Horse Master might not apply just to Cavalier mounts


Rules Questions

The Exchange

Horse Master. Look at it closely. "powers and abilities of your mount."

You could go:
Cavalier 4 / Druid 1 / Oracle (nature) 1 / Barbarian (Mad Dog) 1 / Cleric 2 (saurian) / Ranger 3 / etc.
You'd get so many fully-leveled Animal Companions!


"mount" singular.


Covert Operator wrote:

Horse Master. Look at it closely. "powers and abilities of your mount."

You could go:
Cavalier 4 / Druid 1 / Oracle (nature) 1 / Barbarian (Mad Dog) 1 / Cleric 2 (saurian) / Ranger 3 / etc.
You'd get so many fully-leveled Animal Companions!

Nope.

Here is the full text.

"Prerequisite: Expert trainer class feature, Ride 6 ranks.

Benefit: Use your character level to determine your effective druid level for determining the powers and abilities of your mount.

Normal: You use your cavalier level to determine your effective druid level for determining the powers and abilities of your mount."

This is a feat for a Cavalier. That functions on its Mount special ability. Normally you use your Cavalier level to determine your mounts abilities.

This feat lets you use your character level. It's for multi-classing.


Brain in a Jar is right. Not all classes that get mounts get the expert Trainer class feature, so unless you have a way to get the feat without prerequisites, you have to be a cavalier or an archetype that gets the cavalier expert trainer ability.

Even if you did have multiple classes that have expert trainer, the feat says one mount. You'd have to take the feat once for each bonded mount.

There's also text scattered throughout the rule books to the effect of "If you have a mount or animal companion from another class, these levels stack." It appears under several mount/animal companion general descriptions; if it doesn't appear under every single thing that grants an animal companion, most GMs will probably rule that the general intent is that you get one companion and all your animal companion class levels stack.

Now, there are specific archetypes that let you have packs of animal companions, but I've never seen one that allows for multiple bonded mounts. I'm assuming this is because you can only ride one mount at a time, unless you have some sort of vestigal limb that gets you multiple butts.

The Exchange

Yeah, be a Cavalier 4, then multiclass into a bunch of other classes that get ACs. Now you qualify for the feat.

I know that it refers to Mount, not Animal Companion, which is the only thing that could stop this combo.
The Oracle one is called 'Bonded Mount' and does refer to your 'mount' in the description, and I'm pretty sure the Ranger one does too (or if not, the archetype that gets Monstrous Mount for free does).
In fact, Monstrous Mount would let it work with every class.

A FAQ on animal companion level stacking (I don't know which, I just remember I looked it up before) says you should generally have the classes stack because the designers of the game dislike a character that floods the field with low-level companions. You don't have to stack the levels, and having multiple full-level ACs is the time you wouldn't stack your level.


Covert Operator wrote:
A FAQ on animal companion level stacking (I don't know which, I just remember I looked it up before) says you should generally have the classes stack because the designers of the game dislike a character that floods the field with low-level companions. You don't have to stack the levels, and having multiple full-level ACs is the time you wouldn't stack your level.

It's not an FAQ. It's part of the definition of animal companion from the

original druid class definition:
"If a character receives an animal companion from more than one source, her effective druid levels stack for the purposes of determining the statistics and abilities of the companion."

It does say they "can stack". It says they do stack, whether you want them to or not.

Nearly every other animal companion class feature refers to "as the druid animal companion" or says "as your effective druid level". Any animal companion ability that references druid at all has to use the rules from the druid class feature.

You might be able to get a GM to house rule that you can choose not to stack, but probably only in a game with 4 or fewer players. Because, like you said, flooding the map with extra companions sucks when you have 7 actual players at the table.


If you take an AC on one list that is unavailable on another you can't stack the levels.

The Exchange

Yeah, Nikolai has the right of it; The abilities are all very similar, but subtly different so most of them can't actually stack.
Druid, Barbarian have no restrictions
Oracle gets only horse/pony, and wolf if small. AC is at least 6 int
Cavalier gets only horse/pony, and wolf if small. AC gets Light Armor Proficiency
Ranger gets a small list of ACs.

If you were a Cavalier/Oracle, would your horse AC get Light Armor Proficiency and 6 Int? Choose one? I think that the intent of that clause Gwen quoted was assuming that you can't get two companions which are fully-leveled.


Does a Cavalier/Druid's get Share Spells?


Quote:


It's not an FAQ. It's part of the definition of animal companion from the
original druid class definition
:
"If a character receives an animal companion from more than one source, her effective druid levels stack for the purposes of determining the statistics and abilities of the companion."

It does say they "can stack". It says they do stack, whether you want them to or not.

No, Covert operator You are incorrect, They all can stack because it says effective level So if you have a AC that is only on one list you still use it as if your class was the higher level.

So a cavalier 4/ druid 4 will have an AC as and 8th level cavalier or as an 8th level druid. The levels for effect on the AC stack.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Horse Master might not apply just to Cavalier mounts All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.