect of making it so that crits and killing blows would replenish both pools simultaneously. Edit: This probably isn't accurate RAW since swashbuckler replenishes from melee weapon attacks.

I'm curious what other people think. Thanks for any opinions.


ACG wrote:

Grit, luck, and panache represent three different means by which heroes can gain access to the same heroic pool, using it to accomplish fantastic feats. For characters with a mix of grit, luck, and panache, they pool the resources together into a combined pool. (Those who use panache and luck gain twice their Charisma bonus in their pool.) For feats, magic items, and other effects, a panache user can spend and gain luck points in place of grit or panache points, and vice versa.

A luck user does not count as a grit or panache user to satisfy feat prerequisites.

I works just fine. He wont ever gain two points for the same action though.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Gunslinger & Amateur Swashbuckler All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.